We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Weekend Stay, Great Value”
Review of Viscay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Viscay Hotel
Ranked #134 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Kitchener, Ontario
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Comfortable Weekend Stay, Great Value”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the Hotel Viscay for the weekend and were pleasantly surprised by the location and the size of our room. The kitchen in our room was extremely convenient, our bed was big and comfortable and it was nice to see laminate floors in our room, as hotel room carpets can sometimes gross me out. The bathroom wasn't the biggest, but it was clean and served its purpose. Definitely great value for the price we paid.

Check-in and check-out were super easy and the staff were very helpful. We were even provided with beach towels upon request. I had read previous reviews about the area being noisy, but neither of us felt the noise from the street was a hindrance (we are both in our early 30s) and we stayed in a room on the second floor.

The hotel is in a great location, a block from the beach and the Cleavelander, and a few blocks from Espanola Way and Lincoln Road Mall. Aside from being right on Ocean Dr, the location really couldn't be any better - close to all of the action, but just far enough away to avoid the crowds on the strip. The hotel also offers sight-seeing tours and there's a bike rental place around the corner that rents bikes for a good price. I would definitely recommend this hotel to people on a budget who are looking to stay in a smaller, no-frills boutique hotel in South Beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TropicalLila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    114
    45
    15
    6
See reviews for
31
124
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Room looked nice, and it was a very spacious room, but I thought the bed was uncomfortable and loud. The location is great and the prices are very fair for the area. Valet parking is $10 more here then it was down the street.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shmalyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We recently stayed at Viscay in Miami, nice little hotel, great location near the beach. Staff is very friendly and our check-in was fast and efficient. The room was great, above expectations, big, clean and nicely furnished ( the laminate floor instead of carpet is a really great value). The only problem is that the location is in the middle of a very active entertainment area and therefore very noisy, particularly due to the lack of window proper insulation. You literally hear everything inside, all the honks and horns, all the music and all the people going up and down on the streets and this goes on all night. I think the hotel would really benefit from installation of better windows. Until then I recommend you get some noise cancelling earphones and use them. Having said that, the hotel is still a great value for Miami standards and with a bit of work can become a lot better.

Room Tip: rooms not facing the street might be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anca v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We stayed here for two nights during our stay in Florida and I could not rate this place highly enough.

The staff were so friendly and helpful throughout our stay. We parked the car right outside for an additional $20 per night which was so handy and excellent value.

Hotel rooms we very clean, comfortable and of an excellent size. When I was looking to book hotels before our trip I noticed a lot of the hotels in So-Be have very small rooms and prices are very high. This one was perfect, We had 2 studio rooms with kitchen, bathroom and large bedroom with seating area and table. Complimentary breakfast was very tasty with croissants, yummy pastries, toast, fruit, teas and coffees.

It wasnt particulary noisy during the night but some noise is to be expected as the area is a very busy place. two minute walk and you are on Ocean drive surrounded by restuarants and bars plus the beach across the road.

There is a tours desk in the reception and we booked a boat tour for four of us and I think with transport it was $40 each, well worth it. I would definately return and book the Bahamas 2 day cruise next time from the reception which I priced and seemed excellent value but we didnt have enough time for that this trip.

Definately well worth the visit. thanks to the great staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mccauleygirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Nice job! In the middle of the art deco'zone, next to the beach. Small hotel but with very pleasent and kind personnel. Clean. Parking available. Small breakfast. A little bit noisy on saturday night. Good price

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dado2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We stayed at the Viscay Hotel in March for the Winter Music Conference/Miami Music Week/ Ultra Festival.

Really good price, near Lincoln Road, Oceans Drive and all walkable distances to places like Espanola Way and Lincoln Road Mall for great shops!

Very clean. Polite helpful friendly staff. I block away from the beautiful south beach, comfy bed.

1 block from Ocean's 10 and The Cleaveland Hotel for a really good night out but the noise could not be heard at the hotel.

I would definitely stay again and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael Wayne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This is small hotel right in the middle of everything. Ocean drive and so the beach is 3 minutes walk away. So the location is perfect. The decoration, furniture in the rooms are very old. This could have disappoint some people. But clean room is more important than anything and I could say that the housekeeping staff does the job perfect. the sheets, towels smell fresh. For this price category, i don't think there is another hotel in south beach with the same standards. The front desk was helpful. The parking is a problem in miami. The hotel provided us parking permit but valet parking worth extra 10 usd per day. Especially, for people outside of USA should consider valet parking. We are not familiar with rules and signs so one night ended with a disturbing story. Our car was towed away and we had to run after it in the middle of the night. Moreover, that cost us USD 300. Again, I would like to thank to Viscay hotel. Even the hotel closes the reception at 10.30 Pm, somebody came to help us to find our rental car. We really appreciate their help.

Room Tip: We stayed in a one bedroom suite, room 15, it was quite. The fridge makes an incredible sound so ear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yas11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Princess Ann Hotel
Princess Ann Hotel
#140 of 208 in Miami Beach
593 reviews
0.0 mi away
Essex House
Essex House
#50 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,839 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#40 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Kent Hotel
The Kent Hotel
#119 of 208 in Miami Beach
856 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
La Flora
La Flora
#20 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viscay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viscay Hotel

Property: Viscay Hotel
Address: 960 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#91 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Viscay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in 1941 by renowned Architect Albert Anis, The Viscay Hotel is part of the nations youngest Historic District and Tropical Urban Resort known as South Beach. Ideally located, only steps from the Beach and Ocean Drive. The Viscay is in the heart of the entertainment, restaurant, and shopping District, within easy walking distance to the Convention Center, Lincoln Road Mall and Flamingo Park Tennis Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Viscay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viscay Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing