We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centraly located, just one shot away from...”
Review of Viscay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Viscay Hotel
Ranked #127 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Centraly located, just one shot away from Clevelander and other attractions in south beach ocean drive. Peter -the owner- is very friendly, as everybody in the staff,that includes a sort o travel agency, tested as very effective and customer caring.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andreapaleari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
There are newer reviews for Viscay Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 123 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2010

Excellent value in South Beach 1 block from the ocean and a lovely public beach. The Viscay Hotel is located on Collins Avenue in the heart of the Art Deco area with its beautiful pastel buildings and funky restaurants and shops. The staff at the Viscay is very accommodating. We appreciated their kindness and help. We caught the express bus service (Airport Flyer) for under $5 for two to 16th and Washington and then walked seven blocks to the Viscay Hotel at 960 Collins . Every bit helps in pricey South Beach.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

I have to give the Viscay a negative recommendation because of their staff. We were misled several times. 1) We asked for and were promised two rooms on the same floor. When we got there we were told they could not do this. 2) We asked about the parking when we arrived and were told that the lot up the street would give us a discount of $15 a day instead of the $24 a day standard rate. Turns out the discounted rate was $22 a day. 3) The clerk volunteered to give us a residential zone permit later in our stay. They only have one for the hotel, but we were welcome to use. We took advantage of this. Turns out though that the hotel charges for the use of the permit. The clerk “accidentally” left out this detail. We found this out at checkout. (We would not have bothered had we known, since it was a real hassle to find a street parking space.) 4) I get a kick out of their advertising a “continental breakfast.” This means cheese and breadsticks and a couple of tiny packaged muffins in the fridge (which did not work).

There were some good points to the Viscay and other negatives (see below), but I recommend you, save yourself some aggravation and stay elsewhere when in South Beach.

Positives:
Our king suite was spacious
Convenient to the beach the South Beach hotspots
Safe in the room

Negatives:
Deceitful staff
Painful parking
No curtains in our room, just blinds, kind of like having a light on all night
One our rooms did not have a deadbolt
Very noisy until about 3 am in the morning.
Broken refrigerator
Continental breakfast
Hotel staff only available from 8:30 am (or maybe 9 is they are sleeping in) until 10:30 pm.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank exbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Charming little Art Deco hotel with loads of character, right in South Beach. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was clean. Couldn't fault it, would stay again.

Parking is difficult everywhere in South Beach but they were able to point me to garage across the street where I was able to get in/out pass for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterlindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

My stay at the Viscay was fabulous.... The room was great... quaint, and cozy! The staff did their job to make us feel at home! A block from the beach, so you are away from the hustle but close enough to feel the energy! The only thing that would have made it better would have been validated or off street parking! Will be back next visit to south beach... count on it!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank subsonic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

I am a frequent visitor to South Beach from Washington DC and the Viscay is my go to place to roost. Convenient to EVERYTHING, yet relatively quiet and peaceful - it is an understated oasis in a desert of overpriced, undersized, mismanaged, and pretentious alternatives. Management is most accommodating and the property is both functional and comfortable. Viscay makes up for the lack of so called "frills" by mastering the basics. Give folks a clean, well managed, spacious rooms in an establishment with all the "basic" necessities and you will shine! Keep up the excellent job!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAB611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2008

We have been going to south beach for 6 years now. We usually go 2 to 3 times a year and we always stay at Viscay. This is the best place to stay for the money. Believe me we stayed at plenty of places in south beach before finding Viscay. Peter ( the owner/manager) is great. he is so accomodating and courteus. this is our home away from home. The place is VERY clean, quiet and spacious. most hotels in south beach are not spacious or quiet . The best part about Viscay is that we can walk everywhere, we're two blocks from the beach near all the shopping and dinning areas. you can't beat it. we love going there for our romantic getaway. We have been there with friends as well and overall it is always a great time. Mangoes, Spiga italian restaurant, Puerto sagua restaurant, and Wet Willies are our favorite spots.
Tania & Joe

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank nealtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Cavalier South Beach
Cavalier South Beach
#69 of 210 in Miami Beach
172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#39 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,064 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#94 of 210 in Miami Beach
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Collins Hotel
Collins Hotel
#101 of 210 in Miami Beach
968 reviews
0.0 mi away
Essex House
Essex House
#55 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,884 reviews
0.1 mi away
Princess Ann Hotel
Princess Ann Hotel
#137 of 210 in Miami Beach
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viscay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viscay Hotel

Address: 960 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5010
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#86 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £86 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Viscay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in 1941 by renowned Architect Albert Anis, The Viscay Hotel is part of the nations youngest Historic District and Tropical Urban Resort known as South Beach. Ideally located, only steps from the Beach and Ocean Drive. The Viscay is in the heart of the entertainment, restaurant, and shopping District, within easy walking distance to the Convention Center, Lincoln Road Mall and Flamingo Park Tennis Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Viscay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viscay Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing