We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic budget hotel!”
Review of The Clay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Clay Hotel
Ranked #105 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Recently ruturned from a lovely 3 night stay in this hotel. When we checked in the reception staff were great, friendly and efficient and gave us a map and some drinks vouchers for the bar a few doors away. We checked in and were directed to our room a short walk away. It was up a flight of stairs, but this wasn't a surprise or a problem reading the previous reviews. The hallway was under renovation but was kept clear and tidy from dust and mess. When we entered the room we were pleasantly surprised. The air con had been left on, which was a blessing in the 35c heat. We booked a double room and were surprised to have 2 double beds. Mine was the most comfortable bed i think ive ever slept in. The bathroom was also fantastic, the power shower was great and bathroom was spotless and well stocked with shampoo, conitioner and soap etc. Some of the other reviews have said it was tired and dated so i guess we must have been lucky to get a recently renovated room.
Yes the rooms are slightly noisy on a night - but it wasnt a problem to us and Yes you have to carry your own bags up the stairs. But all in all this is a fantastic hotel. I would have no problem at all recomending this hotel to a friend and i personly can't wait to return.
Also have to mention the fantastic location, just 2 blocks from the beach and on the fantastic Espanola way. It really is a beautiful street, all lit up at night time.
I would also recommend trying the 'Watchdog bar' just up from main enterance the service there is brilliant and its really reasonably priced for snacks and drinks with a great take out menu also.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room request a room at the back. I dont think they have much of a view but sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Missglobetrotter860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,925)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

509 - 515 of 1,925 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

We turned up late after a long journey to be welcomed by the staff. We were then pointed in the direction of our room two blocks away which we could not find! We then went back to reception to ask for further directions which they were not so polite about this time.

We eventually got to the room down a corridor which smelt awful, apparently due to renovation. The room itself was basic but as had expected for the money. However, the bathroom was disgusting, smelt awful and had mould everywhere.

Finally, we settle down to sleep but the music keeps us from downstairs keeps up awake for hours it was awful! We thought about swapping hotels but as we were on a budget and had already paid we decided not to.

Great location but the hotel itself was dreadful!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Explorer0190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

You really need to ignore the negative comments in these reviews. you are NOT staying at the Ritz, you are staying at a historical little hotel in the heart of the action. The staff are fabulous, room small but neat and clean and location location location. Yes, it is very loud at night. If you are looking for a quiet place, this is not it. We were staying for one night before going on a cruise. wanted to be close to everything, comfortable, and to stay in an art deco historic hotel. This is exactly what we got!! Yep, sometimes the shower water is kind of brownish and yep, sometimes there is a musty smell. You are missing the point - all of this is part of the charm of the hotel. If you have any doublt when making reservations, just ask for Melissa, she will steer you in the right direction and ensure your stay is enjoyable!

Room Tip: ask for a room facing Espanola or Washington - can't go wrong!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank winterinwinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

clay hotel all the way !!! room was spacious and clean, staff on reception were very welcoming and nothing was a problem and even gave us drink vouchers for the bar :) was in prime location for local drinks and restaurant and was instituted 2 blocks from beach takes 10 mins max to get there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heavenholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Having requested the possibility of an early check in (since we'd flown all night), we were well received by the staff on arrival. They didn't have anything available yet but smiling, immediately took care of our luggage, had the valet park our car, made some suggestions of where to eat, supplied maps, local information and free drink coupons at nearby venues and shortly there after even managed the room for us - before lunch!! We had asked for a quiet room and got one on the second floor with internal facing window - perfect! The hotel is very well located for exploring the local area, Lincoln Road, Espanhola Way, South Miami Beach/ Ocean Drive, SoBe clubs and restaurants... Overall it offers good value as SoBe hotels are all expensive! Staff are very friendly and helped us make some good authentic local choices for dining as opposed to just the tourist traps along the beach drive. This is not a luxurious hotel but it is plenty comfortable, friendly, clean - no "bugs"?!!! true we had to carry our own bags up to our room but this is NOT a 5 star hotel - so you get what you pay for - no problem with that! Seems some people want to travel on a budget but then still get all the luxury perks?? Only regret they don't offer breakfast... but there are several options within a 5 min walk. Would we go back? Without a doubt!

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for an inner facing room - we had a smaller room but adequate #165
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BBOVeleiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I dont understand how this place can be in business. It is a 0 star dirty bug infested motel. First we enter the lobby to check in. That went smooth, but next we were told our room is 3 blocks away and were given a map telling us how to get there. Did they offer us help with our luggage, a cart, or anything? No, we had to drag 3 pieces of luggage each down a crowded street to a dingy looking hotel. When we entered the gates, the are was filthy! We realized there was no elevator and we had to get to the 3rd floor with all our bags. So we spent about 10 minutes going up and down while one watched over the bags, the other carried bags up. Terrible! When we got to our floor, there was a window in the hallway that looked like a wrecking ball went through it and they never fixed it. Literally a open broke exposed window with the wall broke too. When we opened our room, it was the smallest room I have ever seen. The bed is old, outdated, and gross. We found hair all over the bed. The carpet is disgusting and the bathroom is dirty. There were no ice machines, maid barely cleaned the room aside from making the bed and giving us towels. I wish I never stayed at this place I felt dirty everytime I was in the room. STAY AWAY AVOID BY ALL MEANS!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AnthonyR174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The style of this hotel is gorgeous! The hall ways in certain parts of the building are really ugly (outdoor carpet) but other than that, I adore the rooms. Espanola is one of the prettiest streets on South Beach (especially at night) and this hotel stretches along it. Lots of great places to eat surrounding the hotel. Over all... just a gorgeous stay!

Room Tip: If you are anything like us, we spend all of our money at night and wake up broke... soo... a restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anastasiajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Hotel Shelley
#80 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,588 reviews
City Center
Crest Hotel Suites
Crest Hotel Suites
#133 of 212 in Miami Beach
165 reviews
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Paseo Hotel
#31 of 212 in Miami Beach
421 reviews
Hotel Chelsea
#85 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,218 reviews
The Kent Hotel
#94 of 212 in Miami Beach
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clay Hotel

Address: 1438 Washington Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £80 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located two short blocks from the beach and steps from the charming shops, outdoor bars, restaurants and intimate cafes that line lush and romantic Española Way, The Clay mixes Mediterranean Spanish flair with contemporary comfort, transporting guests to a relaxing home away from home where architectural details and artwork by the noted Cuban landscape painter Pedro Amador resonate with those who appreciate culture and community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Clay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clay Hotel Miami Beach
The Clay Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing