We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hotel”
Review of The Clay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Clay Hotel
Ranked #101 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great budget hotel”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed here for a week in April. Found the hotel to have an excellent location spanning the length of espanola way. We stayed in the renovated annexe block - which is 30 seconds from reception in main block. People's reviews make it sound a mile away. It isn't! Yes there is no lift but for 1-2 flights of stairs it's hardly difficult with luggage and other reviewers need to get over this, especially considering what you pay! I was really surprised with how clean and comfortable the room was, the TV wasn't the best, however it had a lovely spacious shower, great air con and a comfortable bed.

I would recommend this place if you aren't bothered by swimming pools, cliched continual breakfasts, or concierge services. This hotel doesn't try to be anything it isn't and is definitely worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G90_edin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClayHotel, Manager at The Clay Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

We are happy you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms located in our second building.

There are many more improvements to come for The Clay Hotel. We hope you may return during your next visit to Miami Beach.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    745
    502
    151
    152
See reviews for
280
801
169
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with 2 friends. Under construction and NO elevators or pool. Rooms located in separate building and walked up 3 flights of stairs with luggage. No ice machine. Friendly staff. In room safe and small refrigerator. In the middle of busy area with lots of restaurants.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClayHotel, Manager at The Clay Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

At this time The Clay Hotel continues to make many improvements to ultimately make our guests stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We are 2/3 complete on Preserving this Beautiful Old Historic Spanish Hotel....holding every architectural element true to its original glory; yet modernizing to what we all expect today and beyond. Please flow our progress on Facebook!!!

We thank you for your suggestion of services you would like to see , such as the ice machine, your input is very valuable and will be greatly considered when making additional changes to our hotel.

The Clay hotel management and ownership are taking measures to possibly equip the hotel with an elevator in the future , as it is a Historic building made in the 1920’s , drastic changes as such may take time and we appreciate your patience. In the interim we offer help with luggage...please ask for assistance at the front desk

We welcome you back to experience New Clay Hotel Rooms & the excitement of Espanola Way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed here for a night before leaving for our cruise, and picked it based on a low price and decent reviews. We chose the "value" room for about $100, and were pleasantly surprised. The room had recently been renovated so everything seemed new. It was pretty small, but for 2 of us and one night it wasn't bad at all. This room was located a short walk from the main section of the hotel, and upstairs. There HAD to have been some elevators there but we couldn't find them. We didn't ask, but they were nowhere in plain sight. There was some construction going on during the day but it was relatively quiet at night. Espanola way is a very nice area to stay in, close to restaurants and bars and a short walk to the beach. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eurotrip11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed at The Clay the first week of March for one night! Yes there was a little remolding going on but didn't bother me none! Our stay was GREAT! The staff and rooms were fresh and clean! Our room was in the back part down Española Way. That part is great! We had a corner room that looked out on the court yard. Close to everything!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottnaylor1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My partner and I stayed one night at the Clay Hotel in late March 2014. We have stayed there several times before. We always enjoy the great location, helpful staff and excellent value. This time we received a free upgrade so were particularly happy!

We also appreciated the use of the bathroom on the second floor for guests who had already checked out, so they can shower and change after a day at the beach. We had *never* heard of this service before, in all the times we were there, so it was a nice surprise. We also appreciated being able to leave our luggage in storage at the hotel for a few hours after checkout.

A couple of other nice touches in the king room were the fridge and the Keurig coffee maker.

We have thought of staying elsewhere in Miami Beach, but we always happily return to the Clay Hotel and recommend it to others without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the street if you prefer peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 488Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClayHotel, General Manager at The Clay Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

The Clay Hotel is making many changes to untimately improve accomodations. We are happy you were able to enjoy new amenities we have to offer along with new room type as well.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you continue to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strongsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

My husband and I were more than pleased with our stay at the hotel! The staff was gracious, kind, helpful and accommodating, and even one of the female staff carried our heavy luggage bag up the flight of stairs for us! We arrived there before 7:30am after getting off a cruise ship. We were immediately greeted and all of our belongings were tagged and locked in a secure room. The staff secured tickets for "The Big Bus" tour for us, which we went on while waiting to check in. This tour not to be missed either (see Trip Advisor for "The Big Bus" tour). Unfortunately, the gentleman behind the desk that gave us information as to where to wait for the bus gave us the incorrect information. However, “The Big Bus” was kind enough to see us and stop and pick us up just the same. Staff needs to be correct in what they tell their customers. We requested a room on the second floor, as I have back/walking problems. Upon our return to the hotel to check in mid afternoon, we were not only given a room almost right at the top of the steps, but an upgraded room as well!!! Wake up call requests were met, as was our need for taxicab service. This hotel has to be in the best location in South Beach! Much atmosphere, especially with Espanola Way right there. Wonderful little restaurants and cafes, all with outdoor seating. Walk to everything. Miami Beach is a short two blocks away. There are also food shopping markets, pizza and delicatessens all in the area! Public transportation is right there as well. And all this for a "budget priced" hotel! This is not a luxury hotel, but the location and nearby amenities and walkability more than make up for it. The Clay Hotel and Espanola Way is the place to be! Thank you Melissa and staff!

Room Tip: There are no elevators, so if problems with stairs, you might want to request a unit on the second f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianzaccount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
El Paseo Hotel
#27 of 208 in Miami Beach
363 reviews
Hotel Shelley
#88 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,509 reviews
Casa Victoria Orchid
#93 of 208 in Miami Beach
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Crest Hotel Suites
Crest Hotel Suites
#147 of 208 in Miami Beach
105 reviews
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Oceanside Hotel
#103 of 208 in Miami Beach
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clay Hotel

Property: The Clay Hotel
Address: 1438 Washington Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Clay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clay Hotel Miami Beach
The Clay Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing