We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best point - the breakfast”
Review of Townhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel
Ranked #112 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Santander and London
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Best point - the breakfast”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Our bedroom was certainly minimal. It was like waking up in someone elses apartment. bed and pillows were fine. Excellent shower and good toiletries. There was a fridge and ice bucket yet no bottle opener. Plenty of artwork for sale in the hotel corridors.

The roof top bar was expensive. The route to it was quite odd with access via a service stairway (we did not see any signs to indicate another route). We had two cans of Corona larger. Each was $6.00. However, the bill was $14.40 which was explained by a 20% service charge equating to $2.40. The bar man advised that I did not need to tip as it was included in the price. That's a new one !. Noise from the roof top bar (open until 2am) and the street was easy to hear from our 4th floor room. Water marks were evident on the bedroom ceiling and that can be remided by the appropriate paint.

Breakfast was very good and included in the rate. Lots of bagels, coffee, tea, cheese, butter, good orange juice and eggs. The lady looking after that area was pleasant. She and the reception staff were the only staff members whom we found friendly. The car valets certainly were not. Bedroom staff just ignored us.

Reception staff arranged a 1½ hour extension to check out and that was appreciated.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Topxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    466
    227
    71
    50
See reviews for
132
564
56
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Good location close to beach, restaurants and bars. The hotel is comfortable and service is very attentive. We felt the hotel staff cares about your experience, and wants to make sure you are satisfied and enjoying your stay. Nice notes: beach towels available at the front desk; bicycle rental available; free breakfast food in the lobby until late; and coffee was available for most of the day. I saw only one down-side: the nice rooftop is not open during the day. Overall, very good place to stay at this price range. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iem207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

The hotel is perfectly located close to the beach, few blocks far from Lincoln Rd and the fancy parties at Delano and W. The lobby is bright and always full of natural light during the day. Room are comfortable, big with all necessary room facilities. There’s a lot of choice at breakfast and always fresh juices, croissant, muffins, marmalade and real Italian espresso (not just the coffee machine). What about the staff? Immaculate. To me, this hotel is great and the value really really worth. If I’ll be back in South Beach I’ll definitively stay again here.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adriano_BigD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia K, Manager at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Dear Adriano,

Thank you for your review of Townhouse. Nice of you to notice that we do use real italian coffee. I will forward the message to the department heads in regards to your comment about the staff. They will appreciate.

Best regards and we look forward to welcoming you back to Townhouse.

Georgia Kaufmann Behar
Revenue manager
Townhouse Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2012 via mobile

Reminds me of staying in a hospital - very spartan but servicable. Staff was friendly and helpful. I'd give it another half star on how nice everyone was. No complaints about the stay... and you're really only two minutes from walking on the beach! Would go back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank_dH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia K, Manager at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Dear Frank,

Thank you for posting a review about Townhouse on Trip Advisor.

Looking forward to seeing you again at Townhouse and thank you for the added half star!!

Best regards,

Georgia Kaufmann Behar
Revenue Manager
Townhouse Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

Within walking distance to Ocean drive and Lincoln mall, a 100 meters fr.o.m. the beach. Lobby and room are bright and clean. Rooms are a little worn and electricity a bit scary but as a whole, well worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buskachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia K, Manager at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Dear Buskachi,

Thank you for reviewing Townhouse.

I appologize if you thought your room was a little worn. Coulf you let me know what was your room number so we can look into it?

Best regards,

Georgia Kaufmann Behar
Revenue Manager
Townhouse Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Fantastic location, fantastic rates for very basic accommodations in the heart of South Beach. The super friendly and helpful front desk staff welcomed me and my friends to this very "cute" boutique hotel right off Collins Avenue. I likened it to an "upscale youth hostel" based on my observance that there was not one single guest that seemed to be over 30. I also felt that the communal help yourself daily breakfast albeit quite sparse with its selection of bagels and french bread, one type of muffin, coffee and OJ lent the feel of the place to a hostel as well. The property is well maintained and spotlessly clean including the rooms (the hallway carpets however are in dire need of replacing). The rood top deck is a wonderful place to take in the sunset. The placement of a stair-master exercise machine in the hallway was a clever but silly way to offer gym facilities without actually offering a gym. This hotel lacks a pool, and other amenities which is reflected in the room rates. The rooms are modern minimalist, but quite nice considering the lack of soft surfaces. My only real complaint was the bed itself. It is an "Ikea" type platform with a very thin and firm mattress that after a three night stay grew quite old.

Room Tip: lower floors mean you can skip waiting for the one elevator and use the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoodTimeAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia K, Manager at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Thank you for reviewing Townhouse on Trip Advisor.

We appreciate the comments on the fairness of our pricing and the friendly staff.

I can see the comment on having a majority of young guests at the hotel. We do however welcome families on a frequent basis and older guests also. My grandmother for instance loves to stay at Townhouse!!

I am glad you notice the hotel is spotless clean. Our Housekeeping Manager puts a lot of effort into it. And the hallway carpets are being replaced next week.

I hope you had a nice trip back to Atlanta and we look forward to welcoming you back to Townhouse.

Best regards,

Georgia Kaufmann Behar
Revenue manager
Townhouse Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

The hotel and the rooms are simple but nice in the Art Deco style maintained. The small kitchen with a simple breakfast buffet is also refilled diligently. It's ideal if you don't necessarily want steak with fried eggs for breakfast. You feel immediately comfortable in this hotel and the price / performance ratio is right on every case.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gion C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia K, Manager at Townhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Thank you for the simple yet to the point review about Townhouse, we appreciate you tasking the time to write about Townhouse.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Georgia Kaufmann Behar
Revenue Manager
Townhouse Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Cadet Hotel
#74 of 208 in Miami Beach
951 reviews
L Hotel Miami Beach
#113 of 208 in Miami Beach
154 reviews
South Seas Hotel
#106 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Boutique 18
Boutique 18
#95 of 208 in Miami Beach
217 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,434 reviews
Cavalier South Beach
#70 of 208 in Miami Beach
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel

Property: Townhouse Hotel
Address: 150 20th St, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#81 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Townhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Kept Secret on The Beach. Conceived as a cool, fun and fresh retreat, Townhouse offers a playful combination of modern design and old-fashioned comfort. Situated in the midst of South Beach and only steps away from the ocean, Townhouse provides guests with a sleek and sexy hideaway for a weekend getaway or long retreat. Townhouse features 69 rooms offering fresh, clean and exciting design.The outdoor rooftop terrace offers a luxurious-yet simple design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Miami Beach, Florida
Townhouse Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing