We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miami experience on a budget”
Review of Townhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel
Ranked #123 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Tip: take the bus Nr 150 from the airport to within two blocks from the hotel. It only costs 2.50 rather than a 40+ taxi ride.
This hotel does what it sets out to do, gives you a taste of the stylish Miami hotels without the high end amenities, but also without the high end price.
The beach is steps away.
The rooms are a very steril (stylish?) and it's impossible to darken it. Outside noise can be a problem, the roof of the building was right next to out room, and their a/c was running all the time.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiNi-0109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,071)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

197 - 203 of 1,071 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

After having to get a last minute flight down to Miami for business, My wife booked me into the Townhouse Hotel. I was working at the Convention Centre (0.5 Miles away) and was worried when nobody had heard of this hotel. Well, let's hope it stays Miami Beach's best kept secret.

The hotel itself was very clean and had an art deco feel to it. The staff was friendly and extremely accommodating. The room was minimal in creature comforts and would never be mistaken for other 5 star resorts in the area, however you buy into the "No Worries" vibe very quickly. I did not get a chance to spend a lot of time in the evenings on the roof top patio, but did enjoy taking my hard-boiled eggs and bagel up top before starting my busy day. The Townhouse hotel is very close to the beach (50 yards) and a short walk away from all the shopping and restaurants on Lincoln Rd.

I plan on making this my go to hotel when in the Miami Beach area, both on business and pleasure.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

excellent location.good clean hotel. after visiting beach plaza hotel decided to stay in this hotel. gt gud room rate thanks trip advisor partner deals. breakfast was ltd option. very close to beach ocean drive parking is exps. but staff is plesant.

1  Thank Sunita P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed September for honeymoon stop in Miami whilst travelling the coast of florida. Couldn't rate this hotel enough. The location is A+++, staff really friendly! breakfast top notch.

The design and feel of the hotel is also a breath of fresh air. Really nice and different.

Only piece of advise I would give if driving. Overnight valet is $32 but if you go to the local government lot on 17th street it's only $15 for up to 14hrs and $20 up to 15- 24hrs after that. And it's an easy walk back to the hotel.

Great stay and highly recommended!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank TommyHodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We have stayed 3 nights at this hotel as part of our birthday getaway weekend and here is the good and the bad we have experienced

Good:
- Excellent Customer Service (front desk staff accommodated all our requests, upgraded us to a better room)
- Rooftop patio (nice place to hang out, have a few drinks)
- Relaxing lobby with a nice continental breakfast

Bad:
- Halls on the floors look very tired making the place feel more like a hostel not a 3 star hotel
- Rooms are extremely basic (I understand that the simplicity of the decor was the idea, but rooms do look like hospital rooms, if you're on vacation in South Beach you might want to stay in something more appealing)
- Noise (air con units from the neighboring building are too loud, you will need the ear plugs to sleep)

Overall, not a bad stay for a budget hotel in Miami Beach. Would recommend for a short stay or a business trip.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poumnova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This is a non-pretentious, low-key yet great place to stay and enjoy Miami South Beach. With a minimalist style in red and white (that fits the personal taste of my husband and I) it has an enviable location in South Beach. It is located just a few minutes away from a beautiful beach (which does not get as crowded as the beaches that follow) and one-block away from the 150 route of the Miami airport flyer, and walking distance from Lincoln road, Lincoln mall and Española Way.
The continental breakfast was good enough for us, it's included in the room rate. Hard-boiled eggs (protein), juice, good coffee, bread and pastries with cream cheese, honey and marmelade, cereal and milk. Mostly important, the employee kept an eye on everything and the coffee pots, juice, bread, milk, etc. was never empty. She also kept the place clean so new patrons could have their breakfast. Very efficient hard-working people.
The same can be said about the people cleaning the rooms and hallways: efficient and friendly. The only thing is that we wouldn't always get our full sets of towels/wash clothes, until we realized that probably they were running out of them. The hotel was full, especially with guests from overseas.
The hotel has a fantastic rooftop/penthouse that we visited every night. It was kept dark but it was nice to just sit down. Another guest told us that the rooftop used to have a bar and even music to dance, but it was no longer the case (too bad, but we wonder how they managed the noise).
Our room was in the first floor, and we saw outside our window the AC equipment. We were afraid that the noise would keep us up and consider asking for another room. However, they must use some noise cancellation system because no noise bothered us at all, and this included the young crowd that would be in the street (from other hotel's night club) who were obnoxious (but the noise didn't make it to our room). We learned about the young crowd because one Sat night we came back around 2:30 am. and youngsters were occupying the hotel entrance/porch (they were NOT staying in the hotel, they were coming in our out of the night club in the hotel across the street). They were loud and disrespectful to the friend who drove us back (they were actually using the hotel parking area and the porch and steps, and they wouldn't move). My husband said something to them and they shut up. It would be good for the Townhouse hotel to reclaim its space: why would anyone who is not staying at the hotel (regardless of age) is using the hotel's facilities and parking area and exposes the hotel's patrons to noise and disrespect? Perhaps it was only our tough luck that night.
Other than this, of course we'll come back and recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: The Miami airport flyer has 2 stops just one block away from the hotel and it only costs $2.35/perso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MxLx2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

- Front desk staff were friendly and helpful (apart from one guy who didn't seem to speak any english..). They helped us carry our cases up the stairs to the lobby. The breakfast is complimentary - bread, bagels, fruit, boiled egg and pastries. There is a room with tea and coffee and water open 24 hours a day too.

- The hotel is a couple of minutes from the beach and you can hire sunbeds from the hotel itself (though we got a cheaper deal buying directly from the guy on the beach) and the hotel provide free beach towels.

- The rooms are big and airy, very simply decorated and kept clean. There is an iron, a safe and big television.

- Location is a 20 minute walk from the main hub of south beach which is fine during the day but might be difficult at night in heels. It is much quieter than being right on south beach would be. It was helpful being able to get away from the crowds.

- Only negative comments I have are that the shower wasn't very powerful and it was noisy early in the morning on the first floor. There is a bigger hotel very close which has music playing most of the day which could be heard from our room on the first floor. The back of this hotel was very close to our room and we could hear garbage and delivery trucks arriving and leaving early in the morning which was very noisy.
If you'll be out most of the day and then exhausted at night then this wouldn't be an issue. Otherwise ask for a room on the other side of the hotel to the elevator.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side of the hotel away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassie042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
South Seas Hotel
#106 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,570 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#55 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,485 reviews
Cavalier South Beach
#70 of 212 in Miami Beach
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#90 of 212 in Miami Beach
4,718 reviews
Richmond Hotel
#125 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,302 reviews
City Center
Albion South Beach
Albion South Beach
#69 of 212 in Miami Beach
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel

Address: 150 20th St, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#83 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £89 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Townhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Kept Secret on The Beach. Conceived as a cool, fun and fresh retreat, Townhouse offers a playful combination of modern design and old-fashioned comfort. Situated in the midst of South Beach and only steps away from the ocean, Townhouse provides guests with a sleek and sexy hideaway for a weekend getaway or long retreat. Townhouse features 69 rooms offering fresh, clean and exciting design.The outdoor rooftop terrace offers a luxurious-yet simple design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Townhouse Hotel Miami Beach, Florida
Townhouse Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing