We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mr Chow is more Mr How Much than Mr Wow”
Review of Mr Chow

Mr Chow
Ranked #296 of 979 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Price range: US$50 - US$50
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Cross street: 22nd and Collins
Description: Opened in August of 2009 in the “W” Hotel South Beach, MR CHOW’s international clientele have found its classics here along with new and creative recipes. The stunning dining room is centered by a unique 123 foot Gold-leaf and Swarovski crystal chandelier designed by Michael Chow. Located directly at the beach, the restaurant features indoor and outdoor private rooms, a spacious outside dining patio and interior bar and lounge. The Executive Chef is Hing Fung Matt Chan. Native of Hong Kong, China, Chef Matt began his culinary career in 1992 with intensive training as an apprentice chef in "Pine and Bamboo Mansion" which is a well known Beijing Cuisine restaurant. Since then, Chef Matt led various fine dining establishments such as Peking Garden Restaurant, Shanghai Garden Restaurant and Sichuan Garden Restaurant. Chef Matt has been a long-standing member of the MR CHOW team since his inception in 2009.
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Restaurant is nicely appointed, staff are polite and attentive but as with all restaurants the only real currency is the food which to honest is underwhelming.

Three appetisers and three mains with a couple of glasses of wine come in at just under $400...the food is OK but nothing better than you'd get at a half decent Cantonese restaurant in any town in the world for £20 a head..image and

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

223 - 227 of 1,280 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

We were nervous on walking into the venue as it is in W the music was very loud and the room felt like a conference venue somehow but once seated and served wonderful food by delightful team all initial trepidation was forgotten - try to be seated at the rear on the banquets, the music is not so loud there and it seems more intimate - also you have to ask for chop sticks & extra chilli! Pot stickers and shallot pancakes are to die for

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank NarelleMcDougall
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

We had dinner at Mr Chow on 26th august, and they send us to a place where the tables were so tight that we couldn't get to the seat without removing the table. As soon as I had To get up to go to the restroom I felt the discomfort of mobilizing the peaple around me, disturbing their dinner. Obviosly, going to the bathroom should be simple, but it wasn't. The food was ok (not fantastic) but they don't have olive oil, won't help if you ask for it. After the bill was paid, we looked for the manager and told him our feelings about the table ( incompatible to the proposal of the restaurant). He told us it was normal.

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank taniafvall
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

We were staying in the W but this was the worst meal we had in Miami Beach. We were greeted by every member of staff a nice touch. We had a lovely table, the waiter the pushed hard for us to order a set menu, he made the same suggestion 4 times. Starter was fine, the main very average, Peking duck arrived in one lump a 4 pancake, we were a family of 5 and has to do 3 reordereds, the. Chicken and beef very average. We do not mind a $250 bill but not great value. If you want to eat in the Dutch is much better.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank ejbennet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Impeccable service, great food and a lovely setting. Ribs were out of this world! All waiters with different roles ensured that the dining experience was smooth and enjoyable.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Colette-Colette28
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Mr Chow also viewed

 

Been to Mr Chow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.