We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!!”
Review of Dream South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Dream South Beach
Ranked #50 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!!!!”
Reviewed 27 April 2011

This hotel was incredible- excellent decor, amazing location and the staff were the most hospitable, helpful and accomodating group I have ever experienced in any of my travels. Five star luxury chains could learn a lesson or two from the management and staff at this hotel- I will absolutely return and reccomend this hotel to all of my friends. Special thanks to Thomas, a fellow Jays fan!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMB3090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmerHouseSoBe, Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, 28 April 2011
We couldn't be more proud to read this awesome review, and know that we were able to provide you with the level of service found in 5-star hotels. Outstanding service is our passion, and we love being able to take care of guests just like you! Thank you so much for your glowing review and recommendation, and from all of us here at the Palmer House, we can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,126
    776
    244
    90
    53
See reviews for
153
1,351
138
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

I havent had a chance to write my review on Palmer House but after the service we received I think it will be wrong not to. My Fiance and I went to South Beach to get married and stayed at Palmer House after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. The Staff were fantastic from the minute we got there, the hotel decor was modern boutique and tidy. The rooms were a bit small but great, we had the Junior suite which had a bit more space. It was all very modern. The location was a 2 minute walk to the beach and at the reception they will give you towels and chairs to take with you.
Overall this was a great find and certainly lived up to all the reviews.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ipete60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmerHouseSoBe, Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, 26 April 2011
Most excellent! We love hearing when our staff provides fantastic service, and that we consistently live up to the reviews from guests just like you! Thank you very much for staying with us, and from all of us here at the Palmer House, we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

This hotel had a lot of personality: The decor was well designed and art deco was revitalized "to the max"! The lighting was fun to play with; however even with 2 college degrees I couldn't figure out what all the buttons were for during our weeklong stay. But I'm a guy who likes a challenge.

The staff was delightful! As a frequent traveler I cannot recall having had better service! Each staff member was ready to serve our every need without looking for a tip each time. Everyone seemed to actually savor helping weary travelers--and for a guy from New York, this was a pleasant surprise!

The room was immaculate! And since my wife is paranoid about bedbugs (remember, we're from New York) she was a "happy camper".

Last but not least, the location was perfect! One block from Ocean Drive. If you like to party and get drunk, it's probably one block too far to walk. But if you're over 25 and think more about bedbugs than about drinking, you can sleep (though you can hear joyful screaming outside of your window).

Rich
www.SeekingSoul.com
www.SunriseCounselingCenter.com

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardScheinberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmerHouseSoBe, Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, 23 April 2011
Most excellent! Your awesome comments about our staff really make us glow with pride - the service they provided you is precisely what we strive for here at the Palmer House! It sounds like you and your wife had a lovely stay, and we are so happy we could be a part of such a great experience in South Beach! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

Do not stay here if you want to sleep before 2am. I didn't so it was great! Good price, nice location and excellent looking room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesnt face the nightclub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiscoD27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmerHouseSoBe, Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, 22 April 2011
Thank you so much for your nice recommendation - we really appreciate it! It sounds like you had a fun time enjoying South Beach, and our very cool hotel! Thanks for staying with us, and from all of us here at the Palmer House, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

If the genie in a bottle had a boutique hotel, this would be it. For an interior design aficionado, this hotel is a delight. The design is utter perfection. If fairly screams sexy, yet it is subtle and understated. The rooms are pretty much what you see in the pictures, smoke glass doors for the close and w/c and shower areas, the lattice doors that open to a bedroom that was made for the young and the fabulous. From the mod minibar, the perfect plasma without even a trace of the wires showing, to the undulating light display above the headboard that had an aurora borealis effect, the rooms undulate with sensuality.

That's the good part. Now, the critiques:

Honestly, not that bad, but some pet peeves that I typically find at fou fou hotels. The lighting, as other have said, was set to a very dark "mood lighting" which is fine under the right circumstance, but sometimes one just wants the lights just plain on. The lighting is controlled by a complex series of buttons with icons on them which kinda sorta indicate what they are. It takes some trial and error to figure out the combination to get the lighting desired. This was even more so in the foyer w/c shower area. It seemed like turning one light on automatically turned off another light which I didn't want turned off and honestly just had to do without some lights because I gave up on the whole enterprise. It's kind of a pain, and it needs to be simplified.

The other reviews saying that the toilet is insufficiently private. Correct. I again have seen this at another boutique hotel were practicality took the back seat to style. The way the front door opens provides and all access pass to see through the smoked glass to the toilet. I.e., one person is using it, while another room guest is opening the room door, and if there were people walking down the hall, they would get quite a show. Unacceptable. Even if the door faced the other way, it would still be unacceptable, because if the other person were taking a shower, he or she could still see through the smoked glass to see the other person using the toilet. That glass panel needs to be made opaque; or at least with one-way privacy film.

The staff was generally fine, though it would appear I inadvertently called for room service by pressing one of the many cryptic buttons. When I sat in the lobby using the complimentary wifi (lobby only) I was getting a lot of looks from one lady. Kind of a shady look that seemed to me to be saying "You're not trendy enough to be here." No matter, I paid for the room and its facilities and I intended to use them.

My room was on the first floor very near the lobby. The upside was, the free lobby wifi extended into my room (though out of principle I paid for it anyway). The downside was so did all the noise from the lobby. I don't know what they can do about soundproofing but it was really quite bothersome in the morning when I wanted to sleep in.

All in all, I thought the hotel was very nice though. The quality of the establishment itself is top notch. This hotel is rated 3 stars because it lacks certain building amenities, but in reality, the luxury factor of the rooms and the building is more like 4 to 5 star. But because it is technically a 3 star property it has a 3 star price. It's a bummer it's not on the ocean. But, what it lacks in amenities it makes up in sheer beauty.

Room Tip: Avoid 1st floor and/or facing Collins Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiamondEye1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmerHouseSoBe, Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, 19 April 2011
Thank you so much for your review and recommendation! We agree with you that our hotel is utterly gorgeous, and we are very happy that you were able to enjoy the wonderful design and style! We hope to see you again soon next time you come to visit South Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

It was a reunion with friends from the school. I like the place. Clean, modern, friendly, perfect location.
Staf is professional and very polite.
Cons...Valet parking $35++..and no Bar.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dralanir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmerHouseSoBe, Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, 17 April 2011
We are so happy that you had such a great reunion with your friends, and that our staff provided you with polite and professional service! Thanks for your recommendation, and we look forward to your next visit to beautiful South Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2011

We had just one night in Miami after 8 days to Exuma (Bahamas) and we wonted to stay in a nice cool hotel in the center of SoBe. We found this hotel because we were surprised and very courious to see why so well priced hotel was at the 3rd place of Tripadvisor... The hotel is in a fantastic position (just a block from the beach) and it is located in the middle of everything of SoBe: you can reach any relevant place in SoBe just walking.
The atmosfere of the hotel is very sexy and you feel as you are in a cool night club. Rooms are not big, as well as the bathrooms, but you have enough space for everything, an impressive lighting, amazing architecture of the toilet and a fantastic shower with led lights.
Wireless is complementary if you book from the hotel site with Amex, otherwise it costs 9 usd, safety box is free in the room. We would choose again this hotel the next time we will be in Miami.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ferdi_rm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmerHouseSoBe, Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, 10 April 2011
Very cool! We are so happy that you loved our hotel, everything in it, and our fantastic location. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,434 reviews
City Center
Gale South Beach
Gale South Beach
#52 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,746 reviews
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#38 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hotel of South Beach
#21 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,742 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#12 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream South Beach

Property: Dream South Beach
Address: 1111 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#43 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#52 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#57 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your loftiest dreams become a reality when you step foot in the art deco-inspired haven that is Dream South Beach. Located on Collins Avenue, our hotel is surrounded by stylish boutiques, the hottest clubs and is just 50 yards from pristine white sand beaches. Right next door is another fashionable address, once known as the famed Versace Mansion. Close proximity to Ocean Drive, Lincoln Road and Espanola Way. Hospitality is reinvented at our luxury hotel in South Beach. Art Deco style meets French Moroccan chic, at Dream South Beach, which boasts 108 guestrooms and suites designed by Michael Czysz with modern amenities such as large flat screen TVs, high-speed Wi-Fi for a fee, fully-stocked minibars, C.O Bigelow bath amenities and much more. While here, be immersed in late 70's poolside glamour at our rooftop pool and lounge, indulge in Mexican fare at Celebrity Chef Ralph Pagano's Naked Taco restaurant, slip into ecstasy with a relaxing spa treatment, and enjoy an atmosphere that is both cosmopolitan and comfortable. For a stunning nightlife experience, head up to Highbar by the rooftop pool lounge and sample creative concoctions while taking in the Miami skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Dream South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Dream South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing