We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A cool little SoBe hotel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dream South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dream South Beach
Ranked #62 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A cool little SoBe hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Hip, modern, clean, good location. A couple glasses of champagne at checkin is always welcome.

People say the rooms are small, I'm not sure that's actually true. Square footage may be less, but what's really missing is a freestanding round table or some other seating that most hotel rooms have but that I'd guess many people, at least me, rarely use anyway. Functionally, I think the room is perfect and, in fact, the shower is enormous - I'll take that over some filthy lounge chair any day!

The lighting in the rooms is very chic, but it is a bit dark and can make things like mirrors in the bathroom a bit less easy to use. We didn't mind, we were only there for a night, but your mileage may vary.

Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chickeneye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Dream, and sharing your experiences and giving your nice recommendation! We had a nice time taking care of you, and hope that you will come back and visit us again for a longer stay next time. Until then, take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,054
    745
    239
    86
    51
See reviews for
139
1,296
131
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

The good things about the hotel are its location, the rooms (small but okay and we liked the stylish and modern design), the roof terrace with a small pool and a bar. We would not say that there was anything bad about the hotel but we think that it is too expensive, there were no furnishings in the room to put your cloth in and there is no free parking. Also, we had a room next to one of the elevators which was very noisy and I woke up each day around 6am. A bit to early to wake up while in holidays.

Room Tip: There are two elevators which are noisy. I woke up each day around 6am. You might want to ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PinturaRoja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you very much for your business and taking the time to share your thoughts. We are sorry that you were disturbed by some of the noises from outside of you room, but it is nice to hear that you were able to take full advantage of our location and the cool design of the hotel. Thanks again, and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dieburg
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

The modern "boutique-hotel-feel" is very welcoming...but soon you realize the disadvantages!!
Rooms are very small and very dark. The "modern" lighting system prevents you from finding anything. Putting make-up on is rather difficult. The glass door in the toilet needs some getting used to, especially if you are traveling with somebody you are not that close to.........or you simply don't want to see them sitting on the toilet!!! The roof terrace is nice, pool is small. Drinks are very expensive!! Valet parking is totally overpriced!! The location could not be better though and the staff is very nice, friendly and helpful!! Interesting but probably better for "young" people!!!

Room Tip: Do not get a room on the top floor as the cooling system on the roof makes a hell of a noise!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anja70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
We really appreciate you choosing to stay with us, and your honest feedback. Your comments help us improve in those areas to make sure we are operating at our highest potential. Thanks for your nice comments about our friendly staff - we really do take pride in providing fun and friendly service for our guests. We hope that you will consider staying with us again for your next trip to South Beach. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freehold, New Jersey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

This is a golden gem on Collins Avenue. Very close to the beach and action. You can sit on the front patio with an overhang and enjoy people watching with a cup of coffee or a drink. Not overly crowded. This is a plus in South Beach. They have the most amazing staff. The GM is hands on and always available. Peggy is truly one of the reasons we go there so often. The front desk welcomes you with a glass of champagne and is available 24 hours a day. They also will help with any questions or needs. The best staff by far. Hotel security was top notch. Someone was always around to help. Our room was always clean and turndown service was excellent. The cleaning staff was friendly and helpful. The rooftop pool and bar is awesome. You have views of the beach and the city. It has the most amazing staff. Rick and Igor at the Highbar are another important reason why we always choose the dream. They are so fantastic! Aide,Valerie.KellyJonathan and all the others at the pool make it a great experience. The pool is heated and like a spa.Love it. With so many choices in SoBe they make a stay here worth it. Massages also are the best. Ask for Eddie. The onsite restaurant and bar is managed by Ty. He is A-One Fabulous. He is a keeper. New owner Ralph Pagano is personable,hands on and ready to make it even better. We will be back again,of course. The events manager Alison throws some pretty awesome events. Go here,relax,enjoy and let the best staff in SoBe take care of you. We do.

Room Tip: Third floor is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trowland57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
It was very nice to welcome you both back and have you stay with us for another great stay! We always have a great time making sure you have a fun and relaxing stay, and it looks like you had a blast and got to interact with a lot of our friendly staff. We really do appreciate your glowing comments about our hotel, and we will definitely be looking forward to your next visit at Dream! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

This is a great hotel style-wise if you like funky, modern edge. The rooms is dimly lit with lots of unique characteristics. Yes, the rooms are small, but they are functional. From a pure hotel perspective we enjoyed our stay. We did, however, have two issues during our stay both related to security. One was being followed in the elevator from the pool area and being asked for money, and the other was having our car cleaned out and driven around town by the valet service. Both of these put a damper on our trip.

Room Tip: Higher floor keeps you away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OrlandoCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to offer my apologies for the two unfortunate issues that you experienced during your stay. These are definitely not true to form to the high standards we hold ourselves to here at Dream and will be investigated thoroughly as we take them very seriously indeed. However, it is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay and got to enjoy our cool design. All of us here at Dream hope that you will come back and visit us again in the future, and I am fully confident that we are able to deliver a rockstar experience for you. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Joining other big mysteries of the universe is the mystery about how this hotel has such a high rating. I have stayed in Holiday Inns that were better put together than this hotel. Some of my highlights:

1. Paper thin walls (I had to be moved once) so thin I could hear conversations in the next room.
2. Glass walls on the bathroom. The staff had to put up duct taped sheets of paper. Classy.
3. Tiny rooms with very little storage space.
4. Possibly the worst designed light switches I have ever seen in a hotel room. My favorite part is how they stayed lit up at night very brightly, illuminating the room when the lights were off.
5. The room was uncomfortable hot. The engineer literally told me the thermostat wouldn't go below 68 because it would freeze. Are you serious?
6. In a 4 story building wait times for the elevators were 6-10 minutes. Also the elevators smelled like someone had just washed their very dirty pet dog in the them.
7. No gym in the hotel? The Hotel staff told me they chose to do a spa instead. (IE: Revenue generation.)

The few good things: nice rooftop area, beautiful views with really hard working, nice staff. The Cleaning staff was nice too. Decent beds.

The hotel ownership group should be ashamed of themselves for how badly this hotel is run. I will never stay at this hotel again and it has soured me on the whole Dream Hotel chain.

Room Tip: Go to the Loews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for you honest comments about your experiences here during your stay. We appreciate your feedback as it helps improve and be responsive to our guest's needs and requests.

It is unfortunate that the efforts of our staff to accommodate your various requests did not help make a more positive impact on your stay with us. We realize it is frustrating when things don't go exactly as planned, but we take pride on being able to respond quickly and creatively to make sure you are as comfortable as possible. We also understand that our hotel may not be for everyone as there are many elements in our hotel that are unique and different than the other hotels throughout the world.

Thank you again for your business and your feedback. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Opposed to what trip advisor ratings might imply this hotel is definitely not for everyone. The Dream hotel caters to a specific type of people. Make sure you belong to that group before booking your stay there.

First of all the rooms (except the suites) are extremely small. There is basically a bed and two little closets, one is the shower and one is the toilet and sink.

For me this turned out far to little space, I ended up having to jump over suitcases most of the time when I wanted to navigate the room.

The light is blue and whilst this can be a fun experience for male travellers it was nearly impossible for my wife to get ready in the morning. Actually, for the first time in my life, I saw my wife with pieces of paper towel hanging on her face walking around in public!!!

The service was also not up to my standards. I don't ask for much but when carrying two huge suitcases and two bags at 5am after a long flight and obviously struggling with it I would, at the very least, expect an offer to help me with them.

Well, at lest the staff was very forthcoming when I asked to change rooms. They showed me another room so that I could convince myself that all non-suite rooms are actually identical and that all rooms have this blue light. And when I asked to chancel the remainder of my booking they were great about it. Seems that I was not the first one to visit the Dream and turn out to be in a nightmare.

Room Tip: Standart rooms are very small so if you want space go for suites or maybe choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Romain_Schneider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to express yourself, and share your experiences with us. I am very sorry that you did not have a pleasant stay and that we did not live up to your expectations. It is distressing to know that several smaller issues came together to create such a negative experience.

Here at Dream we take pride in being able to offer a unique, fun, and relaxing hotel experience. We do understand there are some physical limitations of the hotel which may be challenging for guests who are accustomed to larger hotels throughout the world.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again, and I am fully confident that we are able to provide a most excellent and enjoyable experience for you. Thank you for your business, and we all hope to welcome you back in the future. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Victor
Hotel Victor
#76 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
0.1 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#42 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Marlin Hotel
The Marlin Hotel
#7 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Tides South Beach
The Tides South Beach
#70 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#84 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hotel of South Beach
The Hotel of South Beach
#19 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream South Beach

Property: Dream South Beach
Address: 1111 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#43 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#43 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#52 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#57 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your loftiest dreams become a reality when you step foot in the art deco-inspired haven that is Dream South Beach. Located on Collins Avenue, our hotel is surrounded by stylish boutiques, the hottest clubs and is just 50 yards from pristine white sand beaches. Right next door is another fashionable address, once known as the famed Versace Mansion. Close proximity to Ocean Drive, Lincoln Road and Espanola Way. Hospitality is reinvented at our luxury hotel in South Beach. Art Deco style meets French Moroccan chic, at Dream South Beach, which boasts 108 guestrooms and suites designed by Michael Czysz with modern amenities such as large flat screen TVs, high-speed Wi-Fi for a fee, fully-stocked minibars, Etro bath amenities and much more. While here, be immersed in late 70's poolside glamour at our rooftop pool and lounge, indulge in Mexican fare at Celebrity Chef Ralph Pagano's Naked Taco restaurant, slip into ecstasy with a relaxing spa treatment, and enjoy an atmosphere that is both cosmopolitan and comfortable. For a stunning nightlife experience, head up to Highbar by the rooftop pool lounge and sample creative concoctions while taking in the Miami skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Dream South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Dream South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing