We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location. Beautiful Room. Awesome Pool.”
Review of Dream South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Dream South Beach
Ranked #50 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

2,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,124
    776
    244
    89
    53
See reviews for
152
1,351
138
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I stayed one night here with my wife on an extended layover with a great deal from jetsetter. The hotel is small, even by south beach standards, but I enjoyed it. The lighting system in the room gives a cool vibe, but was a bit complicated and not very practical. With that being said, I thought it was nice. Staff was great. Small rooftop pool, but has everything that you need. The property is right behind the versace mansion, giving plenty of places to walk to. The front was under construction during our stay, which wasn't any inconvenience. Conceirge gave us some great recomendations for a few spots.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wizwithout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Dream, and for taking the time to share your experiences! Great job on taking advantage of our friendly concierge - they are all masters of their craft and really enjoy taking care of their guests. All of us here at Dream look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Convenience is an A+ as the events are walking distance from this hotel. Customer service is good and rooms are good size. They're dark and don't forget to pull up the shades during the day so you can see yourself as you shave or dress up. Beds are comfortable and the amenities are good.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Athar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thanks for staying with us over the Food and Wine Festival! You really can't beat our prime location and how easy it is to explore South Beach from the hotel. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

If management knows they're going to be sold out for the Food & Wine Festival weekend, they might have wanted to consider not doing construction in the lobby of the hotel that weekend!! Having to walk through wet painted area and under ladders to find out that the elevator is out of service...was not my idea of fun upon my arrival at the hotel...To add insult to injury, the door handle on the second floor was out and the door wouldn't open...so we were stuck in the elevator not being able to get to our floor!...No apologies from management for the inconvenience either... Rooms are so darkly lit, I may have used body cream instead of shower gel...couldn't read the labels and couldn't find a shelf in the shower to put the tubes because they don't believe in making the shower practical...no hooks to put a towel either, so you have to come out of the shower walk across to get a towel!...It's a bit challenging A cirque du soleil routine!...The lights in the bathroom (which is smaller than a closet) kept on dimming, which is tricky to maneuver... There is plenty of cool factor at that hotel if you're under 22! Nice to know that the internet connection prompts you to reconnect every 15 mins...and when I mentioned it at the front desk, they still charged us for it, and did not give me an explanation as to why. Valet parking attendant was nowhere to be found either, and when we finally found someone after 15 mins, they refused to put the charge on the room tab, and wouldn't take credit cards either...Not cool. If the restaurant in the hotel doesn't open for breakfast, maybe management might consider serving coffee in the lobby for guests or put a coffee machine in the room as a courtesy.

Room Tip: You'd better be on a low floor in case their elevator breaks down!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danicg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to offer my apologies that you did not have a pleasant experience with us. I wish I could go back and erase those issues from occurring so that your impression of our hotel would be much more positive. Construction is never convenient and there is never a perfect time to conduct it, but we are very pleased to now have our new restaurant open and operating. Hopefully you will consider staying with us again and will have a chance to experience it - the menu creations really are delicious.

Again, please accept my apologies for the issues you experienced. Thank you for your business, and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

The rooms are small and have no space to store clothes so this is a bit of a problem if you are staying more than one night. The lighting is really annoying. There are a million buttons to press for switching the lights on but the room is always dark and you can't see anything. I'm not sure what the hotel is trying to achieve in terms of creating 'mood lighting' but it basically just consists of a blue light behind the bed. The rooms don't really have a view as the bed hides the window, making the room feel claustrophobic. The walls are thin so you can hear everything going on next door. The general decor of the hotel looks like the inside of a cheap night club. You can find much better on south beach for the same price or less.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Nathalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences. I am sorry that you did not have an enjoyable stay with us and that the design and lighting in the hotel became such a frustrating issue for you. Thank you for your business and take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This was a nice boutique hotel. We were greeted & offered (after a LONG day of travel) a glass of Prosecco (nice touch) and told we could eat in the restaurant. We went to the restaurant, and were told it was closed?! Tried the next night to have dinner, and it wasn't open then either?! Don't bother with the Continental breakfast.....just order coffee. One morning they brought 2 small slices of dry toast, with nothing else.....just had to laugh. Room service runners were great. Rooftop pool area was closed for a private function when I tried to use it Friday. Not sure if I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 108 has great windows (corner room) which help with the lighting problem. Only major complaint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gooey210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DreamSouthBeach, Front Office Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Dream! I apologize that you did not have a positive experience at our restaurant. They are transitioning from one theme to another, as well as redesigning the physical set up and I believe this contributed to a not-so-smooth experience for you. All of us here at Dream hope that you will come back and visit us again soon, as we are fully confident we can provide an outstanding experience for you. Until then, take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#57 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,433 reviews
City Center
Gale South Beach
Gale South Beach
#52 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,746 reviews
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#38 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hotel of South Beach
#21 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,742 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#12 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream South Beach

Property: Dream South Beach
Address: 1111 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#43 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#52 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#57 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your loftiest dreams become a reality when you step foot in the art deco-inspired haven that is Dream South Beach. Located on Collins Avenue, our hotel is surrounded by stylish boutiques, the hottest clubs and is just 50 yards from pristine white sand beaches. Right next door is another fashionable address, once known as the famed Versace Mansion. Close proximity to Ocean Drive, Lincoln Road and Espanola Way. Hospitality is reinvented at our luxury hotel in South Beach. Art Deco style meets French Moroccan chic, at Dream South Beach, which boasts 108 guestrooms and suites designed by Michael Czysz with modern amenities such as large flat screen TVs, high-speed Wi-Fi for a fee, fully-stocked minibars, C.O Bigelow bath amenities and much more. While here, be immersed in late 70's poolside glamour at our rooftop pool and lounge, indulge in Mexican fare at Celebrity Chef Ralph Pagano's Naked Taco restaurant, slip into ecstasy with a relaxing spa treatment, and enjoy an atmosphere that is both cosmopolitan and comfortable. For a stunning nightlife experience, head up to Highbar by the rooftop pool lounge and sample creative concoctions while taking in the Miami skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dream South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Dream South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing