We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Palmer House”
Review of Dream South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dream South Beach
Ranked #47 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 15 October 2010

Stayed here for a week in October 2010. The hotel was wonderful. Great decor, very helpful staff, great location and great value.
Rooms are spacious and clean. Could do with a coffee machine in the room and some room in the mini bar for own items.
All in all, a great place and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Montysadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmerHouseSoBe, Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2010

Many thanks for your nice review and feedback - we really appreciate it! We hope to see you again at the Palmer House next time you visit beautiful South Beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,751 - 1,757 of 2,328 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2010

My friend and I's (we are in our late-20s) hotels criterias is that it is affordable, clean and convenient (and safe). This hotel met all that and more. We were both very pleased.

In checking in, the staff were very nice. They gave us details and information of the "going-ons" in town (they also have towels and beach chairs you can borrow). They offered to come in and show us how to use the lighting of the rooms (we declined, my friend figured it out right away but I can see where one might need some help). The rooms are small, clean and slick (in a sophisticated way).

Once you go into the room, the bathroom is on your right, the shower is on the left and then you walk into your bed area. The bed area and the shower/bath area is separated by a lattice door. There is a flat screen TV (we did not utilize it), and an iPod docking station (very nice). Clean towels everyday. My favorite part of this hotel is that it has plenty of outlets. In all my travels, I've always had a hard time finding enough outlet (and never enough after I have to share them with my friends) but this one had just enough for my friend and I (dSLR, compact camera, 2 laptops, 2 cellphones, a camcorder, e-book reader, mp3). Kudos to Palmer House!

Another thing that I felt that they went above and beyond was that I became dehydrated the 1st night and needed some medicine to also help with my dizziness. My friend called the front desk to see if they had any medicine. They did not but offered to go out to get it for us (in the rain). Another star for ya!

The room was never very bright (I like very bright rooms) like I had wanted (it was fairly lighted, cozy and romantic). But we never stayed very long for it to bother me. We were in to change, out to run and back in to sleep. :-]

Free wi-fi (I love it). I think they also had a computer up front. Very closed walking distance to Lincoln. All around the hotel is tourist shop and restaurants. It's not the hottest spot but for the price and value, this is a great hotel!

For those traveling to SoBe for fun, we did everything backwards. Go get a Hanna Tattoo first (if you don't have any real ones), get a sports package deal (where you can go para-sailing, snorkeling and jet-ski) and check out Miami Spice (I do have to say, my friend and I enjoyed foods but the restaurants on the Miami Spice was not very good but it may be what other people are looking for) . It rained everything in SoBe but it was a hit and go.

When we were there, we didn't see a pool (if that is important to anyone).

Before choosing this hotel, we had read some other reviews and this other commenter had indicated that this could be more of a 'couples' hotel. I didn't realize what they meant until we checked our rooms out! It really is. :-) However, my friend and I are just good friends and enjoyed our stay. We would come back again.

Happy Travel,
Joei

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
Thank serenaj83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmerHouseSoBe, Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2010

Wow! Thanks for your very nice and detailed review! We are really happy that you and your friend had a great time in SoBe, and we're glad that we were able to take care of you both. We hope to see you both again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Dear Peggy, John, Juliana, Yahaira, Thomas, Kendra, Llyod, Joseph, Andre,

We would like to THANK YOU all so much for this amazing 2 weeks we could spent in your absolutly great Hotel. The servie you provide is more than excellent. Every wish, every question you could answer easlily. You can be proud of your staff. I will definitely come back when the restaurant and pool will be open as well. The Hotel is greatly located in 3 min you are on the ocean drive with its restaurants and bars as well from the gorgeous beach. I wish you all a great time and we will see us for sure another time.

Dani

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donbaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmerHouseSoBe, Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2010

Very nice! All the Staff here at Palmer House had an excellent time taking care of you and your friend. Thanks for being such fun guests and always sharing the tales of your adventures with us at the Front Desk - we all had a great time hearing them! We definitely can't wait to see you both back at the Palmer House!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Me and my husband stayed in Palmer house for 8 nights and we really enjoyed our time there, everything was perfect starting from the decoration of the interior of the hotel and rooms till the excellent service of all the staff of the hotel. We booked the hotel through its website and we were never expecting that the reality will be exactly as the pictures we saw on the internet, the hotel is clean, the rooms are amazing, the staff is very friendly, the location is in the center of everything and still very quite so you get a good sleep at night.
We really want to thank Youssef for his advice and help on how to take advantage of each day in our trip, giving us tips on the hot spots and nice restaurants. We really want to thank Peggy for her support to one of our friends who has a small problem that has nothing to do with the hotel, but still she went the extra mile and helped him solving it.
Actually we want to thank the whole team there for the excellent service.
We strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmerHouseSoBe, Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2010

Just what we love to hear - sounds like you had an awesome time while in South Beach! Thanks for your very nice comments about Youssef and Peggy; they both really enjoyed being able to take care of you and your friend. Thanks so much for the great review, and all of us here can't wait for you to return and visit us again at the Palmer House!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

We only stayed for just one night at the hotel, but despite our short stay we really enjoyed the luxury at the hotelroom. What a classy and stylish hotel! Our compliments for al the hard work the last months!

Jochem & Kim
the Netherlands

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimmie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmerHouseSoBe, Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2010

Short, yet oh-so so sweet! Thanks for your lovely review, and we definitely can't wait to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

We'd stayed on Ocean Drive before and wanted to see what Collins Avenue was like. We couldn't have chosen a better option than the Palmer House. It's a historic Deco building whch has been lovingly updated and gives many contempory hotels a run for their money.

The rooms were designed and executed exceptionally well and really show what you can do with the right ambition. Too often in the USA perfectly good buildings are knocked down and replaced with non-decript boxes.

If you are in the area we would recommend this hotel without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Major_Delays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmerHouseSoBe, Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2010

Yes, we agree with you 100%! We are extremely proud of our hotel and its unique architecture and design elements. We are so happy you had a lovely stay, and we definitely can't wait to see you again next time you visit SoBe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

Excellent location, half block to the beach and lots of good restaurants, another block to good shopping a a local 25 cent bus that takes you anywhere in South Beach. The rooms are small but beautifully decorated and every inch utilized. Valet parking spendy but beats hunting and your car is always ready for you. Staff very friendly and helpful. Never did get used to the lighting system in the room but no bid deal. Great TV and comfortable bed. Bath was classy. Well priced too. Would stay there again and highly recommend it. I might even learn how to manage the lighting!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmerHouseSoBe, Manager at Dream South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2010

Very nice! Thank you so much for staying with us! Haha, and next time we'll be more than happy to help you become a master at our cool lighting! We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#55 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,482 reviews
City Center
Gale South Beach
Gale South Beach
#53 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,767 reviews
Mondrian South Beach Hotel
#39 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#16 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,609 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#12 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream South Beach

Address: 1111 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#43 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#52 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#57 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £121 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your loftiest dreams become a reality when you step foot in the art deco-inspired haven that is Dream South Beach. Located on Collins Avenue, our hotel is surrounded by stylish boutiques, the hottest clubs and is just 50 yards from pristine white sand beaches. Right next door is another fashionable address, once known as the famed Versace Mansion. Close proximity to Ocean Drive, Lincoln Road and Espanola Way. Hospitality is reinvented at our luxury hotel in South Beach. Art Deco style meets French Moroccan chic, at Dream South Beach, which boasts 108 guestrooms and suites designed by Michael Czysz with modern amenities such as large flat screen TVs, high-speed Wi-Fi for a fee, fully-stocked minibars, C.O Bigelow bath amenities and much more. While here, be immersed in late 70's poolside glamour at our rooftop pool and lounge, indulge in Mexican fare at Celebrity Chef Ralph Pagano's Naked Taco restaurant, slip into ecstasy with a relaxing spa treatment, and enjoy an atmosphere that is both cosmopolitan and comfortable. For a stunning nightlife experience, head up to Highbar by the rooftop pool lounge and sample creative concoctions while taking in the Miami skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dream South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Dream South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing