We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,010)
Filter reviews
2,010 results
Traveller rating
744
588
306
152
220
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
744
588
306
152
220
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean drive south beach free bikes hear the music beach towels junior suite breakfast was included art deco night life the location is perfect valet parking pablo miami action dj rooftop nightlife
Filter
Updating list...
1,306 - 1,311 of 2,010 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed 4 days. Only once during the entire stay did we receive shampoo and soap. No shower cap even. The TV kept losing the signal every few minutes. Bathroom door was broken. The bed was turned down for the night only 1 in 4 days.

Both days we valet parked the car it took over ONE hour to get it. Night vlub music was so loud that we could not get to sleep until 2-3 am every night. When we told the management that we wanted to leave a day earlier and go elsewhere they told us that they had 72 hour cancellation policy and that we would be charged, even if we did not stay the last day. I wouldn't stay here again, if they paid me.

Date of stay: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Voelsner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

Dear Voelsner,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We deeply regret that we were not able to meet your standards while staying in our Hotel. Due to your reservation being booked through a third party website, they are paid in advance. In order for us to be able to better assist you, please confirm with the booking agency which assisted you in your reservation. We will pass the rest of the information to our Managers so that we can look at our processes and better our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Recently stayed at Hotel Breakwater South Beach and I couldn't have been more pleased with my selection. It was a trip that started out rough cause of airline issues, but upon arriving at the Hotel everything changed. I was pleasantly greeted by the staff and had my luggage stored since I had arrived 5 hours prior to check in. I hung out by the pool then went for a walk which was great being that hotel is ideally located (no need for cabs). After checking in 2 hours before the actual check in time, my room was absolutely stunning! The restaurant provided outstanding service and exquisite food. Later that evening I hung out by the ultra chic roof top lounge appropriately called "Intimissi" it was the last touch to make my stay at Hotel Breakwater an absolute 5 Stars! Would stay here again unfortunately already completely booked for WMC 2012 :(

Room tip: Books quickly so book ahead of time!
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AgentMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We recently stayed at the Breakwater and would recommend it to anyone. The hotel was elegant and modern, with just the right touch of an older era but with all the amenities of a new one. Our room was very spacious and comfortable, and the bathroom was incredible, especially the tub.The pool was beautiful, the live music was great and we can't say enough about the courteous, friendly and knowledgeable staff, they went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and at home. Definitely top notch service.

The location is great, offering the beach across the street, shopping and great dining all within walking distance.

We will definitely stay at the Breakwater hotel again when visiting Miami

Date of stay: January 2012
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank GJWebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Dear GJWebster,

Thank you for your review. As always we strive to be the best at what we do. Our Hotel has been completely remodelled and is one of the Art Deco District jewels. Our service is of our utmost importance and we are always ready to make any request a reality. Thank you for choosing Hotel Breakwater to be your home away from home. We thank you in advance for taking the time to choose us as your preferred destination.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Arrived early at 11am Saturday (straight from cruise ship)and asked if we could leave luggage. Staff were very welcoming and locked luggage away. The Manager said he would find us a quieter room as the Courtyard Room booked was noisy. We had a late continental breakfast at the hotel for lunch (fresh squeezed OJ, croissant, pastries and coffee) before taking a walk. Returned at 2pm and was told our room (315) was ready and we had a partial seaview. It was if you hang out of the window but it was still overlooking the courtyard which was actually an outdoor disco. With only single glazed windows we realised it would be noisy (music was already loud at 2pm). The lift was also next to our room (about 6’ from the bed) so we had the additional noise of people using the lift. We called reception to ask if we could move but was told the hotel was fully booked but they could provide earplugs! Having paid in advance we had no option but to stay there. The room was very nice – king size comfortable bed with lots of pillows. Bathroom was huge with double shower, plenty of towels and spotlessly clean. Went out later for an evening meal somewhere quieter but when we returned the music was even louder. The base was so loud that the walls and bed seemed to vibrate. We tried watching TV with the sound turned fully up but could still hear the thump of the base over it. The music eventually stopped at 4am. Next morning the manager asked if we had slept and when we replied not until 4am he said he would ask them to turn the sound down earlier next night. On Sunday evening it was still noisy but the music did stop about 1am. Breakwater Hotel is right in the centre of Ocean Drive, just across the road from the beach and in an excellent position for people who want nothing but sun, cheap drinks, and extremely noisy music. We booked this as a late deal through Booking.com but even at the rate we paid it is not worth the money. The rooms have been upgraded but the reception and bar area reminded us of a cheap Spanish hotel in the 1980’s. Wish we had seen the latest Trip Advisor comments on Breakwater Hotel which were posted after we booked.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Silbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Dear Silbury,

Thank you for your review about our Hotel. The location of the Breakwater happens to be at the center of surrounding entertainment venues. Because of the weekend that you stayed, our Hotel was at full capacity thus making it challenging to move you to a more sound resistant room. As always, here at Breakwater we try and achieve your maximum comfort on your stay by providing you with the best surroundings possible. In the event that there is a high level of music from other venues we notify the local authorities in order achieve sound comfort for hotel guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews