We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOUD MUSIC ALL NIGHT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Ranked #108 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“LOUD MUSIC ALL NIGHT”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

The hotel is modern but the service from the front desk is pathetic. The frontdesk women can not multitask. The windows are like paper. Next door has an open bar with band everynight playing to all hours. You do the math. They give out ear plugs to their guests on check in. LOUD MUSIC all night and it woke us up in the morning. We were on the third floor.
Nice beds and sheets, new bathrooms. Great location for South Beach. My daughter slept on the pullout and had bites on her feet the first nite.
The hotel had us lock up our bags until the room was ready the first day. They had us wait until exactly 4 pm and never told us they have chairs for their guests on the beach. There is a fee we pay daily service charge that covers the costs of the chairs.
Never again.

Room Tip: not if you like to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debbie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear Debbie N,

Thank you for the reply posted. Our guranteed check in is at 4 pm and in order for us to make your stay more enjoyable, we offer the option of storing your luggage until the room is ready. Our staff is always eager to help and service of the highest caliber is part of our culture. We are working with the city of Miami to overcome the noise complaints arriving from the restaurant and as of this moment are installing a brand new sound system in order to minimize the level being played at later moments in the night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,747 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    641
    525
    260
    129
    192
See reviews for
228
835
82
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2012

The hotel was very clean! The staff was very helpful and nice. I was upgraded to a oceanfront room with two double beds at no cost! The location is A+++ in the heart of south beach. Live music and restaurants/bars surround the hotel. Nice pool and just across the street from the beach. The outside noise/music was barely audible from our room when the windows were closes. All in all a great hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FishinLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Fishingluke,

Thank you for the review posted! We are glad we were able to exceed your expectations and can not wait for your prompt return. Please let us know how we can assist you in any future stays and we'll be sure to make your home away from home a permament destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2012

As the last person just mentioned. The web site says there is a seating area in many of the rooms. But management said there is only a seating area in VIp rooms. The penthouse rooms, as example say seating area. Does that mean a person is expected to bring their own furnature to sit on. Someone in management must be a politician. Anti up, or fix the wording. I do not appreciate it either

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidkrrtemple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear DavidKrtemple,

Thank you for the your feebdabck about our Hotel. There seating area as you mentioned, is included in some our rooms and these include a sofa and working desk. These rooms are not necessarily located in all of our Hotel and are typically assigned to different room categories. Please let us know at the time of your booking that your preference is to have a seating area and we will gladly accomodate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed 4 days. Only once during the entire stay did we receive shampoo and soap. No shower cap even. The TV kept losing the signal every few minutes. Bathroom door was broken. The bed was turned down for the night only 1 in 4 days.

Both days we valet parked the car it took over ONE hour to get it. Night vlub music was so loud that we could not get to sleep until 2-3 am every night. When we told the management that we wanted to leave a day earlier and go elsewhere they told us that they had 72 hour cancellation policy and that we would be charged, even if we did not stay the last day. I wouldn't stay here again, if they paid me.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Voelsner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Voelsner,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We deeply regret that we were not able to meet your standards while staying in our Hotel. Due to your reservation being booked through a third party website, they are paid in advance. In order for us to be able to better assist you, please confirm with the booking agency which assisted you in your reservation. We will pass the rest of the information to our Managers so that we can look at our processes and better our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

2 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Recently stayed at Hotel Breakwater South Beach and I couldn't have been more pleased with my selection. It was a trip that started out rough cause of airline issues, but upon arriving at the Hotel everything changed. I was pleasantly greeted by the staff and had my luggage stored since I had arrived 5 hours prior to check in. I hung out by the pool then went for a walk which was great being that hotel is ideally located (no need for cabs). After checking in 2 hours before the actual check in time, my room was absolutely stunning! The restaurant provided outstanding service and exquisite food. Later that evening I hung out by the ultra chic roof top lounge appropriately called "Intimissi" it was the last touch to make my stay at Hotel Breakwater an absolute 5 Stars! Would stay here again unfortunately already completely booked for WMC 2012 :(

Room Tip: Books quickly so book ahead of time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgentMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoughton, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We recently stayed at the Breakwater and would recommend it to anyone. The hotel was elegant and modern, with just the right touch of an older era but with all the amenities of a new one. Our room was very spacious and comfortable, and the bathroom was incredible, especially the tub.The pool was beautiful, the live music was great and we can't say enough about the courteous, friendly and knowledgeable staff, they went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and at home. Definitely top notch service.

The location is great, offering the beach across the street, shopping and great dining all within walking distance.

We will definitely stay at the Breakwater hotel again when visiting Miami

Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank GJWebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear GJWebster,

Thank you for your review. As always we strive to be the best at what we do. Our Hotel has been completely remodelled and is one of the Art Deco District jewels. Our service is of our utmost importance and we are always ready to make any request a reality. Thank you for choosing Hotel Breakwater to be your home away from home. We thank you in advance for taking the time to choose us as your preferred destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Essex House
Essex House
#52 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,851 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#47 of 208 in Miami Beach
544 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#33 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beacon South Beach Hotel
Beacon South Beach Hotel
#55 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#41 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,044 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victor
Hotel Victor
#81 of 208 in Miami Beach
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Breakwater South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Property: Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Address: 940 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5013
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Breakwater South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Breakwater, is a fun, bustling and entertaining historic Art Deco hotel located in the heart of South Beach's famous Ocean Drive. The hotel is a non-stop, active delight right in the center of everything that is South Beach. You'll find yourself within walking distance of a wide variety of outdoor cafes serving every style of cuisine imaginable, art galleries, night clubs, the famous Beach, the Versace Mansion, beach front walking, biking and jogging paths, world class events like the Wine and Food Festival, as well as the fabulous shops of Lincoln Road Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Breakwater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Breakwater South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing