We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Nearby Hotels
US$532
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$466
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$528
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$489
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$610
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$421
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fontainebleau Miami Beach(Miami Beach)
US$375
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$341
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
W South Beach(Miami Beach)
US$400
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$358
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Eden Roc Miami Beach Resort(Miami Beach)
US$321
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$286
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
thepalmshotel.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
US$528
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mondrian South Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
US$257
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
SLS South Beach(Miami Beach)
US$371
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,899)
Filter reviews
1,899 results
Traveller rating
674
568
294
147
216
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
674
568
294
147
216
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean drivesouth beachthe penthousefree bikesbeach towelsart deconight lifethe room was nicethe location is perfectpablomiamiactionclubsrooftopnightlifevaletcruise
Filter
Updating list...
1,130 - 1,135 of 1,899 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Will I stay at the Breakwater again???? Absolutely!!!!!
My husband and I travel to celebrate our wedding anniversary every year.
We stayed in the VIP Penthouse suite. DO NOT Believe all of the reviews you read.

This hotel Rocks! I cannot believe that other guests complained about the noise! REALLY!!!! Are you 60 years old or what??? This is south Beach. What do you expect? The noise, the live bands, and the crowds are a part of the Awesome South Beach atmosphere. If you are not ready to party UNTIL 3-4 AM, laugh at wasted pedestrians, or enjoy great entertainment, then stay at least 4-5 blocks off of ocean drive :) As soon as we arrived, we were greeted with smiles from everyone. We were able to check in early. Jaime C (General Manager) and Jose P at the front desk Rock!! They were very personable and accommodating. The food was amazing! you must eat their breakfast and have a beer. The drinks are HUGE!!! The room was very clean and the beds were like laying on clouds. I think that the people next door heard me and my hubby snore! Lol.

The concierge desk was accommodating as well. If we needed directions or even specific restaraunt detail of our choice, they were happy to provide them. Do they want you to stay and eat with them? Of course, yet they were still very nice about ensuring that we had a great experience during our stay. Upon departing from the hotel, we left our luggage in their secure luggage room to give us time to grab a bite. A cab was later called and our luggage was taken to the car for us. AWESOME SERVICE, AWESOME FOOD, AWESOME ACCOMODATIONS

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROCHELLE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We were staying at a swanky five star on Biscayne and decided to go for something closer to the beach. After meeting some people on South Beach who were raving about the place, we decided to just go take a look. I was very impressed. The lady at the front counter was super accommodating and gave a cheap walk-up rate that we couldn't turn down. We were last minute so we didnt get a great view, but the room was clean and the hotel was full of twenty somethings having as much fun as we were! The elevators only operated with a room key, so that was perfect to lose the people that followed my friends home from a night of partying! This is definitely our new Miami hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vidal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Vidal L,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your wonderful feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read! I am glad that you had such a fun and relaxing time while staying with us! I am very sorry to hear about your horrible experience, at your previous hotel selection, I am glad to know that we turned your stay in Miami, from bad to great! Thank you for you praise towards our Front desk staff, we always strive to make your experience with us a great one in all aspects. Thank you for choosing us for your next stay we will be more then happy to have you back again!

Best Regards, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I don't know how this hotel is rated 4 stars! Please don't waste your money! I stayed at the Breakwater a week and the staff gave me at first a tiny room, even though I booked a month before asking for a room for 2 people.
Some of the staff at the front desk are rude and lied to me. They have poor management skills and beware of charges they add to your bill. I used valet parking for one night and they wanted to charge me for 4!.
The room was not always cleaned and we had to ask for new towels and toilet paper almost every day. They eventually bring big towels, but not wash cloths or floor mat..it was frustrating since this hotel isn't cheap!

Room Tip: Very noisy at this hotel either from Ocean Dr. noise or from restaurant below where you hear dishes and silverware banging all night.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Selena0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Selena0304,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your honest feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read! I am very sorry to read that you did not have an amazing time while staying with us! I apologize that we did not meet your expectations with your room selection. We would love for you to give us a second chance, as we will make sure to accommodate you with a larger room, and away from all the noise from the night life. You can contact me directly at Jrodriguez@breakwatersouthbeach.com and I will make sure to give you the best service possible. We hope to hear from you soon so that we can truly provide the best service I know we can.

Best Regards, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

I was happy threw out my vaction on the beach i was greated by jack who was one of the best staff members in the breakwater. He was very friendly and provided me with great assitance. The food was great and the waiters were great. The rooms were nice and i would love to come again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crissy121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiamiSunManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Crissy121,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your wonderful feedback on Trip Advisor for all of our future guests to read! I am so glad that you decided to stay with us for your vacation, and that our staff met all of your expectations. Glad to know that you enjoyed the food at our restaurant "Nine". We will make sure to let our staff know of your great praise, hope you will be back to visit us soon.

Kind Regards, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed at Breakwater from 8/9-8/14. We were greeted by German, who took our bags to our room and was very attentive. Even though we arrived before check in (actually at 11:oo a.m.), Isabella was able to get us in our room. When she found out it was my husband's birthday, she had a bottle of champagne sent to our room. The room was very clean and well appointed. The color scheme is really nice. We called ahead and asked for a upper level room because Ocean is busy, busy, busy at night... we got room 310 and it was cool!
At night, Marcus was able to tell us some stores to get snacks. He was very friendly!

The restaurant was pretty good as well. The pool was nice- the side facing the street is clear! The lobby is nice- I can't say enough about the hotel. I would recommend this hotel to any one of my friends and famiy!!

ABOVE ALL I HAVE TO POINT OUT ISABELLA AND AMANDA. THESE CHICKS ROCKED!! THEY WERE EXTREMELY HELPFUL, EXTREMELY FRIENDLY AND FUN TO ACTUALLY HAVE A CONVERSATION WITH. I'D COME BACK HERE FOR THEIR HOSPITALITY ALONE!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the same building as the lobby.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews