We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Ranked #113 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We arrived to the Breakwater around noon on Friday. Greeted by Pablo at the valet, we were delighted with how polite and helpful he was. Natalie at the front desk was also very nice and helpful.

That evening we were going to a concert that was about 20 minutes away from the hotel. We took a shuttle that was provided by the hotel. It was $35 round trip for each of us. The driver was awful! It took is 2 hours to get to the venue. The driver was rude and we decided to just take a cab after the show. So do not take a shuttle from the hotel!!!

On Saturday, we had a nice day at the beach. One perk about the hotel is you get vouchers for towels and chairs on the beach... Pretty nice. David helped us out there. All day housekeeping had not come to our room, then after we got back from dinner we noticed they had. We also noticed some spots of blood on our comforter! We called down to room service for a new comforter and no answer for about 20 minutes. Finally, they bring up not a comforter, but a throw blanket.

One thing to be aware of at the Breakwater is the location. If you're like my boyfriend and I who like to get a couple of drinks but go to bed before midnight, this is not the place for you. Between the breakwater and the clevelander next door, music is booming well until 4:30 or 5am. If you like partying the night away, this is your place.

Overall, our stay was just OK. The service stunk 80% of time, partially because everywhere you go (restaurant, bar, etc.) 18% gratuity is added to your check. So nobody has to work for a tip. If you go to south beach have a great time! The atmosphere is very fun during day

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amcguiretraining12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,842)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

910 - 916 of 1,842 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

iv'e liked the hotel, excelent service, perfect location, right in the eart of south beach, very clean rooms, food a little bit pricey, but overall a good hotel, ask for rooms in the back part of the hotel if you whant to sleep, there is a lot of nois specialy during the weekends and holidays

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drlicon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The staff at the hotel were so friendly and helpful and our rooms were fine. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms huge. Our room looked over the swimming pool pump and air conditioning units but our teenage daughters' looked over the pool, however our room was quiet enough to sleep theirs wasn't! We understand that Ocean Drive is party central but the noise was just too intrusive even when you were dog tired with jet lag!! We coped with the noise but the thing about the hotel that I really didn't like was that, in order to get to our rooms we had to walk through an empty entertainment room that stank! The smell was horrible and slightly fishy and fusty! We didn't mind walking outside or through a restaurant but this wasn't very nice at all! Otherwise we got roughly what we expected, breakfast was hideously expensive but the staff were lovely!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed at Breakwater for one night Aug/10/13 we picked it because it was in the most happening area in South Beach. We had a executive suite with a king size bed and a pull out couch. We found the room extremely spacious, clean and modern. My only complaint is the the reno work done in the bathroom looked a little shotty but not a huge deal at all. I do strongly recommend however if you are booking a room here try your best to get a room away from the front of the building as there is a happening club/bar attached to the hotel. So if you are not partying there it can be bothersome. We luckily had our room on the opposite side of the hotel so no complaints here.

Breakwater is a great hotel, well priced and in an awesome location, i would recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juvecoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed here after 2 relaxing nights on Hollywood beach . We expected the party central atmosphere since we'd done our research. We were looking for a different South Beach experience than the on from last years trip.. so we decided to stay smack dab in the middle of all the action… when it came to sleep on Sat night… there wasn’t much of it.. our room was over the bar and live band and DJ and next door to the Clevender so while we enjoyed it we didn’t really want to bring all of the fun back to our room… It’s a good place to stay if you plan to party all night and crash during the day. I’m very happy to say the music did not start early in the a.m. so we were able to sleep in. When we went to the beach there were no more towels for us but we still had to pay the resort fee of course.. not cool….. over all I’d recommend for anyone that would like to be in the center of it all room was nice size it was the Jr suite facing Ocean drive with a pull out sofa.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed in a rooftop penthouse room for my husband's birthday, and had a great time! Although the hotel is located in the total party district of South Beach, we had complete privacy and a peaceful night's sleep, thanks to the soundproof windows and great insulation. The staff was very attentive, but not overly intrusive. Service was great, and the location couldn't be better. The best nightlife South Beach has to offer are right outside your door! The visitor's center is located right across the street from the hotel, along with a great gift shop for all your art deco souvenirs, prints, and anything else you can think of. Everything is within a quick walk of this hotel- right in the heart of the art deco district.

Room Tip: HIgher floors and rooms facing away from the ocean or 10th st. side are the quieter. 10th st. side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynnie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

If you are young and your goal is to bathe in the South Beach atmosphere, this place is perfect... modern, hip, and ideally located. Steps from the beach, front door right on Ocean Drive. BUT: it was absolutely the loudest place I've ever stayed. Inter-room noise was fine, and the rooms are pretty well insulated. However, the courtyard has a bar/restaurant and a performance stage. A band was playing til the wee hours in the courtyard, and even with our white noise machine, the drums/bass were quite loud until past midnight. If you're going to be out partying anyway, this isn't a big deal; just be aware that it will be incredibly annoying if you're a family or trying to keep normal sleeping hours.

Room Tip: Avoid the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikemeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Essex House
Essex House
#54 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,928 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#71 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,377 reviews
0.9 mi away
South Seas Hotel
South Seas Hotel
#116 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beacon South Beach Hotel
Beacon South Beach Hotel
#56 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,460 reviews
0 mi away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#52 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#37 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Breakwater South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Address: 940 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5013
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £125 - £365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Breakwater South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Breakwater, is a fun, bustling and entertaining historic Art Deco hotel located in the heart of South Beach's famous Ocean Drive. The hotel is a non-stop, active delight right in the center of everything that is South Beach. You'll find yourself within walking distance of a wide variety of outdoor cafes serving every style of cuisine imaginable, art galleries, night clubs, the famous Beach, the Versace Mansion, beach front walking, biking and jogging paths, world class events like the Wine and Food Festival, as well as the fabulous shops of Lincoln Road Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Breakwater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Breakwater South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing