We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An awesome stay on South Beach!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Ranked #108 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Bermuda
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“An awesome stay on South Beach!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

What an awesome trip. Miami in itself is awesome. But the stay at the Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach was perfect. From the moment we arrived, we were greeted by friendly and knowledgeable staff. They greeted us with authentic enthusiasm and made the entire stay at the hotel relaxing and wonderful! Couldnt have asked for a better stay. Beds and rooms were clean and comfy and hotel located smcack in the MIDDLE of all the action on South Beach! We WILL be back!! :-) Thanks so much for making our stay AWESOME!!!!!!

Room Tip: Just stay at the Esplendor Hotel Breakwater South Beach. All the roooms are great! Staff are aweso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuitaOuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chauncey C, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
It was wonderful having you here visiting with us! Thank you for your kind comments and observations about our busy, active, fun, non-stop hotel here in the heart of South Beach's Ocean Drive. We look forward to having you here with us again soon!

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    641
    526
    260
    129
    192
See reviews for
228
836
82
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hollister, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Breakwater during Urban Week (we didn't know that it was Urban Week or what that was until we arrived.) The front desk was very nice and even let us check in early since I took the red eye to Miami. She was also very nice on explaining what Urban week was and pointed out some stuff that we can do. Yes you are right next to a club but I was so tired (and had one to many adult drinks) that it didn't bother me at all. You are in the middle of everything in South Beach which is what we wanted. The staff was nice, the room was comfy, the location was awesome: what more can you ask for.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chauncey C, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
It was wonderful having you here visiting with us! Thank you for your kind comments and observations about our fun, non-stop hotel here in the heart of South Beach's Ocean Drive. We look forward to having you here with us again soon!

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Yes, the location is fine for going out and have a drink, but forget about getting any sleep... Actually coming to this hotel is the biggest waste of money, except if you need a place to drop your bag. I'm literally writing this review at 3:00 am exhausted while the music still playing downstairs for three drunk customers to the maximum volume! We called the front desk and they said the music will keep going until 5! WORST EXPERIENCE IN A HOTEL EVER! And I consider myself a highly experience traveler.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chloe_Quartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chauncey C, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
It was wonderful to have you here visiting with us! Thank you for your comments and observations about our non-stop, bustling and active hotel here in the heart of South Beach's Ocean Drive. I am disappointed that you were inconvenienced during your visit. Our location is very active and action-filled and can be noisy. We will be modifying the windows at our historic Art Deco hotel this year to help minimize the noise for our guest's comfort. Please contact me directly on your next visit to South Beach so I can organize a fun experience for you.

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Loved the room and hotel very much but unfortunately we will not stay here again due to the horrible noise coming from people partying outside the hotel room day and night, I phoned at 1.30 am and asked when the music was being switched off and they told me three am and would I like some eAr plugs, if I did go back to miami I would stay away from the main strip, lovely atmosphere and beaches, it's a shame as we were welcomed well on arrival and departure and the room was amazing, we only stayed here overnight as we were heading to Fort Launderdale to travel on cruise ship, if it was a longer stay I would of asked to be remove from the nightclub style noise.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chauncey C, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
It was wonderful having you here visiting with us! Thank you for your comments and observations about our fun, active and non-stop hotel here in the heart of South Beach's Ocean Drive. I am disappointed you were inconvenienced during your visit. Being here in the middle of all the action on Ocean Drive can sometimes be noisy. We will be modifying our windows this year to help minimize the noise at our historic Art Deco hotel this year in our effort to always make our guests more comfortable. We look forward to having you here with us again soon!

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed at the Breakwater Hotel for 17 nights and it was just perfect! Nathalie from the front desk and Pablo were very friendly and were helping us with everything, but the remainig staff was also great. We had a nice big room with a big bathroom. Eventhough we were directly on Ocean Drive we didn´t hear the noise, as our room was to the backyard. The breakfast each morning was a good start into the day and we also used the bikes which were availalbe. We really enjoyed our time in the Breakwater Hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the backyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chauncey C, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
It was wonderful having you here visiting with us! Thank you for your kind comments and observations about Natalie, Pablo, our team members and our fun, active non-stop hotel here in the heart of South Beach's Ocean Drive. We look forward to having you here with us again soon!

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Simply amazing staff. I love Natilie!!! I stayed there this past weekend for my birthday, I was upgraded to the pent house suite for the last night of my stay there... sorta like they're gift to me pretty awesome right? Ive been to many hotels on South beach but this by far stole my heart. I researched this hotel before I came to Miami and i got mixed reviews, and I was kind of worried.. but that soon changed! Rooms are amazing, spacious, and it was a perfect location..ILL DEFINETLY STAY HERE AGAIN.. HEY NATILIE YOU ROCK THANKS FOR MAKING MY STAY HERE MEMORABLE!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamisha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chauncey C, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
It was wonderful having you here visiting with us! Thank you for your kind comments and observations about Natalie, our team members and our fun, active and non-stop hotel here in the heart of South Beach's Ocean Drive. We look forward to having you back here with us soon!

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We just finished a 4 nights stay at the hotel, nothing but good things to say.
Top location on south-beach adjacent to the restaurant and bars, just nearby the seaside, lively atmosphire with Music etc. the room was spacious and bed and bath were very comfi.
Very friendly and helpful staff, Natalie and Ana were very kind and helped us a lot with touring/shopping and other tips.
would deffinetly visit again next time while in Miami

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy0777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chauncey C, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
It was wonderful having you here with us! Thank you for your kind comments and observations about Natalie and our team members and our fun, active and non-stop hotel here in the heart of South Beach's Ocean Drive. We look forward to have you here visiting with us again soon!

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Essex House
Essex House
#52 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,852 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#47 of 208 in Miami Beach
544 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#33 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beacon South Beach Hotel
Beacon South Beach Hotel
#55 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#41 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,045 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victor
Hotel Victor
#81 of 208 in Miami Beach
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Breakwater South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Property: Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Address: 940 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5013
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Breakwater South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Breakwater, is a fun, bustling and entertaining historic Art Deco hotel located in the heart of South Beach's famous Ocean Drive. The hotel is a non-stop, active delight right in the center of everything that is South Beach. You'll find yourself within walking distance of a wide variety of outdoor cafes serving every style of cuisine imaginable, art galleries, night clubs, the famous Beach, the Versace Mansion, beach front walking, biking and jogging paths, world class events like the Wine and Food Festival, as well as the fabulous shops of Lincoln Road Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Breakwater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Breakwater South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing