We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally Located on South Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Ranked #114 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at the Breakwater hotel. I've been to Miami 7x since 2004 and this hotel was the best of them all, thus far. It is centrally located right on Ocean Dr between 9th and 10th st. Giving you easy access to the Hot Spots like Cleavlanders, Wet Willys, Fat Tuesdays etc. The Beach is right across the street, literally.

Inside the hotel, our room was nice, nice pillow top bed, complimentary water, coffee and tea. 50" flat screen. Huge full length mirror, 2 side end tables and a nice large desk. the bathroom is nice as well. Love the shower, but I was traveling with my husband, had I been traveling with my girlfriends, theres no privacy in the shower because its a clear glass stall with no curtain.

The hotel complimentary breakfast is decent. We stayed for 4 days so after the 2nd day we were looking for something different because the menu is just about the same daily (eggs, hash, sausage, french toast, bagel, croissant, cereal, coffee, juice).

Theres a nice roof top terrace that my husband and I relaxed on for about 2 hours straight. There's a long slender pool and many other amenities for one to take advantage of such as 3 apple computers in the lobby, free bike rental, gym.

Overall I really enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: If you don't plan on doing anything more in your room then sleep and get dressed, save a few dol...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jenell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chauncey C, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

It was wonderful to have you and your husband visiting with us! Thank you for your comments and observations about our fun, active hotel here in the heart of South Beach's Ocean Drive. We look forward to having you here with us again soon!

Best regards,

Chauncey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,790)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Breakwater South Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

689 - 695 of 1,790 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

It was an overall great experience! The hotel was very nice. However, know that they will hold a $100 deposit for every night you stay that will be given back after you check-out if nothing was damaged in the room and there is a $24 fee for everyday you stay. I was surprised with all the hidden fees when I got there. Also, the only bad thing about my stay there was that we had to wait about 3 hours for our fresh towels to come to the room.. and we had just come from the beach. Imagine that wait! I called them 3 times and even offered to come get them myself but they said that there is only one housekeeper there. Other than that little mishap, we had a great stay and it is in the middle of everything on South Beach!

Room Tip: Ask them if they are assigning you a noisy room.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chauncey C, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your comments and observations! Your feedback is very valuable to us and we endeavor to always provide a fun, active experience for our guests here in the heart of South Beach's Ocean Drive. We look forward to your next visit with us soon.

Best regards,

Chauncey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

First of all wanna give a shout out to my girl Natalie for looking out for me. She's the best!! I will totally recommend this hotel to everyone. The location is everything plus more!! At night they have a club right by the pool which is super cool!! And the view from my room (ph12) was awesome!!!! Best to believe I will be back!! Love, Cicily Sparks

Room Tip: Ask for the ph rooms they are the best!!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ce Ce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chauncey C, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

We are so happy you loved the hotel, because we loved having you here with us! Thank you for your kind comments about our non-stop hotel here in the heart of South Beach's Ocean Drive. Natalie and the team look forward to having you here visiting with us again soon!

Best regards,

Chauncey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Natalie was extremely helpful before, during and after our stay. Anytime I had a question or was unsure, she was there ready and willing to help. Such a pleasant and beautiful person. When I do come back to Miami to visit, I will be sure to stay here and I hope that Natalie will be here to assist.
Pablo was very helpful as well. He made sure we were comfortable and whenever we seen him he greeted us with a smile. We felt protected and secure with his assistance. Great guy! Thankful for these two. Made our vacation feel like home and we will never forget. XO

Room Tip: Our room was on the 2nd floor in the corner and the view was beautiful. Amazing palm trees covered o...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MissDay89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chauncey C, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

So nice to hear you enjoyed your visit with us! Natalie, Pablo and the team here at our hotel in the heart of South Beach's Ocean Drive loved having you here and look forward to you visiting with us again soon!

Best regards,

Chauncey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The room looked just as pictured online. I liked the decor and it was very clean. The hotel is centrally located to all of the action on South Beach. It is just two doors down from Mangos which is my favorite bar to visit on South Beach.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Le'Barron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chauncey C, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

It was wonderful having you here visiting with us, Le'Barron! Thank you for your kind observations about our fun, non-stop hotel here in the heart of South Beach's Ocean Drive. It is good to hear we were so convenient for you situated between Mangos and all that is Ocean Drive! We look forward to having you here with us again soon!

Best regards,

Chauncey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I recently stayed at Hotel Breakwater for a week and I found the staff and hotel itself AMAZING!!!! What ever I needed they were right there assisting me . I will def be returning . The location is perfect ! We were made to feel at home during our stay and it was greatly appreciated .

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tishea22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chauncey C, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

It was so wonderful to have you here visiting for a week! I am happy you had an amazing time here at our busy, fun hotel in the center of South Beach;s Ocean Drive. We look forward to having you here with us again soon!

Best regards,

Chauncey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I can't say enough positive things about our stay here! We looked at so many reviews online before booking I honestly felt overwhelmed. I don't know how many times my friend and I said "we booked the best hotel!" during our stay. The customer service of the hotel staff was above and beyond my expectations. Our room was clean, cool, and nicely furnished. A special shout-out to Natalie who truly made our stay exceptional. We had a rough journey getting to Miami (I absentmindedly left my wallet at the airport!) and when we arrived at the hotel she made everything so easy and stressfree that our trip experience turned right around. Thank you so much for such a great stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Checamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chauncey C, General Manager at Hotel Breakwater South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

It is so great to hear that Natalie and the team help turn around your vacation after leaving your cell phone! It was wonderful having you here visiting with us at our fun, entertaining hotel here in the center of South Beach's Ocean Drive. We all look forward to having you here with us again soon!

Best regards,

Chauncey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Essex House
Essex House
#55 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,884 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#44 of 210 in Miami Beach
559 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beacon South Beach Hotel
Beacon South Beach Hotel
#59 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#39 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,064 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#35 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Victor
Hotel Victor
#85 of 210 in Miami Beach
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Breakwater South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Breakwater South Beach

Address: 940 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5013
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £109 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Breakwater South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Breakwater, is a fun, bustling and entertaining historic Art Deco hotel located in the heart of South Beach's famous Ocean Drive. The hotel is a non-stop, active delight right in the center of everything that is South Beach. You'll find yourself within walking distance of a wide variety of outdoor cafes serving every style of cuisine imaginable, art galleries, night clubs, the famous Beach, the Versace Mansion, beach front walking, biking and jogging paths, world class events like the Wine and Food Festival, as well as the fabulous shops of Lincoln Road Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Breakwater South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Breakwater South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing