We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A feast for the eyes and mouth”
Review of Fung Ku

Fung Ku
Reserve with OpenTable
Fung Ku is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #194 of 1,142 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$30
Cuisines: Sushi, Chinese, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Located at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club in the heart of South Beach, Serving Asian Fusion, Sushi, Korean BBQ & Thai Cuisine. Featuring a full bar and nightly events including live music & DJ's.
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Not expecting much more than convenient food next to our hotel, we were both amazed at the quality and taste, not to mention the great passing parade on the sidewalk next to us. I've never had a better chicken sandwich or cole slaw. And my wife became a sushi fan. Really worth a try when you're in South Beach.

Thank Todd V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Fung Ku, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Good Day Todd V,

There is nothing that we love to read more then amazing 5 star feedback! We are glad that you were able to dine with us! We offer delicious Pan Asian food, at large quantities for a reasonable price! We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the chicken sandwich and the cole slaw!!! Please come back for another scrumptious meal!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

462 - 466 of 714 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

My son and I went for lunch yesterday and the patio was full so we got a table inside. We waited 10 minutes without a server coming to greet us and got up and left. Last night, after eating somewhere else, we stopped on the way back to the hotel because they had a live band outside. The atmosphere is really nice and the band was really good (they have bands almost every night). The service was good, but slow. The drinks are super expensive! $12 a pop for Grey Goose (he asked for their house vodka - aka, a WELL drink). Frangelico, $10 each, Crown Royal $12. Every place on the island adds 17 or 18% gratuity on to every bill, so just check and be aware that they do this so you're not adding another 15-20% on top of that. we had 3 drinks each and our check was $86. A little pricey...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank CulinaryExplorer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Fung Ku, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Good Afternoon ChefCookieD,

We value all of our guests feedback and would like to thank you for sharing yours with us! Thank you for coming to have lunch with us! I am extremely sorry to read that you were not provided with outstanding customer service! We do add gratuity here but it is not mandatory. You can simply cross it out and put what you feel was deserved.

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

This little place, in front of the Dorcet, is very close to the beach. Service is ok. I had to ask 3 different people for a glass of water, each of whom tried to sell me another mojito. Food was good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sitogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Fung Ku, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Hello there sitogirl,

Thank you for sharing your honest feedback regarding your recent experience at FUNG KU! I am terribly sorry that our customer service was not amazing. We strive on providing the outstanding customer service, so it pains us to read that is not what you were given! I will make sure that the General Manager is aware, so that it never happens again! We are glad that you were content with our food.

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

A group of friends went for dinner to this great place last week. The mojitos are outstanding. The service was fantastic - the owner graciously made us an amazing shot of tequila + rose to start our evening....on the house! Great ambiance. We sat outside and enjoyed the live dj spinning some classic tracks! Wonderful place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GabyInTheCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Fung Ku, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Hello there GabyInTheCity,

Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback with us, and all of our future guests! We are extremely glad that you enjoyed our food! I see that you were given complimentary rose tequila shots! :) A great way to top your dinner off! :) We hope to have you back again soon!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We found this restaurant strolling along the blvd and since my wife is Korean and they had noodles on the menu we decided to try it out. I ordered a cucumber roll,and one serving of the octopus sushi. Both were fine but the roll that cost $16 consisted of only 5 pcs. The noodles with shrimp was woefully lacking in noodles and the wife said they were the worst noodles she has ever had. The noodle sauce was fine but there was clearly something wrong with the noodles. Although the restaurant can't control the street noise, motorcycles and cars with loud boom boxes also detracted from the atmosphere. This was a Saturday nite. We would not recommend this restaurant.

Thank tdeclue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Fung Ku, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Good Evening tdeclue,

We value all of our guests feedback and would like to thank you for sharing yours with us, and all of our future guests! We apologize that you and your wife did not enjoy our food. I will definitely make sure to inform the chef about your comment regarding the noodles! Unfortunately we cannot control the noise from the street or sidewalk therefore we offer seating inside, for our guests to enjoy.

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Fung Ku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing