We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissatisfied with Managements response to 2 issues”
Review of Villa Italia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Italia Hotel
Ranked #72 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Dissatisfied with Managements response to 2 issues”
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

I agree with others who state it is a good location, away from Ocean Drive madness & close to the beach. The room was clean & I liked the fact that you could obtain a chair/towel for the beach although you do pay a "resort" fee. What I did NOT like is the fact that the volume on the tv worked intermittently on some channels & did not work at all on the one channel I wanted to watch. I also did NOT like the giant cockroach I had to kill in the bathroom. Managements response to these issues was a $12.95 credit (I'm offended) and telling us it's the end of the month & the exterminators are due to come again. I was really disappointed with the response to these issues especially with the cost of the room during the time I stayed.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank FruGlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kgera, Manager at Villa Italia Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for choosing Villa Italia Hotel as your destination in Miami Beach, FL. Your three night stay at our hotel was during Miami music week (Ultra Festival) thus prices do fluctuate to reflect the highly demanded travel dates. Throughout your stay; both yourself & friend enjoyed beach towels, beach chair, daily complimentary continental breakfast, local & toll free dialing, wired & Wi-Fi internet throughout the property and luggage storage.

On the 2nd night of your stay, your IonTelevision channel (18) of the 400 plus premium channels we offer was experiencing technical problems. We immediately identified the issue to be contained to that respective channel eclusively. We immediately contacted our cable provider and had them working on the issue in a matter of minutes from the time we first heard of the problem. Please understand your channel volume issue was not overlooked and our staff was proactive in creating a service order to resolve the neighborhood-wide cable issue affecting that channel. Our evening front desk manager extended to you resort credit for the inconvenience you endured of not being able to watch your favorite channel while visiting the world Famous Miami Beach while attending Music concerts.

As to your allegation of finding a roach, firstly let me assure you we have weekly insecticides treatment spraying by Terminex to prevent such accidents, secondly the desk manager on duty informed you that insect was a simple sand ant and most likely was brought in via beach towel, bag or personal possessions and finally every room is double checked daily by our housekeeping staff and housekeeping manager to ensure cleanliness as this is something we pride ourselves on.

Throughout your stay your entire party constantly mentioned that they were enjoying their stay and your travel partner actually complemented the hotel for its cleanliness, customer service and attentiveness. Our front desk is staffed 24-Hours for guest service and security. When you checked-out at 5am for your airport shuttle nothing was told to our front desk agent and you left HAPPY!

Our dedicated team strives to meet, anticipate and exceed customer expectations! WE hope you choose Villa Italia Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    175
    42
    12
    4
See reviews for
99
244
28
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

My friends and I had a misunderstanding about the number of ppl in a room & they called the police on us. We won't be going back, if you go a lil further north rooms are much cheaper. Not for Spring Breakers. The breakfast was cheap (pastries, juice, etc.)

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Salena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kgera, Owner at Villa Italia Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for choosing Villa Italia Hotel during your recent spring Break.

The situation that arose was not one of misunderstanding but your deliberate attempt to avoid a very specific and important hotel policy. You booked a single double bed guest room that has MAXIMUM occupancy of ONLY 4 and your respective reservation indicated ONLY 2 people.

Both nights the hotel manager along with the day time manager informed about hotel policies; policy requires all registered guests to be registered for the safety and security of all other hotel guests. Over the course of several conversations you adamantly denied and mentioned that there were only 2 guests.

After giving you several warnings, you deliberately lied and attempted to deceit the hotel management; we were forced to contact police to assist us in removing non-registered guests since they were trespassing and we must strive to protect all hotel patrons and cannot allow unauthorized visitors on property.

Hotels have a maximum number of allowable guests as per fire code and this is strictly enforced especially during high volume weekends such as spring break. This was also reiterated to all 6 guests that attempted to occupy the room by the police officer who responded. He additionally said that any fire code violation by the fire Marshall will cause all other rooms to vacate and need new housing. This was nothing specially aimed at your group but just Miami Beach Building Policy regulation.

In regards to the staff; our staff tried numerous times to align ourselves to you while on vacation and were constantly lied too. As a private property we have the right to refuse service to any hotel guest once there is a rule infraction; thus the police officers could have removed all 6 people and no refund would have been issued. However the manager on duty though he was lied to on numerous occasions found the sympathy to allow you and upwards of 3 people enjoy the room.

In regards to the complementary continental breakfast; it is FREE and in no way meant to substitute a fine dining experience at one of our many wonderful restaurants. It simply a hot cup pf coffee, espresso, cappuccino or mochaccino beverage to enjoy along with fresh bagels, pastries, juice, milk, cereal and yogurt to get the day started quickly so you can enjoy the beautiful Miami Beach .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed at the Villa Italia at the same time last year and when we decided to return to South Beach we had no hesitation in again staying here and we were not disappointed.

Our room (by coincidence the same one as we had last year) was spacious, clean and well furnished. Breakfast is simple but adequate . Above all the attitude, care and attention of the hotel personnel is excellent to say the least - nothing is too much bother for them.

Hotel locational is also a plus being only a couple of blocks away from the busy (and noisy) Ocean Drive and it is also near to the "150 South Beach Flyer" airport bus stops.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcrichton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stayed in the villa and it was excellent value for money and perfect for two couples.
Situated close to everything you want to experience at South Beach; Art Deco district, short walk to the beach, Ocean Drive and night life.
Good service and very good housekeeping. The hotel offers beach chairs and towels.
Hope to be back one day!

Room Tip: The villa is perfect for 2 couples or family with children
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Unni_Kristine_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We arrived hot and nauseous from a poor ride on the Super Shuttle and were devastated to find that we had not properly completed our reservation and we indeed were not in the hotel system. Fortunately Karl was most sympathetic and we were quickly given cappuccinos, snacks and their last room! The room was spacious, clean and inviting. The beach was an easy stroll away and Karl gave us lots of suggestions for sightseeing and dinner. Breakfast was lovely on the hotel patio with a good assortment of fresh food. Thank you for being so welcoming and going out of your way to make our stay so pleasant.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back and likely quieter than rooms closer to the busy front street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 894MCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
144 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed there for one night and had no major complaints but i would not go back. We asked for beach towels and were not offered any beach chairs, which was disappointing because i specifically asked whether they had any chairs on the beach. Also the next day i asked for chairs and sure enough there were some. The room was modern and very clean, but extremely bland. I also heard each step the people above our room made which was kind of annoying. Breakfast is nothing special, pretty bad coffee and a lot of pre-packed carbs, aside from some freshly baked carbs like bagels and danishes, yogurt & bananas, everything available on paper plates. Staff was not particularly friendly but nothing to complain about. They charge a hotel fee, which not all hotels in South Beach do. There are a lot worse (and better) hotels in SOBE but in the end i have no idea why they were awarded a Certificate of Excellence.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank german_in_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kgera, General Manager at Villa Italia Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Though your stay was extremely short & brief; we cordially invite you back to Villa Italia Hotel and stay longer than 1 night to experience all that Villa Italia Hotel has to offer.

Whereas many other hotel properties located on Miami Beach charge add-on fees for each service provided; we here at Villa Italia Hotel ONLY charge a low daily fee of $12.95 which includes both wired & Wi-Fi internet, local & toll free telephone dialing, premium movie channels, boarding pass printing and beach chairs & towels.

We hope you give Villa Italia Hotel another opportunity so we can show you the many reasons why we were awarded the certificate of excellence in 2 consecutive years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed for five days and could not be more satisfied. The location is perfect, just off Ocean Drive. The room was clean, spacious, with a decent king bed. Valet parking was fine, albeit sometimes a little slow (since they service other hotels as well), but for us this was no problem. The staff was very friendly. Breakfast is simple, but adequate.
Would definitely stay here again, highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Merlijn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#24 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bentley Hotel South Beach
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#73 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel St. Augustine
Hotel St. Augustine
#106 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blanc Kara
Blanc Kara
#27 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 207 in Miami Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
1.0 mi away
El Paseo Hotel
El Paseo Hotel
#29 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Italia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Italia Hotel

Property: Villa Italia Hotel
Address: 354 Washington Ave, South Beach, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6907
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#49 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#51 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#56 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Italia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Italia Hotel is Miami Beach's brand new boutique hotel, located in the heart of South Beach where everything from restaurants to nightlife are within walking distance.Our hotel features 12 uniquely furnished tranquil guestrooms and 1 magnificant Villa Suite; each comes equipped with a 42-inch LCD Television with free premium movie channels. Other in-room amenities include minibar, in-room electronic safe, soundproof system, speaker phones and conference call capability, Ipod docking stations. All our suites are equipped with large glass enclosed showers. All guestrooms have new central air conditioning and non-smoking. To ensure the quality of your stay, our signature bedding has pillow top mattresses, Egyptian cotton linens, and triple sheeting. All of our rooms at Villa Italia feature a private bathroom with shower, bathrobes, deluxe toiletries, and hair dryer. Guests can also enjoy complimentary continental breakfast, free unlimited internet (both wired & Wi-Fi), local and toll free dialing, daily newspaper, free on-demand premium movie channels, snacks & beverages throughout the day and daily beach towels & umbrellas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Villa Italia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Italia Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing