We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bait and switch” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunbrite Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Miami Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sunbrite Apartments
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bait and switch”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

Arrived at the hotel only to be shipped to the Hotel Shelley like many others. Booked through Hotwire. Ruined my plans for shoestring budget since I'm a single mom trying to have a nice vacation with her teenage daughter. The Shelley did not have a kitchen which was the main feature I needed or wi-fi in the room. The Shelley had a loud disco bar in the lobby where wi-fi was available, and the room was very small. Finally was received on my fourth night, too little, too late. Sunbrite kitchen poorly equipped, no toaster, no spatula, no dish rack. Get parking pass before renting car or use $20/night parking building nearby. Saw a guest get her rental towed.

Room Tip: complain if all you find is a salad spoon and fork set to cook with like we had
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kim155032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    42
    20
    7
    16
See reviews for
19
50
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
264 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

On June 1, 2011, I made a reservation for a 2.5 star hotel at $54.00 a night in the South Beach area of Miami. My confirmation indicated it was a studio, had wi-fi in the room, a laundry room and a fully equipped kitchen. The hotel name was "Penn Station." I went to TripAdvisor and there was no listing for a Penn Station hotel so I called Hotwire.

The representative called the hotel and advised me they changed their name to SunBrite Penn Station Apartments but everything else (including the location, amenities) remained the same. He even confirmed with the hotel that they had a room reserved for me. In fact, on 6/15, I received a follow-up email from Hotwire that stated:

"We have been informed that the Penn Station has changed its name to Sunbrite Penn Station. Please be assured that the star rating and amenities are the same. The hotel still holds your reservation and your original Hotwire itinerary confirmation with the Penn Station. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience this may cause you. Our customers are very important to us, and we would like to ensure you have the best possible experience."

So, based on this, I thought everything would be fine. I arrived at the Sunbrite Penn Station via taxi at 10:30 at night and buzzed the entrance for 20-25 minutes, pushing the "office" button. Nobody let me in. Finally a guest let me in and I asked where the reception desk was. He told me there was no reception (it was a short-term apartment rental complex) and that I had to call a local number for assistance.

I called the number and was told I had to go to 944 Washington Avenue to another hotel called the Chelsea Hotel to retrieve the key. Well, I had two heavy bags and it was a 7 block walk so I had to spend $7.00 out of my own pocket to get there. When I arrived, I was told there was no more room at the Sunbrite Penn Station and that they assigned me to another hotel called the Shelley Hotel, which was 5 blocks away and cost me another $5.00 in taxi fare.

When I got there, the hotel was nothing like the Sunbrite. The music was playing so loud that I couldn't even hear the receptionist. The rooms were not equipped with wi-fi, the room was slightly smaller than a closet and was not a studio, nor did it have the fully equipped kitchen or laundry I was expecting. Part of my trip here was for business so wi-fi was essential. To make it worse, they took my credit card to charge me a $15 resort fee (which is typical for many Miami Beach hotels).

Thankfully, after a few calls to Hotwire, they refunded me the original purchase for the Sunbrite and got me a slightly better than comparable hotel a few blocks away.

The first two days in Miami Beach were ruined because of a 'bait and switch' performed by this chain of 10 hotels which I later found operates under the name of South Beach Group (www.southbeachgroup.com).

In addition to this review, I have filed complaints with the Florida Better Business Bureau and the Miami Convention and Visitors Bureau for their highly unethical business practices as well as urging Hotwire to drop this chain as 'partner' hotels.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Matthewfromct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saugus, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

It was very spacious, great location, right near mansion night club, shuttle bus was free, very helpful, you need a code to enter which is awesome for privacy, I went there for memorial day weekend 5/28/2011, and was very impressive how neat and clean it looked, it look identical towards the pics but more beautiful and night, I highly recommend this place!!!! I loved it!!! But the beds could of been more bouncy, I like a soft bed, like as if I'm on a water bed, but this bed was okay, I was too busy partyn', to give it much thought but I just loved the area alot, near everything.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stvj2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
927 Jefferson Suites
#137 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
City Center
The Beach Plaza Hotel
The Beach Plaza Hotel
#154 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Mercury All-Suites Condo Hotel
#28 of 83 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Apartments
#35 of 83 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
City Center
South Beach Plaza Villas
South Beach Plaza Villas
#17 of 29 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Bayshore
Tradewinds Apartment Hotel
Tradewinds Apartment Hotel
#4 of 83 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunbrite Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbrite Apartments

Property: Sunbrite Apartments
Address: 1330 Pennsylvania Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4005
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 83 Speciality Lodging in Miami Beach
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunbrite Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sunbrite Apartments. These superb, fully furnished accommodations offer immaculate design and that amazing location you’ve been searching for. Designed for the long term traveler in mind, the Sunbrite offers 47 fully functional studio and one bedroom units anxiously waiting to be your next home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunbrite Apartments Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing