We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ritz delivered”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
Ranked #31 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 July 2009

The Ritz has a great location. Rooms and general facilties were very nice. We never ate dinner at the restaurants but did have lunch and breakfast there and it was very good. Prices are slightly expensive but it's not ridiculous. )Check out the Delano for ridiculous price) Remember this is South Beach and this is a first rate hotel so if you want cheap you're being unreasonable. The pool and beach are great and we really felt the Pool staff and their director Chris were eager to make everyone's day enjoyable. I do agree that charging $20 for an umbrella is dumb at a high end resort like this. It's a nuisance fee in my opinion and rubs most guest the wrong way. People are more conscious now of the harmful effects of the sun so umbrella's on the beach should just be given out to everyone who asks. The other small negative was the Kids club. It's small and is more a baby sitting service with only a few activities. They charge $20/hour/child.
Overall though we enjoyed our stay and would certainly return.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USand4kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,185)
There are newer reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,237 - 2,243 of 3,187 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2009

Spent a few days at the hotel with my husband for romantic escape. Got a deal on AAA that was supposed to include oceanview balcony room, champagne, valet parking, and breakfast. Ok...checking in was smooth, took car and bags, got us to room quickly. Room was big but faded, lots of wear and tear. We had a balcony, but it overlooked the pool, just a slice of ocean in the distance. Had lunch at DeLido's...food was good, but server acted like he was too busy to help us, and it wasn't very crowded there. Beach nice, but they charge $21 for umbrella?? Drink service at beach spotty, had to chase down server and drinks took a while and were warm on arrival. Brunch at hotel awful...overpriced and servers were terrible!!! They didn't help us for 15 minutes since we were getting buffet...had to wave one down just to get water and coffee...the they charge 18% tip?!? Bed comfortable, room quiet. Maid service terrible...room not made up until 5 pm and had to call back for more towels. The rub? Day of checkout, at 11:45 am maid service calls about charging us late checkout, even though checkout is noon! And our bill had over $200 extra charges....charged us double 2 days in a row for beac umbrellas! Charged us for things included in our package like parking and champagne. Not very impressed, not Ritz service!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank schmoopybadoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2009

Stayed here 5 nights. The service was amazing! Great Food! All the staff were
helpful and polite. They would go out of their way for anything.
Lovely pool, great beach!
Concierge was great!!
If you are looking for a 5 star hotel, this is it!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

Went with husband, 3 year old daughter and our nanny for 5 nights for a mini get away (we are from tri-state area -Fairfield County, CT- and pretty darned picky about service levels). Absolutely no complaints. Check-in was at 4pm, one room was ready, second room ready about 25 minutes later, so all-in-all things went smoothly. We had Club Level rooms and were very pleased with that choice. Service was impeccable. Staff very friendly and accommodating. We did not have any hidden incidental fees as another reviewer noted; actually we did notice that 2 extra waters were on our bill for in-room mini bar, when we called that in, guest services removed the extra charges with no questions asked. Pool great for the little one, beach side and poolside service very friendly and service was timely. We plan to go back again for some RnR!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rock_the_Fez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

Excellent beach side hotel. My travel agent messed up our reservation when the hotel was in a sold out state. The front desk did a very good job of rectifying the situation (it wasnt easy) . They went beyond the call of duty which was refreshing to see. We stayed on the club level which was very nice with good food/beverage presentations. Very close to lincoln road and ocean drive. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2009
Thank mille125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2009

We brought international travelers to the Ritz for absolutely the best.. That's what they wanted and that is what they got .These investors are wealthy business execs. who were so impressed with this 5 Star. We will be returning in August for another week of business meetings. Could not have had a more wonderful stay. Clean, excellent wait-staff and beautiful. 5 Stars well deserved.

Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
Thank allbusinessLA_Cal_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2009

We had one night in Miami at the end of our honeymoon. We booked the Ritz Carlton South Beach for its location and because Ritz Carlton's are known for being elegant.

When we checked in, we were given great service by the reception and by the bellman. The lobby of the Ritz is very beautiful and modern. We booked a lanai pool room. It had a nice very and the bathroom was very nice with a marble bath and Bulgari products. The room itself was good, but not great. I guess I had expected something very unique for a Ritz, but it seemed more like a beefed up Marriott.

The location of the Ritz is great. It is just down the street from great hotel bars, such as the Delano and the Shore Club (Skybar). We went to both and they were great. We also went to the bar at the Fountainebleau which was an incredible experience. It is also nice being at the foot of Lincoln Road, which has lots of great outdoor restaurants.

We tried the room service at the Ritz for breakfast, which was good but overpriced.

We only stayed one night, but we did get a nice taste of South Beach. It is a great, fun location. It is overpriced, but that goes with being in South Beach, at a nice hotel. I would recommend this hotel to others, but I think next time I go to South Beach, I'd probably look for a more unique hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadwarrior101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#14 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,588 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#54 of 210 in Miami Beach
6,804 reviews
The Miami Beach EDITION
#12 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Setai
#6 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,095 reviews
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#24 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,417 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#17 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach

Address: 1 Lincoln Road, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2000
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#33 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £251 - £671 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach exudes an air of modern sophistication with elegantly appointed guest rooms that draw inspiration from the azure waters of the Atlantic Ocean, South Florida’s golden sandy beaches and the vibrance of South Beach. An oceanfront, restored 1953 Art Moderne building, The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach boasts a $3 million contemporary art collection featuring established and emerging artists and beckoning visitors to an oasis of luxury. Whether you crave a day of soaking up sunshine, water adventures, artistic experiences, the area’s best shopping or dining and nightlife, you’ll discover an unparalleled South Beach experience. New enhancements at The Ritz-Carlton Spa also offer guests a private oasis to relax and unwind with signature ESPA treatments, while a reimagined Ritz-Carlton Club® Level lounge feature elevated views of the Atlantic Ocean, along with signature cocktails, flavorable bites and a dedicated Club Concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Ritz Miami Beach
Miami Beach Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing