We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful, knowledgeable staff and a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Ranked #24 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Helpful, knowledgeable staff and a great location”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We really enjoyed the hotel and the staff. The location is excellent - close to Nikki beach and the South Beach promenade but far enough away to avoid the crowds and the noise. Ideal for the short break that we took and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montblanc07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chauncey350, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for kind words regarding our staff and hotel! It was great having you here with us. I look forward to your next visit with us in the near future!

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    738
    376
    91
    17
    13
See reviews for
184
634
68
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Great hotel! Awesome art deco from lobby to room. The staff in the lobby were freakishly nice. Some of the staff wore fake smiles and personalities but it didn't bother me. Overall everyone was super friendly. Richard the bellman was awesome. Don't know if they need a bell service for every guest considering there are only 4 floors with an elevator lol. People gotta make tip somehow yeah? Room was fantastic. Fitness room sucks. Only 4 cardio machines but who works out in south beach right? Lol. Bottom line: BEST BUDGET FRIENDLY HOTEL.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chauncey350, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
It was great having you here with us! Thank you for your kind comments and observations. We are always seeking ways to provide excellent service to our guests. I hope to have you here with again soon in the near future.

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013

If you are in Miami South Beach do yourself a favor and visit Lord Balfour for a cocktail or two. The quality of their drinks and service are outstanding!
We have tried a few cocktails mixed by Preston who really made us feel welcome (although we did not stay at Lord Balfour) and in a way made me regret not booking our stay at this hotel - we went for nearby Marriott instead.
The person who designed/created the cocktail list definitely knew what they were doing. Notice quality of ingredients being used (starting from the sugar syrup, ice cubes, organic juices and sodas etc), great bar staff skills, tools and presentation as well as flawless customer service skills.
Whoever is in charge of HR - great job on staff selection, keep it up!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZeGnrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chauncey350, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for your kind word about your experience in the Lord Balfour Bar! It is a wonderful cocktail program prepared by a knowledgeable staff. We look forward to having you back again soon.

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Wow, just got back from a long weekend 2 weeks ago and stayed at Lord Balfour, I Read all the reviews of this new hotel before booking and decided to give a try.
This is so nice to see customer service still exist in North America, Cree the Manager was really helpful and all the staff during my 4 days stay.
My favorite and most amazing staff member was Amaury..... just WOW, Great Job!!! Lord Balfour is lucky to have such amazing guy working there.
I suggested this hotel to 2 friends and they already booked it for the liberty weekend and I am thinking to go back at this hotel really soon....
Again Great Job, Design/Space/Location/Bed/and all the ETRO Bath Product!
See you soon LB.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanalaintoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chauncey350, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
It was wonderful to have you visit with us! Thank you for your kind words and observations. I am looking forward to having you here with us again in the near future.

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington Hills, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My wife and I stay there for two night last week, the hotel located a street away from the beach and a street away from the loud crowd of ocence drive. It is very quiet at night. The hotel room is very stylish and clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeiFai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chauncey350, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
It was great having you here with us! Thank you for your kind words. We appreciated you choosing to visit with us. I look forward to having you with us again in the near future.

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed here for a single night in mid-August and found this newly-renovated hotel to be a real gem. It is about a block south of the southern edge of the Art Deco District, which means you are next to everything but not on top of it... The weekend chaos can be really loud - we had fun participating in it and then walking back to this pristine hotel for a good night's sleep.

The rooms are funky and well outfitted. No pool, but a great continental breakfast was included.

We really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DinoTheDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chauncey350, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
It was great to have you here with us! Thank you for your kind remarks. I look forward to having your visit with us again in the near future!

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

In July we stayed in Miami Beach for 2 nights as part of a 17 day trip around Florida (and a bit of Georgia). The trip was amazing with so much packed in to it and we stayed at about half a dozen hotels along the way. On arriving in Miami Beach it was easy to find the Lord Balfour and pulling up we were greeted at the front door by the concierge who was very attentive and welcoming. Immediately I was struck by how well decorated the hotel was in the lobby, with a lot of time being spent to make it feel classy but not intimidating. Check in was smooth and when asking for some advice on where to eat in the evening we were recommended a couple of places (the one we chose, Monty's, was excellent).

The rooms were superb, well decorated, clean, luxurious and extremely comfortable. The complementary bright orange slippers and bath robe were an extra nice touch.

Miami South Beach is a two minute walk from the from the front door and the hotel gave us beach towels to use whilst there, yet another very convenient touch. All in all the hotel was very good.

The hotel had only been operating 3 weeks when we stayed there and inevitably there were a couple of teething issues. Our shower had a slight problem which meant from time to time it did't want to turn on. The air con was quiet but did sound like someone breathing, which at first was a little strange, but it didn't keep us awake. Also, the breakfast buffet was a bit sparse and uninspiring. Finally, the car service had a slight problem and tended to take a while, but that wasn't a problem as I lounged around on the very comfortable sofa on the veranda while I waited.

I would definitely recommend staying here. The teething issues will no doubt be solved by now and the hotel is worth every penny and a lot more besides. You will love it.

Room Tip: The King beds are a must. Beautifully comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chauncey350, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you for your kind words and observations! It was great having you here with us. I appreciate your comments. We are always striving to provide great service. I look forward to having you visit with us again in the near future.

Best regards,

Chauncey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#40 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,029 reviews
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 208 in Miami Beach
406 reviews
Pelican Hotel
#31 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hotel of South Beach
#21 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,704 reviews
The Marlin Hotel
#9 of 208 in Miami Beach
456 reviews
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#22 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Lord Balfour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Lord Balfour

Property: Room Mate Lord Balfour
Address: 350 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6905 (Formerly The Wave Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Lord Balfour 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Miami Beach and meet Room Mate Lord Balfour, an Art Deco hotel inspired in XX Century Art with a modern twist. Situated right by the beach, just a few steps walk from Lummus Park, the hotel has a privileged location in the Art Deco District of Miami Beach. Breakfast till noon, gym, free Wi-Fi, private courtyard garden is also on site, amenities in room, multilingual staff available 24 hours and everything you need to feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Room Mate Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Room Mate Lord Balfour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Balfour Hotel Miami Beach
Wave Hotel Miami Beach
Room Mate Lord Balfour Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing