We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, Chic & Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Ranked #24 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Modern, Chic & Great Location”
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located in a great location on Ocean Dr. This is a great boutique hotel. All staff were very helpful and consistently friendly. Everything is new and very clean. Beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was very clean & well designed for its size. The continental breakfast was great. Delicious pastries, a selection of bagels, toast, yogurt, fruit, coffee & tea. Great atmosphere while eating breakfast in the atrium enjoying the modern art. The court yard was very nice too. Loved that the staff took the time to explain the art work in the hotel.
The beach is only a 2 minute walk across the street. Great restaurants near by, Prime 112, Prime Italian & Joe's Stone Crab. I will definitely being stay here again the next time I visit Miami and I have already recommended the Lord Balford to friends.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
broqui2000, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you for your very complementary review and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor, and recommending the Lord Balfour to your friends. We're glad you enjoyed our comfy beds, unique artwork, breakfast, and of course the wonderful staff. We can't wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    766
    391
    94
    17
    14
See reviews for
195
656
71
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Picked up on this place from tripadvisor reviews. I wanted a location close to 5th street and the beach so it was perfect. Staff was great! I have not received costumer service to that level in awhile. Rooms where very nice! Try this place out it will be worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifevalues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
broqui2000, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review so that other TripAdvisor members can get good guidance when planning their hotel just as you did. We're glad you had a great stay. Please come back again soon. Your room is ready!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

New Design Hotel, perfect for a stay in Miami South Beach, be it for business or vacation: very chic rooms with everything you need also for a few days stay (e.g. ironing board), really good complimentary breakfast, in the center close to the beach/at Ocean Drive but in a more quiet area - and not to forget, truly lovely staff, always helpful and friendly. There is no swimming pool, but as the beach is only one block away that's not an issue.
I will definitely be back when in Miami Beach!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schokoladeneis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
broqui2000, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience and acknowledging our "lovely, friendly and helpful" staff. We're glad you had a great stay and look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here after a cruise. We arrived way before check in and the staff was more then willing to accommodate us with anything that we needed. We were able to leave our bags and explore Miami while we were waiting for a king room to become available we were offered double beds that were available check into as soon as we arrived. The concierge was very helpful in finding us interesting things to do. The rooms were a little small but were designed well and had interesting little touches that made it not seem as small. I would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
broqui2000, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
We really appreciate you sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor world, acknowledging Dilip our awesome Concierge and the unique design. We're here waiting for you to come back and visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Great location just across the street from the beach, friendly staff, and new/clean furnishings. Also it included continental breakfast of excellent pastries, bagels/toast, yogurt and a fruit (could use more selection of fruit as usually one 1 type per day and had to wait as it was often all gone); thought this was a good value but notice lots of restaurants in the area have $5 breakfasts, so not really important.

Unfortunately the walls were paper-thin and could hear our neighbours music every evening as well as them talking when they arrived home at 4 and 5am. I am surprised the security staff doesn't enforce quiet time with such paper-thin walls. Also a bit annoyed having to wait on ice, even when we went down to bar to request some we were always told to go back to our room and wait... guess they're looking for extra tips. Lastly, a pool or hot tub would be nice as the ocean is too cold most of the winter to swim in.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DnpJnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
broqui2000, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for your review. We're pleased you had an overall good experience, and really appreciate the comments relating to the breakfast, the noise from the neighboring room and the ice delivery. I'm sure offering to deliver the ice was just to provide a great service and not to solicit tips but something we should certainly be conscious of. Thanks again, and we hope to have you back at the Lord Balfour again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Wonderful staying in this Art and Design-Hotel, little but with all conforts, top location, very quite but near Ocean Drive nord, when you can find all attractions: restaurants, bars, clubs, etc
Near to the beach and to the best restaurants in South Beach.
The staff is international, all languages spoken, expecially italian, because the Director (Mr Patak) is italian and he's super kind and attentive to all your needs!!!
Top breackfast and service!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
broqui2000, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
We're glad you had a wonderful stay, and thank you for recognizing Dilip Patak, our amazing Concierge. We hope to see you back again soon to do it all again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 December 2013

LB's sales manager Lilian finally got me!!
And what a treat... A beautiful and stylish oasis of calm away from the mess that is SoBe, especially during Art Basel.
Drinks policy is a bit odd (we had to go find our Bloody Marys elsewhere) but apart from that we were super-impressed with the decor and service, and despite being at the south end of South Beach, most of the places we wanted to go were within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANDR01D77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
broqui2000, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Lord Balfour and you found a nice retreat from the bustle of Art Basel week. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon - with Bloody Marys!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#41 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,052 reviews
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#2 of 208 in Miami Beach
452 reviews
Blanc Kara
#27 of 208 in Miami Beach
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Marlin Hotel
#8 of 208 in Miami Beach
481 reviews
The Hotel of South Beach
#21 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,741 reviews
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#22 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Lord Balfour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Lord Balfour

Property: Room Mate Lord Balfour
Address: 350 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6905 (Formerly The Wave Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Lord Balfour 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Miami Beach and meet Room Mate Lord Balfour, an Art Deco hotel inspired in XX Century Art with a modern twist. Situated right by the beach, just a few steps walk from Lummus Park, the hotel has a privileged location in the Art Deco District of Miami Beach. Breakfast till noon, gym, free Wi-Fi, private courtyard garden is also on site, amenities in room, multilingual staff available 24 hours and everything you need to feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Room Mate Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Room Mate Lord Balfour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Balfour Hotel Miami Beach
Wave Hotel Miami Beach
Room Mate Lord Balfour Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing