We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Ranked #24 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Farnham Common, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good boutique hotel”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We have just returned from spending four nights at Lord Balfour. I had researched hotels thoroughly prior to choosing a place to stay stay and I have to say we were really happy with our choice.

I echo most people's sentiments. It is near to, but not in, the action. Sometimes you just need a break from the noise. It is a short walk from 5th street, the beach is across the road. There are towels provided free. Our corner room on 4th floor (419) was really quiet - I did not hear the marathon runners run past. You will hear people staying in the neighboring rooms, though! We used the 'tiny' gym but it was adequate, 4 machines and a tv. In fact, tiny could be used a lot here. The bathroom in particular. Space is at a premium and every inch was used, but the shower was good. The bed and especially the pillows were extremely comfortable. After all, who comes to Miami Beach to stay in the room apart from to sleep?

Breakfast was perfectly adequate, berries, fruit, yogurt, pastries and toast and really good coffee. There is no restaurant, but there are so many choices nearby, our favourite was A Fish Called Avalon on 7th and Ocean Drive, slightly more sophisticated than many others.

A negative was the Internet as it kept dropping. It is free, but not very good at all.

I understand that valet parking is expensive as it is everywhere in SoBe.

There was a vast mix of people staying here, from families with young children (many Italians) to young couples and older groups.

There is a very useful local South Beach Bus which goes around a large part of the island (nearest was Washington and 4th) and it only costs 25cents. It is pretty frequent and we took it many times over the four days we spent here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthiegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Ruthiegee
I appreciate you taking your time to write a review about our hotel. We will have our own Restaurant in the upcoming months and we would love to have you back to try it out. Keep an eye on our website and Facebook page for news and events here at Lord Balfour South Beach.
Kind Regards, Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    716
    370
    89
    17
    12
See reviews for
178
623
63
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of December. We would normally give a better review if it weren't for one major annoyance. The walls are paper thin! Both nights we endured what we thought was a teenage wrestling team practicing above our room. Not to mention, our room was right next to housekeeping's storage closet. Both mornings we could hear them opening and closing the door and digging through their cleaning products as if they were in the same room.
The room and bathroom are rather small, however the appointments are very nice. The bed was comfortable and we loved the shower and bath products.
The staff was lovely, and in all fairness, they were very accommodating and dealt the with noise above us when we complained.
We enjoyed delicious cocktails at the lobby bar as well as the continental breakfast every morning.
I would love to have given a better review, but the noisy rooms would prevent me from ever staying here again.

Room Tip: Definitely request a room on the top floor to avoid the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlushed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Wanderlushed;
I apologize for the noisy neighbors and for the noise caused by our Housekeepers. As you mentioned, the Front Desk staff dealt with the first issue and the second I will handle personally with the Housekeeping Manager, it is a training issue and I am glad you brought it up. Please give us a second chance the next time you come to South Beach.
Regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The staff were very professional and friendly. Great vibe as soon as you enter the front doors. Very eclectic decor and a treat for those who enjoy modern art. Our room was comfortable and clean. The hotel supplied beach towels, chairs and umbrella. A very nice complimentary continental breakfast every morning. Great location away from the loud main strip. Walkable to a lot of restaurants and shopping. The only parts that were not so great, size of bath room (very small), very thin walls (I could hear the person in the next room snoring and I hear the housekeeping getting out supplies in the closet in the a.m.) and now fan in bathroom so there was steam and moisture in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Don't select room 218 (next to housekeeping closet)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear E C
Thank you for your review, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us for the most part, sorry we didn’t meet your expectations 100% this time. I appreciate your feedback about the Housekeeping, these comments allow us to review our processes and improve our products and services. Thanks you for choosing the Lord Balfour for your stay in Miami and I hope to see you soon.
Mauricio Martins – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This hotel is new, nice and with a perfect location. Just a few blocks away from all the action but close enough to get there with a small walk.

The staff is very kind and always ready to assist you. The housekeeping service is very efficient: once you leave your room will be immediately serviced and you´ll find it very clean.

The room we had was comfortable and with a beautiful decoration. Just one negative comment: I found the bathroom size very just. I wonder how overweight people can fit in there?

We stayed at the top floor for five nights and had a very pleasant stay. Just the last night, the room next door was occupied and we could hear all the conversations and movements going on there. Fortunately they had our same sleep pattern so that didn’t change our overall impression of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucreciaBVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear LucreciaBVH
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Lord Balfour Miami and we thank you for your kind comments about our staff. Please think of us in your next trip to Miami.
Mauricio Martins – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We spent a few nights here back in December. Having trawled online through much more expensive hotels which didn't look half as nice I was so happy to find a lovely little boutique hotel. On arrival it didn't disappoint. The décor is really innovative, in a good way, and great to see them showcasing art in the bar / lobby area.
All the staff were very friendly & quickly moved us to another room once we realised we'd been given an adjoining room (still scarred from past adjoining rooms).
The rooms themselves aren't particulary big but they make up for it in the décor. Same with the bathrooms, and the air con was very efficient, a must in Miami Beach.
There's no restaurant on site but they do provide a nice cold buffet breakfast & there's plenty of places to eat within a stone's throw.
The location was great too, at the quieter end of South Beach away from the tourist traps.
Would definitely visit again & recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleMumbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in January 2014. Overall, we were very happy with the hotel and it's flawless location. They don't have a pool, but will give you free passes to Nikki Beach just down the street.

The decor is a wonderfully upscale-quirky, with original modern artwork all around. The rooms are small but fine, and have comfortable beds with fabulous sheets. The tattooed girl wall mural is great! The bathroom is the smallest that I have every seen. Like, miniature. We had up and down internet issues in our room the whole time...it kept dropping off. The hotel has a lovely little courtyard in the back, and is in SoFi, where its a three minute walk to the action, but you don't have to try and sleep in it!

Breakfast is overall very good, but it is starches (breads, pastries), fruits (differs daily, from bananas to berries), and low-cal yogurt--hardboiled eggs would have been nice. The coffee is good and strong.

The staff is very pleasant, capable, and professional, and the concierge Dilip Pathak is a rock star! He is wonderfully groomed, happy, helpful, and so very friendly. He knows everything about the whole area! You can tell that he loves his job. He is quick to offer you discount cards to not only South Beach restaurants , but also to the Sawgrass Mills Outlets. He chats with the guests regularly, and is always interested in everyone. A true gentleman.

The only downside here is the parking. It is $35+tx per day. Ouch. It takes a long time for them to bring you your car (20 - 30 mins) but I don't know where they are stored, One small block north is a lot for a small hotel that will let you park there for $25 flat per day with in and out privileges if you take it for 4 or more days.

Overall, this hotel is great, and we are glad that we stayed there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleMy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

As most of the deco hotels in South Beach, these rooms are small. The area is also noisy. That's about the only negative about this place. It's in a great spot, clean, comfortable beds. The included Continental breakfast is a nice touch. I would stay here again, just ask for a larger room in a quiet location.

Room Tip: ask for a larger room in a quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler_N0t_T0urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for staying with us and for your comments. The Lord Balfour occupies a landmark property from 1940’s totally restored and brought back to all its glamour and elegance, however back then rooms were smaller than what we are accustomed to today. Our Architect did a great job in making our rooms very efficient and comfortable even with space restrictions. We hope to see you again soon.
Mauricio Martins – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#45 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 207 in Miami Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
The Hotel of South Beach
#21 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pelican Hotel
#28 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#22 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,304 reviews
The Marlin Hotel
#8 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Lord Balfour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Lord Balfour

Property: Room Mate Lord Balfour
Address: 350 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6905 (Formerly The Wave Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Lord Balfour 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Miami Beach and meet Room Mate Lord Balfour, an Art Deco hotel inspired in XX Century Art with a modern twist. Situated right by the beach, just a few steps walk from Lummus Park, the hotel has a privileged location in the Art Deco District of Miami Beach. Breakfast till noon, gym, free Wi-Fi, private courtyard garden is also on site, amenities in room, multilingual staff available 24 hours and everything you need to feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Room Mate Lord Balfour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Balfour Hotel Miami Beach
Wave Hotel Miami Beach
Room Mate Lord Balfour Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing