We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Sense Beach House(Miami Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Ocean Five Hotel(Miami Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Harrison Hotel(Miami Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel St. Augustine(Miami Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Julia Hotel(Miami Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Fritz Hotel(Miami Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Villa Italia Hotel(Miami Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,487)
Filter reviews
1,487 results
Traveller rating
887
448
108
23
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
887
448
108
23
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean drivesouth beachsouth endbeach towelscontinental breakfastboutique hotelperfect locationresort feequiet areagreat boutiquesmall bathroomnikki beachan umbrellanight lifeart decochairs and umbrellastwo blocks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
754 - 759 of 1,487 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I have been trying to cancel my reservation for days.
Reservations tells me they can not do it and I must contacty the front desk. The frent desk Never answers there phone? I have sent several Emails and no one responds?

There is now a charge on my Credit card as of February 16th? Wasn't supposed to be at the Hotel until the 17th?

apparenlty they will take a reservation but you are not allowed to cancel...and yu will be charged.

scam

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank VonDutch007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear VonDutch007
I am sorry, but I researched reservations, no-show charges and telephone issues and did not find anything that would support your allegations. Our phones are working fine, our Reservations Department can cancel any reservation within the cancellation window stated on the confirmation we send and we did not charge any no-show for the specified date. Contact me directly if you have any additional information that would help solving this issue.
Mauricio Martins - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Our first impression of the hotel was marred by the fact that they couldn't find the reservation that we had made via their web site. It was sorted out reasonably quickly but we later saw some other people apparently having a similar problem with their reservation. The hotel clearly spent a lot on design and our first impression was that the designer did a superb job. The check-in, bar and breakfast area on the ground floor have a great atmosphere and we were seduced into having a couple of cocktails in the bar. The location of the hotel is great with a wide range of restaurants within easy walking distance. Our room was nicely designed but very small, but this is South Beach so you don't expect a huge room. However it would have been nice if the room design had left somewhere to put your luggage. The bed was very comfortable but overnight we discovered that the designer clearly didn't understand the need for noise insulation. We were woken 3 times by people talking in the corridor and once by noise from the room upstairs. It wasn't people shouting or any thing like that, just, for example, some people saying goodbye to their friends at 5am before they went to the airport. The walls don't seem to have any noise insulation in them as we could hear every word very clearly. The complementary continental breakfast in the morning was fine, but maybe it could be more innovative to match the innovative design of the hotel. The only other problem that we encountered during our stay was a wait of nearly half an hour for the valet to deliver our car. The hotel management needs to consider using a different valet company.

Room Tip: Unless you can sleep through noise, ask for a room on the top floor and as far from the elevators as possible.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike-Bucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Mike-Bucks ;
Thank you for you comments about your stay with us. I understand your frustration about being awaken by your neighbors at night and in the early hours, my apologies for the inconvenience. Our staff is trained to respond quickly in situations like this as we want to provide all our guest with a relaxing room to recover from the day activities. I am also working closely with our Valet company in order to bring more efficiency to the car delivery process. We appreciate that you stayed with and took the time to write this review.
Mauricio Martins - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I could not fault our recent stay at the Lord Balfour in December. The staff were great and the complimentary breakfasts were more than enough for my hungry teenagers.
The position is in a quiet area but is within easy walking distance to the Collins Ave shopping area (5 mins) and also to the many Art Deco bars & Restaurants along Ocean Dr.
We hired bikes from the city cycle stand about 1 block away and rode around South Beach looking at the Art Deco buildings and rode up to the 17th Mall.
We loved all the quirky art around the hotel and the "hand" soap holder in the shower was a novelty. Rooms are a little small for 4 people but everything was comfy and clean. Besides we were only in our room to sleep so space wasn't an issue.
Only 2 blocks away is a bus stop to get around everywhere. Caught the bus to the NBA Miaimi Heat game.
Look forward to returning one day!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank teddy_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear teddy_tourist :
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel during your visit to Miami, I know you came a long way from "down under" and I am glad the Lord Balfour South Beach did not disappoint.
We sure hope to see you soon!
Mauricio Martins - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My husband and I just returned from a long weekend at the Lord Balfour - we're 30-somethings, newly married, and were looking for a relatively easy escape from the miserable North-Eastern winter. We had a great time relaxing in SoBe and the Lord Balfour was a huge part of that! It is located in a quieter area, which we appreciated, and near South Pointe Park, which we also liked. The staff at LB, as other reviewers have mentioned, were amazing, kind, and the best part of the experience - special thanks to Richard and Jose! A close second was the location - a wonderful, peaceful section of the beach is right across the street, and we got beach chairs, towels and umbrellas which were such great perks! Breakfast was simple and good - always some fresh fruit and awesome coffee, which are really my two requirements, so I was very happy. And we loved our room - the decor is funky and fun, and we thought it seemed spacious, though we are used to city living, city hotels, etc., so maybe folks used to different types of travel would feel differently. For us it was perfect though, and we loved it! We hope to be back again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachelnt30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Rachelnt30:
Thank you for recognizing the services provided by our staff members, we work hard to exceed our guest's expectations and it is greatly appreciated when these efforts are acknowledged. We know the choices in South Beach are many and we thank you for choosing the Lord Balfour.
Mauricio Martins - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

fantastic hotel. we were there 2 days before our cruise and it was fantastic. service at the hotel was excellent and it was very clean. the room was a great size but the placement of the toilet was was very tight. we arrived early and the service team was gracious enough to give us a call when it was ready...

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul-Sue-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you PaulwithSusan for staying with us and for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Mauricio Martins - General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews