We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Ranked #24 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing staff”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Although we did not end up staying at this hotel I have to share my experience.

My daughter and I booked a girls' weekend trip through a third party agency. I have done extensive research choosing a hotel and decided that the LB would be perfect for our needs.

Unfortunately, when we arrived the hotel did not have our reservation (as the agency did not actually notify them) and they were also fully booked. Regardless, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Mauricio, the General Manager personally took time to contact the agency that took care of our booking to try to clear up the issue.

Even though our reservation never reached the hotel we were treated like valued guests. Mauricio spent a lot of time and effort to ensure that we are not left stranded to the extent of driving us to another hotel (he and his staff called around to check availability in other hotels). The care and support we received was something you would see from family and friends not from complete strangers. The entire staff was incredibly professional as well. Unfortunately we did not get to see a lot of this hotel, however, the lobby was beautiful and clean.

We will definitely book here again, but this time will make reservations directly through the hotel:)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judithatescold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Judithatescold;
I really appreciate your kind words, I could feel how excited you and your daughter were to be in Miami escaping from the endless winter up north. Hopefully you had a great stay at the other hotel and I sincerely hope that on your next trip to Miami Beach you will stay at the Lord Balfour. Please contact me directly and I will take care of your reservation this time.
Warm regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    754
    381
    93
    17
    14
See reviews for
188
647
70
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Perfect location within a short walk of the madness further along Ocean Drive, close to some excellent restaurants and shopping.

Rooms as mentioned are compact compared to some resort hotels but more than adequate for the time you spend in them. Housekeeping was excellent.

Check in was friendly although staff seemed new and still getting used to systems.

Beach was a few minutes walk and loungers and umbrellas available.

This would have been a five star review until we came to check out.

Firstly, additional charges for resort fees had been added to the bill which when queried were removed.

Next, having used their valet service when we arrived and not used the car at all during our 4 night stay they took 45 minutes to retrieve our vehicle after informing us that it had already been claimed.

This was due to the front desk giving the wrong ticket to the valet service, although in the front desk's defence only one member of staff was on duty and was dealing with a number of guests departing/arriving and claiming/dropping off bags and cars. For a Friday afternoon, one person on reception is just not enough.

Despite the mishap at the end of our visit we would recommend The Lord Balfour and will consider staying again when we return to South Beach.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JayneAndMatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear JayneAndMatthew;
Thank you for your review and for pointing out areas for improvement. We appreciate when guests take their time to give us positive feedback and we can better understand their needs and expectations. I am certain that on your next visit you will see improvements on both areas mentioned on your review.
Best Regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

It was great. The service is attentive and staff seem to really want to help you. Location is excellent, quiet enough to rest at and right right next to the action. Beach chairs, towels and umbrella at the beach and breakfast are part of the rates as is wireless. Valet parking worth the investment. All in all I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit south beach.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeColo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear DianeColo;
Thank you so much for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We had an incredible two day stay at the Lord Balfour. Sooo Miami Beach! The decor, the ambiance, the staff and even the Continental Breakfast made us feel as if we were at the center of of American Caribbean Art culture.

Room Tip: We were only a short flight up from the street but that was OK; the hotel is quiet since the action...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Rob K
It must have been a nice break from the winter in Canada to come to South Beach for a few days. We are glad that you chose the Lord Balfour for your stay and that you were pleased with our facilities and services.
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the rooms were nicely designed and the breakfast was just great (fresh fruit, yoghurt, buns,...). The only thing there is to say is that the sound isolation is not the best. (But this is the same in every hotel in South Beach). The location is amazing, because you're just approximately 5-10 minutes away from the Art Deco District and the beach. I highly recommend this hotel; there is no reason why you shouldn't come!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank estelle_marti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear estelle_marti:
Thank you for acknowledging our staff service in your review, we work hard to deliver great service to our guests and your kind comments are of great importance.
Please consider the Lord Balfour again on your next visit to Miami Beach.
Regards,

Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

I won a contest and this my hotel. I had never heard of it. Once I arrived the kindness and everything started. This was an awesome visit only topped off by the greatness of the staff. They new my name and talked to me everyday, helpful, friendly, just all around great. Your 1 block away from 5th St where all the night life starts so it is more peaceful at the balfour. I can not say enough good things about the staff. I will be back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Brian F
We are delighted to know that you had a great time at the Lord Balfour and our staff again made the difference. Prior to your visit you had never heard of us, now I hope you never forget! We are looking forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Miami Beach.
Regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Over the years I have stayed there and always send friends ! It was Lord Balfour, then changed to Waves and now back to Lord Balfour. Marvellous staff, marvellous breakfast, nice rooms and patio plus the great location...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kikinsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear kikinsg :
Thanks for your loyalty to our hotel, it must be interesting to see all the different phases of this historic property and we feel that we have the best product ever and still maintaining the high level of service that you have experienced over the years.
Our next improvement will be the opening of our Restaurant in a couple of months and the addition of 17 new rooms and a pool in our next door lot in the next year or so. Always keeping the hotel up-to-date.
Warm regards.
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#2 of 208 in Miami Beach
431 reviews
0.4 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#41 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,045 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Marlin Hotel
The Marlin Hotel
#9 of 208 in Miami Beach
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Hotel of South Beach
The Hotel of South Beach
#21 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,724 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#34 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blanc Kara
Blanc Kara
#29 of 208 in Miami Beach
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Lord Balfour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Lord Balfour

Property: Room Mate Lord Balfour
Address: 350 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6905 (Formerly The Wave Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Lord Balfour 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Miami Beach and meet Room Mate Lord Balfour, an Art Deco hotel inspired in XX Century Art with a modern twist. Situated right by the beach, just a few steps walk from Lummus Park, the hotel has a privileged location in the Art Deco District of Miami Beach. Breakfast till noon, gym, free Wi-Fi, private courtyard garden is also on site, amenities in room, multilingual staff available 24 hours and everything you need to feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Room Mate Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Room Mate Lord Balfour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Balfour Hotel Miami Beach
Wave Hotel Miami Beach
Room Mate Lord Balfour Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing