We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in SOFI”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Ranked #24 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in SOFI”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Very cute boutique hotel. The bartender was very nice as well as the bell men. There's no ice machine so just call when you need some! The decor us AMAZING! Very beautiful property. Simple comp pastry breakfast. Walking distance from South Beach where all the action is! Would definitely return

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Lenny G;
Thank you for recognizing the good service provided by our Bartender and Bellman, I will pass along your comments. I am glad that you appreciated our Award Winning Interior Design, Malcolm Berg from EoA Group has been recognized several times for his design of our hotel, which makes us very proud.
Hope to see you again on your next visit to Miami Beach.
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    751
    380
    93
    17
    14
See reviews for
188
643
70
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

First of all, the hotel is indeed very nice as many have pointed out here. Room was a decent size, decor was pleasant and bathroom, although small, was functional. There's free breakfast (not great - pastries were not fresh but it wasn't the end of the world). Location is perfect, close to the beach but far enough from all the street noise.
The issue is the noise inside. We were put in a room with an adjoining door and could literally hear everything our neighbors were saying. We could also hear every step coming from upstairs. Asked to change rooms but hotel was full. The only way we could get some sleep was go to Walgreens and buy earplugs - yes, that's how ridiculous the room was. We wanted to like this hotel but it was impossible.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear "marctor":
I am sorry about the noise issue that you experienced while staying with us, we have a "Zero Tolerance" policy for excessive noise after hours but it appears that what happened was just normal guest activity heard through the adjoining doors. I would like to make it up to you on your next visit to Miami Beach, please contact me directly when you decide to come back. Regarding our pastries, they are baked overnight in a local bakery and delivered every morning to us.
Thank you for your review and I sincerely hope to hear from you prior to your return to Miami Beach.
Regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

best hotel in this price range in SOBE so far. super stylish, very friendly, no pool but close to the beach, chairs & umbrella included. there is no hotel fee, but good continental breakfast is included, and the location is relatively quiet--really enjoyed our stay tremendously and i totally recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank german_in_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear "german_in_nyc"
Thank you for choosing the Lord Balfour for your stay in Miami Beach, we appreciate your kind comments and we are looking forward to welcome you back on your next visit to South Beach.
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed 7 days in an other hotel in Miami, i didnt like it and i couldnt change it because it was advance paid. After a bad expeience on hotel in Miami,

I stayed total 4 days in Lord Balfour hotel, I felt like it is a home. Service was great and price is good.

Next time i will got to Miami, I am going to stay in Lord Balfour hotel again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Hakan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear "Hakan E"
I am glad that we were able to "improve" your visit to Miami Beach and hopefully you will remember the good experience with us when booking your next trip.
Best Regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Although we did not end up staying at this hotel I have to share my experience.

My daughter and I booked a girls' weekend trip through a third party agency. I have done extensive research choosing a hotel and decided that the LB would be perfect for our needs.

Unfortunately, when we arrived the hotel did not have our reservation (as the agency did not actually notify them) and they were also fully booked. Regardless, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Mauricio, the General Manager personally took time to contact the agency that took care of our booking to try to clear up the issue.

Even though our reservation never reached the hotel we were treated like valued guests. Mauricio spent a lot of time and effort to ensure that we are not left stranded to the extent of driving us to another hotel (he and his staff called around to check availability in other hotels). The care and support we received was something you would see from family and friends not from complete strangers. The entire staff was incredibly professional as well. Unfortunately we did not get to see a lot of this hotel, however, the lobby was beautiful and clean.

We will definitely book here again, but this time will make reservations directly through the hotel:)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judithatescold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Judithatescold;
I really appreciate your kind words, I could feel how excited you and your daughter were to be in Miami escaping from the endless winter up north. Hopefully you had a great stay at the other hotel and I sincerely hope that on your next trip to Miami Beach you will stay at the Lord Balfour. Please contact me directly and I will take care of your reservation this time.
Warm regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Perfect location within a short walk of the madness further along Ocean Drive, close to some excellent restaurants and shopping.

Rooms as mentioned are compact compared to some resort hotels but more than adequate for the time you spend in them. Housekeeping was excellent.

Check in was friendly although staff seemed new and still getting used to systems.

Beach was a few minutes walk and loungers and umbrellas available.

This would have been a five star review until we came to check out.

Firstly, additional charges for resort fees had been added to the bill which when queried were removed.

Next, having used their valet service when we arrived and not used the car at all during our 4 night stay they took 45 minutes to retrieve our vehicle after informing us that it had already been claimed.

This was due to the front desk giving the wrong ticket to the valet service, although in the front desk's defence only one member of staff was on duty and was dealing with a number of guests departing/arriving and claiming/dropping off bags and cars. For a Friday afternoon, one person on reception is just not enough.

Despite the mishap at the end of our visit we would recommend The Lord Balfour and will consider staying again when we return to South Beach.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JayneAndMatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear JayneAndMatthew;
Thank you for your review and for pointing out areas for improvement. We appreciate when guests take their time to give us positive feedback and we can better understand their needs and expectations. I am certain that on your next visit you will see improvements on both areas mentioned on your review.
Best Regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

It was great. The service is attentive and staff seem to really want to help you. Location is excellent, quiet enough to rest at and right right next to the action. Beach chairs, towels and umbrella at the beach and breakfast are part of the rates as is wireless. Valet parking worth the investment. All in all I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit south beach.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeColo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear DianeColo;
Thank you so much for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#42 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,044 reviews
0.3 mi away
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#2 of 208 in Miami Beach
429 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Marlin Hotel
The Marlin Hotel
#8 of 208 in Miami Beach
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Hotel of South Beach
The Hotel of South Beach
#21 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,723 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#32 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blanc Kara
Blanc Kara
#27 of 208 in Miami Beach
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Lord Balfour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Lord Balfour

Property: Room Mate Lord Balfour
Address: 350 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6905 (Formerly The Wave Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Lord Balfour 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Miami Beach and meet Room Mate Lord Balfour, an Art Deco hotel inspired in XX Century Art with a modern twist. Situated right by the beach, just a few steps walk from Lummus Park, the hotel has a privileged location in the Art Deco District of Miami Beach. Breakfast till noon, gym, free Wi-Fi, private courtyard garden is also on site, amenities in room, multilingual staff available 24 hours and everything you need to feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Room Mate Lord Balfour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Balfour Hotel Miami Beach
Wave Hotel Miami Beach
Room Mate Lord Balfour Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing