We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls Getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Ranked #24 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Girls Getaway!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My sister and I stayed at this hotel April 2nd through the 6th and we did not want to leave! Our room was perfect! So clean and spacious! Loved the complimentary comfy orange slippers. Our check-in process was so smooth and seamless. We were greeted with a smile and a very warm welcome since our flight was delayed and didn't arrive until 2;30am! The complimentary continental breakfast was such a nice amenity and was perfect for our needs - fresh fruit, warm coffee and a variety of baked goods. The location was ideal, one short block from the beach, shops and restaurants. They have a beach attendant there ready to set you up with complimentary chairs,towels,umbrellas and a table. It truly was a prefect getaway and we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Stephanie S
Thank you for staying with us and for your positive comments regarding your stay. Our hotel is full of little details as you mentioned, we try to create a memorable experience for our guests and I am glad that we delivered just that during your stay.
Best regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    714
    368
    89
    17
    12
See reviews for
178
620
63
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Great location and staff. Alejandro at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. Loved our room (410) with partial ocean view. Towel and chair service at the beach a plus. Location away from the touristy Ocean dr. Would definitely return.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank F00die56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear "F00die56"
Thank you for staying with us and for your kind comments. We sincerely hope to be of service on your next visit to Miami Beach.
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Location could not be better for Miami Beach. Hotel staff was really great  with helpful information. Wi-Fi is free, and service was good. Even though the Hotel is "Ocean-Front", it's a block away to the beach with is greatBath was small but adequate. Linens were of good quality and plentiful towels. Overall, a GREAT choice. Everyone there was professional, friendly and courteous. I remember how friendly Ricardo the front desk guy was very helpful. The bartender Monica was very friendly and make great drink we felt at home in this hotel everyone was very helpful.The concierge guy gave us great information about where to eat and where to visit love all his help( cant remember his name right now sorry) Amary i think that's his name was always making sure we were ok every time me and my wife came downstairs i enjoy that. Even thou the room is a little bit small . We barely were in the rooms. I would not mind coming back me and my wife enjoy every min from getting out the cab to getting back in the cab everyone had a smile and greeted us everytime and ask question to see how are day was not like other hotel that do not care . I will be back lord balfour see you soon!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firefighterj21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear "firefighterj21"
Your kind words about our staff and services are greatly appreciated. We work hard to meet and exceed our guests' expectations and we are pleased to hear that we are accomplishing our goals.
We definitely hope to see you in the near future and hope that the Lord Balfour will be your hotel of choice in Miami Beach.
Regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Lord Balfour is a recently renovated, cute boutique hotel in the perfect location if you want access to SoBe without the headache and noise of SoBe. It's a little more adult and a little less glitz than the other hotels on Ocean Drive, but has just the right amount of attentive service and unique design to make it stand out from the crowd.

Getting to the beach is easy. The front desk will give you big beach towels to take a quick walk across the street. Chairs and umbrellas are available from the attendant who'll check your name from a list. You'll be south of the big SoBe crowds, but again, just walk up the beach for a few minutes to get right into the thick of it.

We stayed in a double queen room which was clean and moderately appointed. The decor is fun. Plushy beds with big pillows was great. But as others have mentioned, rooms are on the smaller side and the bathroom was tiny. I kept bumping into the door, sink, and shower just maneuvering around. Probably not the highlight of our experience.

You're getting a decent deal for SoBe when you compare with other places going for $300 - $400 / night. And there's definitely design points for what Jetsetter calls it's "playful personality." Overall a good experience, especially considering the going rate of other places in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Ken N,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of your stay with us. we appreciate your business and hope to see you again in the near future.
Regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Clean, classy hotel on ocean drive. Friendly helpful staff. Valet service was provided for a fee of $35 daily which was great because we drove to miami from Chicago. Breakfast and Starbucks coffee complimentary....highly recommend!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Juanita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Juanita C, Thank you for choosing the Lord Balfour for your stay in South beach and for recognizing our staff for the good service they provided.
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Overall good experience- a bit of a glitch when we arrived there as we were told our room was not yet ready (check-in is at 3pm, we got there around 4pm), but they gave us beach towels and told us that they had lounge chairs and umbrellas on the beach across the street. Location is okay- on Ocean Drive but not in the "main" area.
Richard was awesome!! Super friendly and very attentive!

Room Tip: No restaurant and no pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anais T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Anais T
I am sorry if the room was not ready upon your arrival, it is rare that this happens but sometimes due to high occupancy and some late check outs we encounter this issue.
I am glad that Richard caused a positive impact, he is one of our senior associates here and we really value his services. I will pass you comment to him.
Best regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Lord Balfour for three nights in March 2014. The room was clean and the staff was very nice. The room was small and so was the bathroom, but cozy. The walls and floors are thin, you could hear the people walking in the room above, not the greatest at 6:30 in the morning. The continental breakfast was nothing fancy but it did the trick. The valet parking was a bit slow 25-30 min to get your car, but it was nice that you didn't have to find parking on your own. I would go back if I was in the area again.

Room Tip: Try to get the top floor so you do not hear the people walking around at night or in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you "Adam S" for your comments and for choosing the Lord Balfour for your stay in Miami Beach, I do hope that when you come back you think of us again.
Best regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#45 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 207 in Miami Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
The Hotel of South Beach
#21 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pelican Hotel
#28 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#23 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,293 reviews
The Marlin Hotel
#8 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Lord Balfour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Lord Balfour

Property: Room Mate Lord Balfour
Address: 350 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6905 (Formerly The Wave Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Lord Balfour 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Miami Beach and meet Room Mate Lord Balfour, an Art Deco hotel inspired in XX Century Art with a modern twist. Situated right by the beach, just a few steps walk from Lummus Park, the hotel has a privileged location in the Art Deco District of Miami Beach. Breakfast till noon, gym, free Wi-Fi, private courtyard garden is also on site, amenities in room, multilingual staff available 24 hours and everything you need to feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Room Mate Lord Balfour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Balfour Hotel Miami Beach
Wave Hotel Miami Beach
Room Mate Lord Balfour Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing