We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Ranked #26 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We had a very nice stay in Lord Balfour on our Florida trip. We arrived in December for 2 nights , travelled Florida for 3 weeks and came back for another couple of nights in Lord Balfour.
We only stayed the 2nd time, because we liked the hotel, its location and the staff at that time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rolawelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Mr. Rolawelt:
Thank you for your review and thank you for staying with us twice. We hope to be of service every time you are in Miami Beach.
Mauricio Martins - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,302)
There are newer reviews for Room Mate Lord Balfour
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

583 - 589 of 1,302 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

The Lord Balfour hotel, Miami Beach, was perfect for us, a family of four and a Granny! On arrival, life couldn't have been made easier for us by Richard, (front desk,)which is a relief after a long flight. Rooms were beautiful and immaculately clean and self service breakfast perfect! Our only problem was, we couldn't stay longer and we couldn't take Richard!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoefurno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Thank you Mr. Zipperella for your stay and your comments. We are glad that your family had a great time with us and that Richard was accommodating to your needs.
Come see us again on your return to South Beach.
Best regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed Wednesday through Saturday night. Got a little louder Friday and Saturday but hey! We are on South Beach! The hotel staff was very friendly and efficient. We asked for extra towels and had them within 10 minutes of the request. The continental breakfast could have a little more selection. The hotel is very art deco as well as the entire area. This is a very reasonably priced hotel and it definitely exceeded my expectations.

Room Tip: No swimming pool or restaurant but the ocean is across the street and there are plenty of places to...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Estep1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you "Estep1129" for choosing the Lord Balfour for your stay in South Beach. Although we are located a few steps from a gorgeous beach we have plans to build a pool when we add 17 new rooms to the property. Our next addition will be our Restaurant, this will allow us to increase and improve our breakfast offerings as well. Coming this summer!
Mauricio Martins - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My sister and I stayed at this hotel April 2nd through the 6th and we did not want to leave! Our room was perfect! So clean and spacious! Loved the complimentary comfy orange slippers. Our check-in process was so smooth and seamless. We were greeted with a smile and a very warm welcome since our flight was delayed and didn't arrive until 2;30am! The complimentary continental breakfast was such a nice amenity and was perfect for our needs - fresh fruit, warm coffee and a variety of baked goods. The location was ideal, one short block from the beach, shops and restaurants. They have a beach attendant there ready to set you up with complimentary chairs,towels,umbrellas and a table. It truly was a prefect getaway and we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Stephanie S
Thank you for staying with us and for your positive comments regarding your stay. Our hotel is full of little details as you mentioned, we try to create a memorable experience for our guests and I am glad that we delivered just that during your stay.
Best regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Great location and staff. Alejandro at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. Loved our room (410) with partial ocean view. Towel and chair service at the beach a plus. Location away from the touristy Ocean dr. Would definitely return.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank F00die56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear "F00die56"
Thank you for staying with us and for your kind comments. We sincerely hope to be of service on your next visit to Miami Beach.
Mauricio Martins - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Location could not be better for Miami Beach. Hotel staff was really great  with helpful information. Wi-Fi is free, and service was good. Even though the Hotel is "Ocean-Front", it's a block away to the beach with is greatBath was small but adequate. Linens were of good quality and plentiful towels. Overall, a GREAT choice. Everyone there was professional, friendly and courteous. I remember how friendly Ricardo the front desk guy was very helpful. The bartender Monica was very friendly and make great drink we felt at home in this hotel everyone was very helpful.The concierge guy gave us great information about where to eat and where to visit love all his help( cant remember his name right now sorry) Amary i think that's his name was always making sure we were ok every time me and my wife came downstairs i enjoy that. Even thou the room is a little bit small . We barely were in the rooms. I would not mind coming back me and my wife enjoy every min from getting out the cab to getting back in the cab everyone had a smile and greeted us everytime and ask question to see how are day was not like other hotel that do not care . I will be back lord balfour see you soon!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank firefighterj21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear "firefighterj21"
Your kind words about our staff and services are greatly appreciated. We work hard to meet and exceed our guests' expectations and we are pleased to hear that we are accomplishing our goals.
We definitely hope to see you in the near future and hope that the Lord Balfour will be your hotel of choice in Miami Beach.
Regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Lord Balfour is a recently renovated, cute boutique hotel in the perfect location if you want access to SoBe without the headache and noise of SoBe. It's a little more adult and a little less glitz than the other hotels on Ocean Drive, but has just the right amount of attentive service and unique design to make it stand out from the crowd.

Getting to the beach is easy. The front desk will give you big beach towels to take a quick walk across the street. Chairs and umbrellas are available from the attendant who'll check your name from a list. You'll be south of the big SoBe crowds, but again, just walk up the beach for a few minutes to get right into the thick of it.

We stayed in a double queen room which was clean and moderately appointed. The decor is fun. Plushy beds with big pillows was great. But as others have mentioned, rooms are on the smaller side and the bathroom was tiny. I kept bumping into the door, sink, and shower just maneuvering around. Probably not the highlight of our experience.

You're getting a decent deal for SoBe when you compare with other places going for $300 - $400 / night. And there's definitely design points for what Jetsetter calls it's "playful personality." Overall a good experience, especially considering the going rate of other places in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Ken N,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of your stay with us. we appreciate your business and hope to see you again in the near future.
Regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 210 in Miami Beach
478 reviews
0.4 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#39 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,064 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blanc Kara
Blanc Kara
#19 of 210 in Miami Beach
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Flora
La Flora
#18 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,502 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#24 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,417 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Marlin Hotel
The Marlin Hotel
#7 of 210 in Miami Beach
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Lord Balfour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Lord Balfour

Address: 350 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6905 (Formerly The Wave Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £90 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Lord Balfour 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Miami Beach and meet Room Mate Lord Balfour, an Art Deco hotel inspired in XX Century Art with a modern twist. Situated right by the beach, just a few steps walk from Lummus Park, the hotel has a privileged location in the Art Deco District of Miami Beach. Breakfast till noon, gym, free Wi-Fi, private courtyard garden is also on site, amenities in room, multilingual staff available 24 hours and everything you need to feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Room Mate Lord Balfour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Balfour Hotel Miami Beach
Wave Hotel Miami Beach
Room Mate Lord Balfour Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing