We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Ranked #23 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A great hotel”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I've just stayed in this wonderful boutique hotel, whilst attending a conference in Miami Beach. The stay was lovely - the staff are extremely helpful, and professional, and the hotel, located on a quiet stretch of Ocean Drive, is charming. I'd have given it 5 stars but for the weak wifi signal in my room and the relative audibility of footfall from above. I would certainly stay here again, partly because of proximity to local amenities but mostly because of the calibre of customer service. Having moved to a large and anonymous (and noisy) corporate hotel downtown for a few days - the LB was unfortunately fully booked this weekend - I'm all the more appreciative of its individuality, and am sorry to have left!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexandraH1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear AlexandraH1960:
Thank you so much for making the move to the Lord Balfour. I am really happy that our personalized approach to customer service impressed you. Our goal is to recognize every guest by name and make every stay a memorable one. I will pass your comments to my staff.
Regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    705
    363
    86
    17
    11
See reviews for
178
610
61
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

A small-sized hotel perfectly located just south of all the buzz of Ocean Drive, but casual walking distance to it. The best feature was being mere steps from the beach, pick up your towels from helpful staff at the front desk, easy walk to the hotel beach area. Immediately you're looked after with chair and umbrella setup for you exactly how you'd like it. The staff on the beach were fast, friendly and very attentive. The beach hut had a basic selection of soft drinks for sale. Similarly to the hotel location itself, being just a bit south afforded you less crowds and more comfort.

The rooms were comfortable, going for a very contemporary feel with huge oversized artwork. Modern bathrooms, the shower in my room afforded you the luxury of having water coming at you from multiple different directions.

In comparison to nearby hotels, a great value for money in the Miami Beach area.

The breakfast provided was good, but a pretty basic continental style. However, being able to eat and sit either in the intimate central courtyard or out front on the sofas on the terrace was a great start to the morning and you really felt more connected to the local area, it was casual and social. Set the tone for a relaxing day at the beach.

I will be back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear "Chris C" :
Thank you for your detailed review of your recent stay with us. The pristine section of South Beach in front of the hotel is definitely one of our biggest assets. Thank you for recognizing the staff's efforts to provide excellent service as well.
We will hold you to your words and hope to see you back soon.
Regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Bay, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel just last weekend. It was awesome! Just what we needed. It is located on Ocean Drive. That being said we were able to take in the great South Beach experience and yet escape it when we just wanted a little down time. The hotel is a great boutique style hotel. Nice, clean rooms with everything you need. The only down side is the small bathroom but I have come to expect that in South Beach. The staff at Lord Balfour was very nice and welcoming. Richard is the GREATEST! He made EVERYTHING nice and enjoyable. One night we decided to hang out on the porch because we were so exhausted from the day of walking and touring. Richard was there to truly cater to our every inquiry and didn't mind at all. Thanks again Richard!

Oh! And the beach.... DELICIOUS as another tourist said! Just beautiful and clear. Amazing!

Check out Lord Balfour! You will love it!

Room Tip: There is no pool so no rating there... The idea is to go to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waltrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you Waltrell for staying with us and for your kind review of our hotel and staff. Richard in a great example of our hospitality and I am glad that he made your stay memorable. We all hope to see you again soon.
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Very impressed with this boutique hotel. The rooms were nice and accommodating. Any questions or concerns my friend and I had Richard ensured that we had every question and concerns met. Richard provided my friend and I with outstanding customer service. I am looking forward to my next trip there.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ShuRhonda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you "ShuRhonda B" for staying at the Lord Balfour and for your kind comments about Richard. We are happy that he was able to represent our well our service and hospitality .
Regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014

professional checkin, excellent service, chic rooms, clean rooms, great house keeping.
Our Son loved it he is 12! Cool interior.
Nice breakfast. Nice unlicensed areas to chill
Great location as close enough to the excitement on ocean drive but far enough to get away from it too! Staff very helpful.
There were cheaper options but we were glad to pay a little more to stay here.

Room Tip: Suite with sofa beds and separate sleep area are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loubyfw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear "Loubyfw1"
Thank you for choosing the Lord Balfour for you recent stay in South Beach. I am particularly happy to have impressed your 12 year old son, hoping that he will be our future guest some day.
Please think of us on your next visit to Miami.
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Plains, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This is a lovely little hotel just on the south end of the hopping South Beach bar/restaurant Ocean Drive strip. We could easily see it all on foot without having to hear it all night long, which was perfect for this fifty something couple. The hotel is has a modern Art Deco feel. The staff are great and the ambiance soothing. It even smells nice. Our king room was compact but well appointed. There's a good continental breakfast provided at no extra charge. The beach is steps away and the hotel has chairs and umbrellas set up there for use by their guests. Beach towels are also provided. While there's no swimming pool now, the staff told us that the property next door has been acquired to be the site of the new pool.

The only criticism I have is that the walls between rooms are thin and so you can most definitely hear your neighbor's goings on. It wasn't a problem for us as everyone was courteously quiet, but if you got unlucky and had a booming voice next door it would be a problem. Probably not a great choice if you have small children.....it's more a couples vibe. We enjoyed our stay very much and would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonja C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
It was great to read your review "Sonja C", thank you for taking the time.
We have some enhancements in the pipeline for the hotel, and the first is the opening of our Restaurant in the summer months, then as my staff mentioned, is the pool and 17 new rooms in the lot that we have next to the hotel.
Thank you for you business and we hope to be of service again in the near future.
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

This stay was amazing! Everyone encounter from the bellman, bartender, front desk agents, and housekeeping were very hospitable. Location is great. Close enough to the south beach hustle and bustle but far enough for a quiet nights rest. Only complaint will be the size of the bathrooms...very small but very clean & modern so no complaints overall. Definitely will return.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Queen_Rochelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Queen_Rochelle;
Thank you for staying with us! we appreciate your business and comments. I understand about the size of the bathroom, we have different room configurations and slightly bigger bathrooms, but this is a characteristic in all the boutique hotels in the Art Deco District.
We hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#46 of 207 in Miami Beach
1,006 reviews
The Hotel of South Beach
#21 of 207 in Miami Beach
1,659 reviews
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 207 in Miami Beach
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pelican Hotel
#27 of 207 in Miami Beach
1,134 reviews
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#22 of 207 in Miami Beach
2,257 reviews
The Marlin Hotel
#7 of 207 in Miami Beach
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Lord Balfour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Lord Balfour

Property: Room Mate Lord Balfour
Address: 350 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6905 (Formerly The Wave Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Lord Balfour 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Miami Beach and meet Room Mate Lord Balfour, an Art Deco hotel inspired in XX Century Art with a modern twist. Situated right by the beach, just a few steps walk from Lummus Park, the hotel has a privileged location in the Art Deco District of Miami Beach. Breakfast till noon, gym, free Wi-Fi, private courtyard garden is also on site, amenities in room, multilingual staff available 24 hours and everything you need to feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, Room Mate Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Room Mate Lord Balfour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Balfour Hotel Miami Beach
Wave Hotel Miami Beach
Room Mate Lord Balfour Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing