We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Ranked #26 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I stayed at the hotel Feb 20-24 this year. It's a really tiny hotel but besides that I was shocked to see $80 charged after checkout. After multiple messages I talked with billing and they claimed I cleaned out the minibar knowing full well I didn't. The lady wanted to argue. After double checking she claims that she will credit me . This after making me look like and idiot texting my friends which she insisted maybe they took it. This is a very deceptive practice. If a customer wiped out the minibar red flags should be raised and should be contacted. The location is perfect but the size of the room would make a toddler have difficulty walking in. We stayed in a 2 queen? Bed room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bilah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear "bilah1"
I am sorry for the incorrect minibar charge and for the inquiries during your call, since your stay was back in February and we did not hear from you until this week we though that the charges were legitimate and there was no problem. Immediately after your phone call and dispute we have reversed the charges. I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused and I thank you for staying with us.
Mauricio Martins - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,302)
There are newer reviews for Room Mate Lord Balfour
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

566 - 572 of 1,302 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

First, the staff, including the very considerate Richard, the front desk staff member, are very considerate and genuinely interested in making your stay a pleasant one. I loved being able to pick up and drop off courtesty beach towels at the front desk.
The hotel is in a great location, between 3rd and 4th street on Ocean Drive, I believe. That puts you on Ocean Drive but a few blocks away from what could be a lot of noise from the bars and clubs. Also, 3rdstreetyoga takes place almost directly in front of the hotel on the beach, if you want yoga right on the beach (I highly recommend it).
The courtesty breakfast and bar in the lobby are another plus.

I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorge A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Jorge A;
Thank you for choosing the Lord Balfour amongst so many great options in South Beach. I am glad that our staff made a positive impact on your stay. I will pass your comments to them.
Please think of us on your next visit to Miami Beach.
Mauricio Martins - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Location is perfect, a block from beach access, and a block from SoBe fun. The property is in great shape, and very well decorated. Many pleasant details made our stay awesome. The staff was absolutely amazing and made us feel like VIP the entire time. We will most definitely return and recommend to friends/family. Very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dengel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear "dengel":
One of the advantages of a Boutique Hotel is that we get to know our guests and make them feel special. Your comment about feeling like a VIP illustrates that and was very rewarding to us.
Thank you.
Mauricio Martins - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is one of those reviews you kind of hate to write because a person gets greedy with a 'perfect find' and wants it always to be available to them!! We stayed at the Lord Balfour for only one night, April 10 and it was without a doubt a gem! Located on the quiet end of Ocean Drive, it is so conveniently located to the beach and just a short walk down Ocean to any dining you might require. The room was tastefully decorated and outfitted with top of the line everything. While not huge, they made efficient use of every space and it was adequate. Our room overlooked the lovely courtyard with mural on the opposite wall.
We arrived early and were easily accommodated, not something we were expecting but thought we would at least park and hit the beach before check in. The front desk staff is genuinely happy to welcome you and inform you of all the amenities available to you during your stay. We took advantage of the beach area with umbrella, chairs and towels for the afternoon. This is a great inclusion and there were a lot of guests using it so obviously something that should be kept!
Concierge directed us to "Smith and Wollensky' for a wonderful dining experience. Overlooking the water it was the perfect end to a beautiful day on Miami Beach. Had we not consulted him, we would not even have realized this restaurant existed at the end of the street right beside a park and a beautiful walking area.
The other inclusion that is great at the Lord Balfour is the morning breakfast. Just what we needed to start our day. This is a real bonus when there isn't a restaurant on site and the LB has recognized the need and convenience it offers their guests.
We loved Happy Hour at the bar as well. Bartender was very friendly and we witnessed him mixing up some interesting tea infused drinks. We enjoyed our drinks outside on the front deck on a beautiful evening.
I don't recall the young man's name who greeted us when we pulled up to the Lord Balfour but he was very kind and friendly and is definitely an asset to the hotel - a first impression is so important and he certainly went above and beyond to put forth a gracious welcome.
Look no further in Miami Beach for a perfect spot to stay, our only regret is that we only had one night there, we now look forward to returning!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear "tanfan"
We were honored to receive a positive and detailed review from such a savvy traveler and TripAdvisor's Top Contributor. I am happy that our hotel and staff were able to provide a memorable stay and we sincerely hope to be of service again on your next visit to Miami Beach.
Kind Regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

LB is perfectly located, one block back from the stunning beach. Beach chairs and umbrellas are included in the rate. It's away from the hustle and bustle of Ocean Drive but not too far to walk if you fancy a night out on the town. There are heaps of restaurants as well.

The hotel itself and its decor is very funky. Staff are hugely helpful and the rooms are a decent size. Breakfast is simple but delicious; fresh fruit, yoghurt, pastries, juices and coffee. Wifi is free.

A great hotel. Will definitely be staying here again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Sarah M:
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your review. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcome you back.
Regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

What an enjoyable experience. The location is just perfect and everyone in the Hotel such amazing and kind. Don't forget you have the beach just across the street with towels, umbrella and beach chairs waiting for you! I just loved the hotel design and outstanding experience. 100% recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeOConnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Mr. JoeOConnor:
Thank you so much for the nice review and for the 100% endorsement! We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Miami Beach.
Mauricio Martins - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I've just stayed in this wonderful boutique hotel, whilst attending a conference in Miami Beach. The stay was lovely - the staff are extremely helpful, and professional, and the hotel, located on a quiet stretch of Ocean Drive, is charming. I'd have given it 5 stars but for the weak wifi signal in my room and the relative audibility of footfall from above. I would certainly stay here again, partly because of proximity to local amenities but mostly because of the calibre of customer service. Having moved to a large and anonymous (and noisy) corporate hotel downtown for a few days - the LB was unfortunately fully booked this weekend - I'm all the more appreciative of its individuality, and am sorry to have left!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexandraH1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear AlexandraH1960:
Thank you so much for making the move to the Lord Balfour. I am really happy that our personalized approach to customer service impressed you. Our goal is to recognize every guest by name and make every stay a memorable one. I will pass your comments to my staff.
Regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 210 in Miami Beach
478 reviews
0.4 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#39 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,064 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blanc Kara
Blanc Kara
#25 of 210 in Miami Beach
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Flora
La Flora
#18 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,502 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#24 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,417 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Marlin Hotel
The Marlin Hotel
#7 of 210 in Miami Beach
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Lord Balfour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Lord Balfour

Address: 350 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6905 (Formerly The Wave Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £90 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Lord Balfour 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Miami Beach and meet Room Mate Lord Balfour, an Art Deco hotel inspired in XX Century Art with a modern twist. Situated right by the beach, just a few steps walk from Lummus Park, the hotel has a privileged location in the Art Deco District of Miami Beach. Breakfast till noon, gym, free Wi-Fi, private courtyard garden is also on site, amenities in room, multilingual staff available 24 hours and everything you need to feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Room Mate Lord Balfour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Balfour Hotel Miami Beach
Wave Hotel Miami Beach
Room Mate Lord Balfour Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing