We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Ranked #24 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Queens, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Great hotel. Amazing bellhop makes Richard, he was amazing and friendly and beyond helpful. The rooms were nice the bathroom was super small but it was clean. I couldn't find anything bad to say. The decor was amazing and easy to fall In love with. The bar tender who worked night shift ( don't remember his name... Tall with black slicked back hair) Fridays was AMAZING to say the least. He was also friendly and makes a mean Piccadilly. This hotel was also 2 blocks to the beach and they provided the chairs and the umbrella. This hotel is literally walking distance from the hot spots such as fat tuesdays and wet willies. The beds are comfortable and the hotel is quiet and extremely clean. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmineaf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear "Jasmineaf1"
Thank you for recognizing the services provided by Richard and Edwin, our Barman, during your recent stay. Our team works very hard in order to provide the high level of service our guests deserve and recognition is very rewarding.
Hope to be of service on your next visit to Miami Beach.
Regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    376
    90
    17
    12
See reviews for
183
630
68
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The Lord Balfour is in a great location at 4th street. It's a 2 minute walk to beautiful south beach (chairs and umbrellas provided). The rooms are nice, clean, and the staff is very helpful and friendly. It's also a quick walk down ocean drive to all of the cool restaurants. Our only complaint was that you could hear a lot of noise from the room above, so try to get a room on the top floor. They also have free wireless and a decent continental breakfast. Maybe because the room price was great compared to other hotels in the area. They also have valet parking for about 35 per day with no in/out charge. Definitely staying there next time in Miami.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank SuperJDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you "SuperJDog" for your recent stay and review.
We appreciate your positive comments and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Best regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I stayed at Lord Balfour with a few friends for a couple of days and we ended up having a great time. The location of the hotel was right on Ocean Drive making it easy to walk to many different places and get a great feel for Miami's night life. It is a relatively small hotel which allows for the guest to feel welcomed and extremely comfortable with the staff working there. From the moment we walked in one of the staff members, Kendrick helped us with our bags and checked us into the hotel. We even got to talked to him for a little and found out that he was professional athlete who participated in The Olympic trails for track which we all thought was pretty exciting. Despite being a good athlete he was also a wonderful employee and very helpful throughout our entire trip whether it was answering questions about the area, giving us different ideas of things to do, or just bringing towels to our room if we asked for them late at night. The hotel was beautiful though the rooms were not extremely large unique modern decor made up for it. I would recommend this hotel to other friends because of the great location, beautiful decor and amazing customer service.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Cheryl L,
We are glad that we provided a relaxing and memorable stay at Lord Balfour. Thank you for you kind words about our associate Kendrick, we all work very hard to provide great service to our guests and this recognition is very important to us.
Best regards,
Mauricio Martins I General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I been to 3 hotels in miami, both of them were in miami beach area. This is by far the best one. I highly recommend it. The location is great, the beach is latterly across the street. There is a parking lot in the block next to the hotel with 25 dollars per night if you want to save, because the value parking is 35 bucka plus the tips and the waiting time. The rooms are great with nice decoration. But there is not an ocean view. Can't ask for more. Go for it you will not regret it

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mohammad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Mohammad B
Thank you for choosing the Lord Balfour for your stay in Miami. I am glad that you enjoyed our hotel and my staff and I hope to be of service again in the future.
Regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Meade, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We just got back from a 3 night stay (Girls Getaway) at Lord Balfour and I must say I was pleasantly surprised and very please with the overall stay. From the moment we walked in the door we were greeted by staff most favorably known as Richard that took our bags and guided us to the front desk. We arrived around 10:30am and we were prepared leave our luggage and roam the strip until the appropriate check-in time but much to our surprised our room was ready. It was nice to be able to freshen up after sitting on a plane all morning. Once checking in, Richard was nice enough to take us to our room and gave us a little more detail about the room and amenities and told us if we needed anything himself or any of the staff would be more than willing to help. And this statement folks held true to every word! Anytime we needed anything we were greeted with a positive and can-do attitude. Some things were even taken care of before we could finish making the request.....that is the kind of service I can appreciate!

As for the room, the bed was very comfortable....I enjoyed a good nights sleep (and naps!) the entire time. The room has hardwood floors which are ideal, especially when traveling back and fourth from the beach. If you are interested, the room includes a mini bar with liquor, a couple of snacks and water. For ice, you simply page the front desk and they will get it for you.

The resort fee included an umbrella and two chairs on the beach, beach towels, Wi-Fi and continental breakfast. The umbrella and chairs came in handy and every time we went to the beach we were also greeted with the same service we received at the hotel. Breakfast is the typical continental spread.....bagels, white/wheat bread, cereal, yogurt, fruit, coffee, juice and hot tea. It was good enough to get us started in the mornings.

We also had notified Richard that we had an early departure (4:30am) and he made sure to call and schedule a taxi so that we could get the airport in the morning. The checkout process we easy. We were splitting our bill and the front desk agent took care of everything effortlessly.

The only gripes I have is that the room was little small but from my understanding this is typical for Miami Beach. Honestly I quickly got over it =) We had a little noise from our neighbors late Friday night but I'm sure that was the typical weekend crowd. Over time the noise died down.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel to those visiting Miami Beach. Be sure to take advantage of the One Year Anniversary rate on their website....its a great deal! Hopefully I will be back soon myself!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you Monique R, for taking the time to write such a detailed review. Summer months are great to visit Miami, besides lower hotel rates the city offers Spa Month in July and Miami Spice in August and September, in addition to beautiful beaches, shopping and an amazing nightlife.
Thanks also for recognizing the staff that made your stay memorable.
Best regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

I just want to say a HUGE thank you the all the staff at Lord Balfour! Every single one of you were so amazing! Richard, you're such a gentleman - birthday prosecco was brilliant and we appreciate your warm welcome every time! Kendrick and Raiza you guys made our stay!

We'll definitely miss the hospitality here! And miss you all.

Amazing service. Very close to the beach. Right on Ocean road - you are literally close to everything. Staff really know hospitality to the tee!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmac1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear "Dmac1603"
Thank you so much for your review and for the compliments to our staff. We appreciate that you chose the Lord Balfour for your stay in Miami Beach and hope to see you back in the future.
Regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Great boutique hotel with good service. Rooms are small but enough for just the two of us and great decor, although the bathrooms is tiny . Great location with being in the middle of the south beach main night strip and south pointe park .

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ammie90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauricio M, General Manager at Room Mate Lord Balfour, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you "Ammie90" for staying with us and for taking the time to review your stay with us. We look forward to have you back at Lord Balfour on your next visit to Miami Beach.
Regards,
Mauricio Martins - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#40 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,029 reviews
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#2 of 208 in Miami Beach
403 reviews
Pelican Hotel
#29 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hotel of South Beach
#21 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,698 reviews
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#22 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,328 reviews
The Marlin Hotel
#9 of 208 in Miami Beach
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room Mate Lord Balfour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room Mate Lord Balfour

Property: Room Mate Lord Balfour
Address: 350 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6905 (Formerly The Wave Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Room Mate Lord Balfour 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to Miami Beach and meet Room Mate Lord Balfour, an Art Deco hotel inspired in XX Century Art with a modern twist. Situated right by the beach, just a few steps walk from Lummus Park, the hotel has a privileged location in the Art Deco District of Miami Beach. Breakfast till noon, gym, free Wi-Fi, private courtyard garden is also on site, amenities in room, multilingual staff available 24 hours and everything you need to feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Room Mate Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Room Mate Lord Balfour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Balfour Hotel Miami Beach
Wave Hotel Miami Beach
Room Mate Lord Balfour Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing