We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Refuge from the Crowds!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Savoy Hotel & Beach Club
Ranked #29 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The Savoy Hotel is in the "South of 5th Street" area of Miami Beach. It is right on the ocean, which very few of South Beach's hotels can claim. It is a quiet hotel, but only 1 block from where the action starts.
Like most South Beach hotels, The Savoy is made up of older buildings that have been rehabbed. I would not say that the furnishings are ultra posh with up-to-the-minute stylings, but the rooms are definitely upscale and very comfortable. The rooms vary in the extreme. If you decide to purchase one of the inexpensive rooms, you will probably be in the main building. I did not see these rooms but I hear that few of them have balconies and most appear to be more basic in decor.
We called the hotel to book directly, which is definitely the way to go. We got the most wonderful suite, with two balconies, a pullout sofa, wet bar and microwave, separate living from the bedroom and-get this 1 1/2 baths! This was ideal for my family and gave us all lots of space to spread out.
I also think that you get more for your money here than at other hotels - although this was more than $400/night during spring break, it would have been way more elsewhere.
Everything is very clean and they do their best to keep the buildings painted and in repair. Anytime we had a concern, the front desk was friendly and responsive.
The two pools are on the smaller side, but they are lovely. One of them is heated. There's also two decks that look out over the ocean furnished with great outdoor loveseats and loungers.
Of course, everyone remembers the attentive service at the pool -- the guys are all fantastic!
They have a small restaurant on site open for breakfast and lunch which serves great food.
If you really need a pool scene, go elsewhere. But if you want somewhere relaxing and beautiful, only steps from shopping and restaurants, this is the place to go!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Summergirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,952)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

861 - 867 of 1,952 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

My wife and I spent five nights at the Savoy after returning from a cruise. The Savoy is a smaller hotel in a quieter area of South Beach. It is a beautifully maintained property with direct access to the beach. We had a suite with a balcony overlooking the pool area which contained two pools and several lounging areas. The staff were all friendly and helpful. My wife and I would strongly recommend the Savoy to our friends and family and will definitely stay here the next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our stay at the Savoy was the second stop on our Honeymoon. We caught a cab from the airport to the hotel. The cabs in Miami have standard rates from the airport so was not too bad on cost ($35). We were greeted at the Savoy by a member of staff who opened the door for us. A bell boy then took our bags for us. The check in process was seamless and the staff were very helpful. We were on the third floor in a 1 bedroom suite. the room was fantastic. It had a large lounge/dinning/kitchen room with a large TV. It had a sofa and coffee table a 4 place dinner table and all the essentials for a kitchen (Hob, microwave, dishwasher, plates and cutlery).

The bedroom was fairly large with a king size bed, bedside tables large wardrobe (including safe) and a chest of drawers. The bathroom had double sinks and a separate door leading to the toilet and shower over bath. There were lots of clean towels, bath robes and slippers. the only small downside to the room was the view as it was facing the car park, but we could see part of Ocean Drive. Don't get me wrong this did no way spoil our stay. The room was serviced daily even without putting the service sign on the door. They also turned down the room each night including chocolates which was very nice.

The pool area was superb. there are 2 pools here one heated and one not. As the temperature hit 30 degrees most days the non heated pool was very nice to cool down in. The area beside the pool had a lot of sunbeds and umbrellas. there was also a few big round seats as well as little huts that you can hide away from the sun in. There are also 2 raised areas with further sunbeds, one to the side and one on top of the Gym. the Gym has a couple of running machines, cycle machine and some free weights and a weight machine. There is free ice cold water by the pool and also a member of staff who will serve you drinks and food. the staff by the pool were excellent and checked up on you from time to time if you needed anything. When it was particularly hot they even gave out iced towels. They also eject any non resident who should not be there and this gives you a sense of security. there are sign everywhere warning you not to leave valuables lying around. There are toilets by the pool as well.

There is a entrance at the back of the pool that leads onto the beach. It is about a 20 yard walk before you hit the spectacular Miami beach. The beach has lovely white sand and the sea is a lovely turquoise colour. the sea seemed rather cold although that could have just been as it was so hot when we were there. Included in the resort fee you get 2 sunbeds and an umbrella each day. Again there is a member of staff at the beach to check you are staying at the Hotel and to also get drinks or food for you. Non Hotel residents can also use the sunbeds on the beach for a daily charge.

There is a restaurant and bar near the pool. The lunches were lovely and we especially liked the wraps they did. You can sit either inside or outside. the inside are has a TV and separate toilets. The drinks were nice and they have a happy hour after 5pm so cocktails are 2 for 1. Again these can be served at the pool area if you want. The food and drink prices were reasonable for the area.

The reception desk at the Savoy was always very helpful. They had information on daily excursions. We did the gator park tour, The Boat tour and Key West Tour. The people at reception booked these for us and we were picked up for each excursion from outside the Hotel.

We loved the location of this Hotel as it was just below 5th Street so was not in the middle of the louder hotels, bars and restaurants. They were all in easy reach if we so wished. It was also easy to go to the Marina area of South Beach from the Hotel. There are some quieter restaurants located opposite the Hotel. We found all the restaurants around the hotel to be off good quality and all priced around the same.

I am not sure ther is much else we could want from a Hotel in South Beach (Just the view for the room). Great location, amazing staff and very good facilities. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a Pool view room although it will not spoil your stay if you do not have one. 1 bedroom sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boultis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I have recently stayed for a second time at the Savoy. Often the second stay is never as good as the first visit. However, not the case with the Savoy. If anything the repeat visit was better the second time. The hotel is impeccably maintained, with all expected amenities either equal to or better than expectations. The wait staff were all professional, pleasant, eager to help but somehow not intrusive. The hotel, location, service and accommodations were perfect. I can not wait to go back a third time.

Room Tip: request the rooms with the bedroom and kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This hotel really is an oasis amid the hurly-burly of the Miami Beach area.Our suite in a wing separate from the one housing the reception area, was large, clean, and had outstanding views over the pool area to the beach. I would point out that others in our party had a kitchen suite above the reception area which was nowhere near as comfortable. Food and drink was of a good standard.

Room Tip: Top floor pool view was great. Lift is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Our stay was two parts, first it was our 30th wedding anniversary, SAVORY meet every expectation of a sweet paradise, it location is AMAZING, with the private beach access, lounge chairs and umbrella waiting for you! wonderful drinks served with an excellent dining experience. the new art on the wall was very sexy and romantic ( retro boudoir ) the rooms were CLEAN and comfortable! with robes and slippers ready for your pleasure. the second part was a reunion of friends to help us celebrate, what better place to meet up. MIAMI SOUTH BEACH, we had visit time at the hotel, where it's quiet and fun, with their two pools, and great bar, then the night life right down the street! oh what memories we made. a few tips, the pool views are amazing, along with the restaurant, we tried a FEW places to eat on the strip and it was hit and miss, don't waste your time Savoy menu is GREAT, and you won't be disappointed. Savoy is my first choice for south beach with their WONDERFUL STAFF willing to please, THE PERFECT location, for romance or night life, I will be BACK!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chantesinging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I almost don't want to write this review because the savoy is quite small and I don't want it to get too crowded. However, in respect to the owners and staff I feel that I must praise the experience that we have enjoyed in South Beach over the last week.

The location of the Savoy is the first item to note. It is at the quiet end of Ocean Drive but within easy walk of the mad scene further up or on Collins if that is what you want. It is also the only hotel that has direct access to the beautiful beach through a private gate. The area of the two pools is comfortable and attractive and food and bar service there is first rate. It is normally quiet but if the noise level goes up when there are groups at weekends, one can retreat to the beach for a serene scene.

The art deco buildings have been well refurbished recently. The staff are welcoming and helpful at all times. Our Ocean view suite was spacious, comfortable, well equipped and clean. Food in the restaurant is limited in range but good. The cocktails at the bar are excellent and happy hour a delight. The Italian restaurant across the road gives an easy extension to the hotel's own menu with perfectly pastas and reasonable wine. Every variety of food is within easy reach.

This trip was mostly work but we will be back nwxt year for pure pleasure.

Room Tip: It costs a little more but a high floor (third is the highest) suite with ocean view is the best. F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woollybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#27 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,689 reviews
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#23 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,467 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#45 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#88 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,395 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#12 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,679 reviews
Grand Beach Hotel
#65 of 212 in Miami Beach
5,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Savoy Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Savoy Hotel & Beach Club

Address: 425 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6613
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#38 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £159 - £436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Savoy Hotel & Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sophisticated Choice Among Resort Hotels on South Beach Miami...One of the only resort hotels on Ocean Drive located directly on the sand with private beach access, the chic Savoy Hotel South Beach Miami is a 75-suite resort without peer on America's sun-drenched Riviera - South Miami Beach's Art Deco District. Prepare for the Savoy Hotel to awaken your senses!The Savoy offers spacious one and two bedroom suites with beach, pool and Ocean Drive views, only steps away from breezy al fresco cafes, hip boutique shopping, and sizzling nightlife - all with the unmistakable flavor of Miami's multi-cultural South Beach. Setting The Savoy apart is our incredible location and generous amenities, unlike any other on Ocean Drive. At a lush 2-acre expanse of tropical paradise from street to beach, our guests can enjoy commanding beach views from en-suite balconies, sun bathe poolside, and enjoy private access to the sands of beautiful South Beach. Only at the Savoy Hotel South Beach Miami. With its ocean Views, chic decor and Art Deco feeling, The Savoy Hotel is the perfect location to celebrate your Special Day. The Savoy offers a variety of settings for you to choose from. Two sundecks overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, the Terrace restaurant with views of our two tropical pools, and our main Ballroom which overlooks Ocean Drive. From an intimate ceremony of 20 guests to a more lavish party of 125, The Savoy will make this day the most memorable yet for you and your guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Savoy Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Miami Beach
Savoy Resort Miami Beach
The Savoy Hotel & Beach Club Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing