We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alright nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach
Ranked #92 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 3 May 2014

When we arrived the rooms were not ready and had to wait a few hours.

Had to get Valet parking which was very good. The parking attendants were friendly and had our car ready usually within 5-10 minutes.

The rooms themselves were very clean and updated (renovated ones). We didnt spend much time in the rooms but came with cable and all the necessities.

Food was a bit too much for the buffet. We went out to eat most of the time and enjoyed doing that as opposed to staying at the resort. In the back there was a lounging area with a pool but it was fairly small and closed off before you get to the beach.

The beach itself was a bit dirty, it was covered in sea weed and you had to pay an extra fee, not sure how much for the chairs or umbrella but it was a separate company that deals with the guests.

There was construction going on outside which you could hear as early as 7 in the morning since they are jam packing more resorts in there. We faced the street and were on the 7th floor but it was still audible in the morning.

Overall it was an alright stay but nothing special or anything that stands out.

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room. The other rooms that have not been updated are apparently a real let down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Polajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,057)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

220 - 226 of 2,057 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

We have just returned home from an amazing holiday to Clearwater and Miami. We drove down to the Riu on Miami beach after a 4 night stay in Clearwater, it was a great experience and great fun in the Mustang convertible. This is our second stay at the Riu and it was just as great as the last time. The staff are very helpful and the room was really lovely as they have been renovated. It is a brilliant location with a beautiful beach, we were very lucky to have had very hot sunny days. Loved the rental bikes on south beach, very convenient and good fun. Hoping to return in September for another magical holiday. Thank you to all the staff at the Riu for a wonderful stay. You must try the breakfast buffet!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alison_martin303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

No major issues with the Riu for us miami veterans. The price is right for March.

We were given an older room and were able to upgrade without charge the next day to a renovated room which has a tile floor, new bath with shower (no tub) and much greater water pressure. The room faced the street, Collins Ave. which would not be ideal for most people but didn't bother us because we were out a lot and the windows seemed to block out the sound of cars on the street. The renov. rooms have the same beds & furniture as the older ones. The beds are older, not the most comfortable. They have no king beds which was bizarre. Every bed is a full & rooms have two so this is definitely not a romantic place. Its efficient if you are spending most if your time out, by the pool or beach. The rooms are large enough, some more spacious than others. Ours was quite large and comfortable.

The pool area is quiet & lovely and this is the best feature of the hotel. We stayed at The Red across the street last year which is also very nice but their pool area is on the street and this makes it a noisy area. In miami there is always construction going on next door. We were able to tune it out and the again the bedroom windows were solid enough to block out most of the noise.

Pros: pool area, relaxed atmosphere, good price for Miami, renov. rooms are fine except beds and pillows that are not new or solid. There are a few good restaurants nearby, all good. There is a market which has many items so you don't have to travel far for groceries. There is plenty in walking distance of 15 blocks but the best selection of restaurants are south/past 15th St. Riu has a buffet for dinner for $25. I found it very good with plenty of selections like an all-inclusive but certainly not fine dining. The staff was very accommodating. The gym was small but fine. I do the treadmill and the equipment worked unlike other places we've stayed.

We've stayed at several small hotels in Miami and we preferred some of the extra things about this larger resort hotel. You have more confidence that things will work right compared to many of the sub standard places in Miami that show bait & switch type photos & are really quite run down. Riu is deinitely dated in parts but not run down and in Miami thats a big difference in lifting or dampening your spirits while on vacation in a warm & sunny place.

The Riu is what you see is what you get. I'd much rather stay at the Riu again vs. a boutique hotel for the same price or a bit more because of the pool area and it being on the beach side. Some of the boutique hotels (many of which are not on the beach) have a feel like you are in a busy city rather than a beach area and have much smaller rooms. Its a quieter part of town which some people don't like because its a far walk, but doable to Ocean drive.

Cons: totally dated lobby and stairwells, direct TV cut out & had limited channels it was like being in another country if your used to Comcast. Its not like other Riu all inclusives. It's basically a hotel with a nice pool area, not a resort. A three star hotel but we had a great experience because we know a little about Miami and what you get in this price range usually comes with great disappointment. We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Housetafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed for Miami Music Week & Ultra Music Festival with one other person! Staff fine and had no problems with any of the service, only issue would be how thin the walls are, you can hear other peoples conversations next door and when walking in corridor. Maids came everyday and were lovely to talk to and trustworthy. Pool and beach were beautiful, just a bit too far out from the main Collins Av so would stay closer to the action next time, but im a young lively party girl so this hotel would probs be great for older people. Did the Everglades excursion for $50 each and was a great morning out!

Room Tip: No sea view rooms have been updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JodieWard10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Front desk clerk had no personality she had a Very abrasive attitude...Rooms were average and the beds weren't comfortable .. Went to the restaurant for coffee and was told we couldn't order coffee unless we buy the $16 breakfast buffet. Only in room coffee makers for coffee.. I've never heard such a thing. We won't return .. Save your money and go elsewhere .

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank CiaoBella0215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

All the staff we encountered were very nice and helpful. I think most of the negative reviews are coming from people that don't like foreigners. There were a lot of Europeans in the hotel. It rained one day while we were there in the lobby was very crowded. We visited with quite a few of the guests and never had any problems. The grounds are beautiful. There is a boardwalk right behind the hotel. It will take you to the heart of South Beach. We were here on spring break and wanted it a little quieter. This was a perfect spot for us. We were in a renovated room which had double sinks outside the bathroom and a swivel make up mirror. Very nice. We were with a large party and had three rooms. One room was not renovated. It did look old but was clean and had a beautiful view of the ocean. We had a club sandwich by the pool the first day we got there. Tips are included. We didn't eat the breakfast or buffet. We felt those were more than we wanted to pay. There is a small Cuban restaurant (Tropical Beach Cafe) just south of the hotel on Collins. Good food large portions and very reasonable. The only problem we had was with the thermostat in our room. It was cold and we couldn't get the thermostat adjusted. The front desk sent someone from maintenance to our room to help us. He did try to help but there was a language barrier and we couldn't get it fixed. We just turned the thermostat off at night problem solved. One of the couple we were with had a car with a luggage rack on top. They couldn't park it at the hotel. There is a parking lot a couple of blocks north on Collins and 35th. No charge at night but they had meters that started at 7 am. We really enjoyed our stay at the RIU and will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room away from the construction. Try the Cuban restaurant Tropical Beach Cafe ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Myra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

hotel right on beach front but thats all going for this hotel ,nice swimming pool.nice breakfasts but the location leaves you a bit cut off from the rest of miami and involves a bus or taxi ride to get anywhere.the hop on hop off tour bus stops right outside and we bought the $49 two day pass to get around the tour was very enjoyable with some lively tour guides we jumped off at allens diner and enjoyed burgers and shakes but found the last bus ending at 1630hrs a pain overall a nice city a bit expensive at $6-$9 dollars a beer and we enjoyed the restaurants at piscali st

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allandb9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#28 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,669 reviews
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#86 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Beach Hotel
#65 of 212 in Miami Beach
5,420 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
The Confidante Miami Beach
#43 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach

Address: 3101 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#71 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £108 - £409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach reopens after a refurbishment that has converted the facilities of the former Hotel Riu Florida Beach, renovating them completely in order to offer the best services for those travelling for business or for pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Splitty, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Florida Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Riu Florida Beach Miami
Riu Miami
Hotel Riu Plaza Miami Beach Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing