We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst Hilton Experience ever !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza
Ranked #15 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The worst Hilton Experience ever !!!”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The Hotel need to be upgraded. The hotel Facilities is none existent. But the worst part is the services. The first night someone from the front desk called me at 2.30 am about an early check out !!! The second day after spending all day out, I came back to my room and I was very surprise that nobody have clean up my room. I called them to ask and they told me there is nobody from housekeeping to clean up now. When I receive the bill I Also see they overcharge me with valet parking and when I call them for a refund nothing happen. They just don't care at all. I am very disappointed of the services and the attitude. It is really not up to Hilton Standard.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biububububu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltongrandvacations, General Manager at Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced during your stay. I welcome you to contact me at EBorsos@hgvc.com so I can fully look into the service you have experienced. The property is starting it’s renovation process within two weeks. We hope you give us another chance, and we can assure you that any missed standard was an isolated incident.

Eva Borsos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    581
    263
    65
    24
    9
See reviews for
313
412
29
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxon Hill, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The resort is in need of an update. Spa on deck is very small. The fact the the ocean has jellyfish and the resort does not have a pool we were highly disappointed. If you just need a place to stay then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank thomaseh2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltongrandvacations, General Manager at Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Thank you for your response in reference to your stay. We are happy to let you know that the property will start the renovation process on September 2nd, 2013. Our historic property does have limited facilities, but there is a pool accessible nearby at the city park for a nominal fee. We hope to see you again in the future.

Eva Borsos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrieta, CA, United States
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I think HGVC can do better for an area such as this. They need to consider possibly another resort in the Miami Beach area. I did not have a room with a view and the bed was not king size. Valet parking is $35 a day and there aren't many choices if you want to try something else...I am an HGVC owner and this resort while I love staying close to the beach and family is not one of my favorites.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank Charlene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltongrandvacations, General Manager at Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us. We are a very unique, historic property and while many of our amenities are not comparable to other resorts, our location and closeness to the beach, shopping, dining and nightclubs provides a favorite getaway spot to many of our owners and guests. We hope to see you again in the future.

Eva Borsos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukegan, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Hotel staff is amazing, helpful, and accommodating in any need that you might have. If you love the beach, this hotel is the bomb! walk out the door across the street and you are there. No need for any vehicle here, pretty much every thing is within a few blocks.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank stimator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Although this is a small GVC property, the location is perfect! The front desk and staff go overboard to assist with any of your needs. This is not a property that I would advise you to take small children if you are looking for youth activities within a resort such as swimming, etc. My wife and I loved the hot tub and also the free use of the washer/dryer. It's always nice to bring home "clean clothes" rather than "smelly" ones. The front desk provides free detergent for the washer. Although that's a small thing, it's refreshing to have complimentary items. This was our 2nd time to this resort. On this trip, we did not have a rental car. We discovered that it's cheaper to hire a taxi or take advantage of the bus. Also there is so much in the area, you really don't need transportation very often. We loved walking around the south beach area and felt very safe. Another quick note... If you are traveling to the GVC for the first time, be sure and look for the name Ocean Plaza or McAlpin on Ocean Drive. It's easier to find the property, especially at night. Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank Charles B. W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QUITO, Ecuador
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The nicest thing about the Hotel is its prime location. It is close to al the best amenities like restaurants, nice shops, bars, and just a walking distance from the beach. The beach is very nice and clean and very well maintained. Also the service from the staff is nice and courteous.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank Carlos O. S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltongrandvacations, General Manager at Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for visiting our South Beach Resort. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us, and see you again in the future.

Eva Borsos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 August 2013

A small boutique hotel at the end of Ocean Dr. A great location...across the street from the beach, near all shopping and restaurants. Best of all it's quiet but if your interested in socializing just walk up the street.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#11 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,898 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#16 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,540 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#59 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#32 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,069 reviews
City Center
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#12 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza

Property: Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza
Address: 1430 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza enjoys a premier address on Ocean Drive in the heart of the world-renowned Art Deco District of Miami Beach. Known for its local hot spots and activities, your anticipated South Beach experience will be full of sun-soaked beaches, trendy boutiques, and pulsating nightlife, and all just steps from your private front porch. Cross Ocean Drive and you'll find yourself on white sand beaches fringed by tropical palm trees and highlighted by the mesmerizing blue waters of the Atlantic Ocean. The one and two bedroom suites at the hotel reflect the historical elegance and timeless appeal of this classic motif which makes South Beach one of the most unique of all destinations. Each suite is tastefully inspired by the colors and designs of the Art Deco era and features a well-equipped kitchen with a stove top, microwave, refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee maker, toaster, and all utensils. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Hilton Hotel Miami Beach
Hilton Miami Beach
Miami Beach Hilton Hotel
Hilton Grand Vacations Club Miami Beach
Hilton Vacations Club Miami
Hilton Grand Vacations At McAlpin-Ocean Plaza Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing