We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza
Ranked #21 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The Hilton Grand Vacation Club South Beach is very well located. The security in the place is excellent because you need to swipe your key to gain entrance to the building. The hotel does not have any restaurant but because of its location, this is a non-issue. We had a 2 bedroom suite with kitchen, living room and 2 baths. The furnishings are excellent. I would definitely return to this hotel for my next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Thank Irene Joy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (976)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

554 - 560 of 976 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

Our stay at South Beach was great. The location of the hotel was within walking distance to all we wanted to do. Was expensive to eat though. Luckily we had refrigerator, stove and microwave so we went to the grocery store and bought some food to fix for breakfast to help with the cost.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
Thank Valthegal63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

We have been members for 14 years & visited many properties. The location is the best thing about this property. The beach & walkway is right across the street. It is also a 5-10 min walk from Lincoln Road, Collins Ave & Espanola Way where all the great shops & restaurants are located. Beach chairs & umbrellas can be rented at a reasonable rate. The Art Deco Market is a great place to get groceries so you don't have to go out for every meal.

There is a rooftop hot tub but is very small & a view of a cement wall. The chairs on the rooftop are very comfortable but again, no view. There are no balconies off the suites & very few rooms have ocean view (it is a narrow building). The walls & ceiling are thin. We heard the garbage trucks early every morning. Overall, we plan on staying here again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jcaeiouy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltongrandvacations, General Manager at Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

We appreciate your comment about your stay and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry that our rooms have no view, please keep in mind that this is a historic building and we were unable to add balconies or replace the concrete walls to glass to provide view on our rooftop terrace ,while in the Jacuzzi or lounge chairs. We have already addressed some of the concerns for sound installation, unfortunately because of the age of the building and being in an urban area, it is almost impossible to completely eliminate noise. We hope to see you on your next trip, and thank you again for your feedback.

Eva Borsos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Although most things are up to Hilton standards there are some things that unfortunately are not.

On the positive side, it is in a great location on Ocean Drive. An attractive and historical art deco building and the building is secure. Staff are friendly and helpful although one staff member tried to tell me that the Citibank had moved when it was in exactly the same place as it was three years ago. This is not good advice to give to a late arrival.

Not very good natural light in my room and the outlook was very close to another building and parking. Was woken early a couple of mornings with the noise from there. The room had a smoke smell even though it is a non-smoking property. I am not a smoker. Housekeeping needs to watch this and rectify before a new guest arrives.

I was located next to the waste disposal shute and this was more noise I could have done without. Also the laundry arrangements were annoying. Two washing machines and dryers in a cupboard on top floor. These could be hard to access at times and were time wasting. The property needs to have a sign there requesting that guests not leave their laundry in the washing machines and dryers for longer than necessary. It would also be a good idea to have some sort of a bench, cabinet or table by the washing machines so if people do that the next person can take their washing out and leave it there. It is hard to put someone's washing on the floor. I think this would be a very simple thing to do and would make things easier.

The thing I found most awkard and annoying at this property was the TV arrangements. These were not simple. Fine when worked but I would lose reception and get a fuzzy screen. I had to get it set up about three times while I was there and basically I gave up on it. One staff member told me I had to use the TV button to change volume and the cable channel to change stations. Why this property and a Hilton has such a system is beyond me. I have stayed at 30 odd hotels in the last year and have never had a TV issue like this before.

I see that they have made some improvements in the last three years like security access in the lifts and to the garbage disposal. This is good but what about some basic improvements like to the laundry and the TV. I don't like it that quite high maintenance fees and my contribution is getting used for these types of things when the TV arrangements are pathetic and some very basic improvements could be made to the laundry.

Room Tip: I understand that the only rooms that have a good outlook are on the front of the property. I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltongrandvacations, General Manager at Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for staying with us, and we appreciate your feedback about your stay. I would like to apologize about the smell in your unit. We are a non-smoking property, but unfortunately some of our guests do not comply, leaving a strong cigarette odor in the room. Our housekeeping staff does their best to sanitize and return the room to a non-smoking condition, but due to the high occupancy and limited time between the check out and the next guest arrival, we are sometimes unable to return the room completely odor free. Our television system has recently been updated to digital channels. Unfortunately, we only have one provider in Miami Beach, and their system is not as user friendly as we may want it to be. However, we are continuously working with them to improve the service and provide our guests with the best TV viewing experience. You have also mentioned your dissatisfaction with the laundry facility arrangement. Generally, those machines are not used often, and there was no need to add signs for people to remove their items when the cycle is done. Due to the limited space we do not have many choices to add a bench, but we will gladly look into it and implement it if it is feasible. We hope you will return to our property in the future.

Eva Borsos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Loved location and staff.Added amenities minimal. No linen changing service since only a 5 night stay. Small room but a great South Beach location. Staff very attentive to our needs and vey helpful. Overall positive experience

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
1  Thank stucc0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hiltongrandvacations, General Manager at Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank you for your review and we are very happy you had a wonderful time at our beautiful property. We are a historic, boutique property with limited amenities, but we are located in the heart of South Beach, with everything around us from world famous beaches to world class restaurants, night clubs and shopping. Our timeshare owners have limited housekeeping service following industry standards, where a seven day stay would receive one cleaning service. Thank you again, and hope to see you on your next trip.

Eva Borsos
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We are Hilton Grand Vacation Club members. I took my sister and daughter on a "girls getaway week" to my first visit to South Beach. The property was great! We had a two bedroom unit that faced the front so we had a great view of the ocean. The staff is outstanding! The unit was spacious and very comfortable. It was wonderful being across the street from the ocean.
We will absolutely make many return visits to this property! Loved the deco style!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This is a very nice Hotel in the South Beach, with a beautiful park in front and the beach just steps of the door, full of restaurants of all class, and for those that love to go out to party this the place. This Hotel is very secure, y has the doors locked for the safety of the guests.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#12 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,678 reviews
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#23 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,466 reviews
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 212 in Miami Beach
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#15 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,956 reviews
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#28 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza

Address: 1430 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £338 - £391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza enjoys a premier address on Ocean Drive in the heart of the world-renowned Art Deco District of Miami Beach. Known for its local hot spots and activities, your anticipated South Beach experience will be full of sun-soaked beaches, trendy boutiques, and pulsating nightlife, and all just steps from your private front porch. Cross Ocean Drive and you'll find yourself on white sand beaches fringed by tropical palm trees and highlighted by the mesmerizing blue waters of the Atlantic Ocean. The one and two bedroom suites at the hotel reflect the historical elegance and timeless appeal of this classic motif which makes South Beach one of the most unique of all destinations. Each suite is tastefully inspired by the colors and designs of the Art Deco era and features a well-equipped kitchen with a stove top, microwave, refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee maker, toaster, and all utensils. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Hilton Hotel Miami Beach
Hilton Miami Beach
Miami Beach Hilton Hotel
Hilton Grand Vacations Club Miami Beach
Hilton Vacations Club Miami
Hilton Grand Vacations At McAlpin-Ocean Plaza Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing