We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and affordable hotel in prime location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza
Ranked #21 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 November 2009

Our second visit to this hotel after several years. The property occupies 2 adjacent buildings. Upon arrival we were unpleasantly surprised to see exterior renovations underway (mid-November 2009), but the work appears to be exterior only and we were put in the building without construction work.

Pros: Excellent location on Ocean Drive. Terrific rooms -- suite with 2 plasma tvs, full kitchen (with coffeemaker, microwave, dishwasher), large bathroom, and many nice amenities. Free wireless. Very helpful staff. Each building has rooftop deck with sunning areas, spa. Easy walk to public parking garage (cheaper than hotel valet parking fee).

Cons: Most rooms have no views (but this is typical of South Beach hotels). Walls very thin, or perhaps we just had loud neighbors. Despite free wireless, rooms have no real work area for business-oriented travelers. No IPod dock despite other up to date electronics. Bed seemed smaller than advertised.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rexcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (976)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

819 - 825 of 976 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2009

When your hotel is across from the beach, you crave a view. Only four 2-BR suites in this property have water views. The remaining hotel windows stare a few feet across an alley into neighboring hotel rooms, so we couldn't leave our drapes open throughout our stay. Made the rooms feel small and lightless. The hotel is old - charming in some respects and I liked the furnishings - but the room sizes were out of balance. There was a large LR/DR/Kitchen area and good-sized bathroom, but the tiny bedroom is NYC-like in size with barely space to step around a full-size bed. We were appalled. We'd just purchased a king bed because a queen seemed too small so we could barely sleep. Why not give more real estate to the BR and shrink the other space? Also, the AC was problematic. The room would get so hot that we would wake in a sweat, then the AC would roar on so we'd get chilled and have to hunt for blankets. Note that the service was standout: truly outstanding. (I stay in Hilton properties every few weeks for perspective.) The front desk staff were friendly and accommodating - offering to help if they perceived you needed it even before you asked. We had them make reservations, recommend restaurants, call frequent cabs, get beach towels, and everything happened quickly with a smile. Location is safe and convenient to a marvelous boardwalk and restaurants. (Try the Raleigh Hotel outside restaurant for great romantic ambiance and service.)

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 50_capitols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

Stayed on this property a number of times as a member of the Hilton Grand Vacation Club. Not going to bore you with everything I have said before, it remains a great property in one of the best spots in Miami, which therefore means one of the top spots in the world. since my last stay the rooms have been upgraded with new kitchens, plasma screens etc, Just cant wait to get back

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JAMES m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2009

This is our third visit to this location and will continue to refresh our minds, body and soul at this location as long as they continue to deliver such amazing service at this hotel.

I must mention Alex the concierge who gave us an umbrella when we asked him where to get one ! He was absolutely amazingly helpful.

The hotel was doing renovations but we only found out on the day we were leaving when they apologized for the inconvenience! what! we loved it and love the beach just across the road from the hotel.

This is a real gem on South Beach!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2009

Cool location. Nice suites (not room). Gym is on the poor side. Staff is friendly. Place is clean.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
Thank Roy987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

This hotel was a wonderful choice! The location is perfect, we could walk everywhere, and had many restaurants to choose from, the beach was just across the street, and there is a beautiful park out front. All of the employees were wonderful, and the room was very clean and up to date. Checkin and Checkout ran very smoothly. The kitchen was beautiful, with stainless steel and granite tops, also the bathroom, lovely. I thought that we got a terrific deal for our money. They even had free washers and dryers! I recommend room 2405 if you want the 1 bedroom, it's quiet, on the end.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sheryl1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2009

You can walk everywhere! Perfect location and directly across from South Beach

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VacayGoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#12 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,678 reviews
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#23 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,466 reviews
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 212 in Miami Beach
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#15 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,956 reviews
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#28 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza

Address: 1430 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £338 - £391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza enjoys a premier address on Ocean Drive in the heart of the world-renowned Art Deco District of Miami Beach. Known for its local hot spots and activities, your anticipated South Beach experience will be full of sun-soaked beaches, trendy boutiques, and pulsating nightlife, and all just steps from your private front porch. Cross Ocean Drive and you'll find yourself on white sand beaches fringed by tropical palm trees and highlighted by the mesmerizing blue waters of the Atlantic Ocean. The one and two bedroom suites at the hotel reflect the historical elegance and timeless appeal of this classic motif which makes South Beach one of the most unique of all destinations. Each suite is tastefully inspired by the colors and designs of the Art Deco era and features a well-equipped kitchen with a stove top, microwave, refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee maker, toaster, and all utensils. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Hilton Hotel Miami Beach
Hilton Miami Beach
Miami Beach Hilton Hotel
Hilton Grand Vacations Club Miami Beach
Hilton Vacations Club Miami
Hilton Grand Vacations At McAlpin-Ocean Plaza Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing