We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HGVC @ South Beach was the perfect location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza
Ranked #13 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“HGVC @ South Beach was the perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2011

I stayed at HGVC in South Beach over the New Year's Eve weekend with two friends in a 1 bedroom suite. This was a girls trip, so my friends did have to share the bed and I slept on the pull out couch, but there was enough space in the suite for all of our luggage and shoes, etc. The living room and bedroom were tastefully decorated in a light green/blue and dark brown wood furniture theme, and the entire kitchen was stocked with dishes, silverwear, dish towels, etc., anything you'd need in a kitchen. Even a dishwasher! The only place the suite was lacking was the view, but I understand that it is an old building and there wasn't much space for rooms. Our windows looked out into the other building next to us. It was ok though because there were two decks with comfy chairs and a hot tub to retreat to. There was also a small gym with a yoga area, elipitical machine, tvs, even disposable ear plugs for you to watch tv or listen to music.

Alex who helped with luggage and suggestions of places to go, was SO helpful. The front desk staff was wonderful also with recommendations, and told us about Lincoln shopping area which we would have not known about otherwise. The location can't be beat - right at the end of Ocean Drive and in the middle of the Art Deco area of South Beach.

I would go back in a heartbeat to this location, probably with family next time!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    250
    61
    21
    9
See reviews for
292
383
26
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2011

It is a beautiful hotel - from the art deco exterior to the well furnished roomsinside. The room was extremly comfortable with mostly new furnishings and fittings. It is very well located for sightseeing - nd then returning to an oasis of peace in the room.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyG73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

We are Hilton Grand Vacation owners so have experienced a few of the hotels before. Having read reviews I was well aware of what to expect. The room was in worse shape than I expected, both louvre doors in the room were broken, we could have reported this but didn't really bother. Staff were fabulous and were so nice to the children, spoiling them with treats and teddies. Location is also very good, right across the road from the beach. We went over and rented an umbrella and chairs for the day. I knew there wasn't a swimming pool before we went and I think this would be the reason I stayed somewhere else next time. We really missed having a pool. I honestly think that I would be writing a different review if the staff hadn't been so amazing.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EMUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

This hotel was fantastic, couldn't have been a better location, right on the strip and directly across the street from a beautiful beach. I was not prepared for South Beach - it was crazy, very busy. It's definitely a party atmosphere and we're not party people so we were glad for the oasis of the hotel to return to! The beach was amazing across the street - right between lifeguard stations so felt safe and the water was so clear and calm. The hotel was situated perfectly for many dining options all within walking distance. Just be prepared for the valet parking costs because it's worth it. On the street parking is not an option - you'd have to be out there every couple of hours refilling the meter even if you could find a spot. Other people on here talked about the parking garages being the better option - be careful as you look at them - most the prices that were on the signed were followed with small letters saying that it repeated every 12 hours! Though we paid more for the parking than we did for our rental car, it was well worth it. They had our car within 5 minutes of our request and you didn't have to drag your stuff all the way from a parking garage.

Other recommendations in case you go to this hotel:
fly into Fort Lauderdale if it's cheaper for you - for us, it was a direct flight and cheaper than Miami - same distance driving.
for cheap rental car rates with great service, check out Sunshine Rentals - they weren't on the airport grounds but provided shuttle service and were not far at all from the airport (minutes)
Unless you are into the party scene of South Beach, get a rental car and drive to Biscayne Key and the Everglades.
Excellent service at Coopertown Airboat Rides...the ride was fun and informative.
Loved the Anhinga Trail in the Everglades State Park - beautiful walk and tons of birds and saw some baby gators and their mama
Must do - Vizcaya house and gardens

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank smb4x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

I've been an owner at this timeshare since 2000 and I stay there once or twice a year. My experience has always been exceptional in every way. The rooms are actually apartments with separate bedrooms. The decor is top-notch modern style and the staff are typical Hilton.The only time I had a minor problem, the manager gave me two nights free. Exceptional!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay10016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

This place is awesome the staff is very helpful and the location could not be better, we go here every year for a week.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelinapat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

We recently visited the HGVC on our second holiday to Miami. From the greeting at Reception to the room size and cleanliness, everything was perfect. All of the staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the location on Ocean Drive is perfect.
The suites are an excellent size with every amenity you can wish for. The rooms are newly decorated and there is a lot of room - there were 3 of us and we never felt cramped. My daughter (19) slept on the pull out bed and she said it was really comfortable.
Outside of the hotel then the beach is a very short walk away, there is a starbucks and ice cream place not far away at all and plenty of restaurants nearby.
The places to eat on Lincoln Road are also in the main good, but dont visit Nexxt restaurant. It always looks busy but the service is appalling and the staff the worst we have come across in America.
Take a bus ride to both the Aventura Mall and the Bayside marketplace, both worth a trip and the cost of buses very cheap.
So in summary, go to South Beach (but take lots of money, its expensive), stay at HGVC (we stayed in the Betsy next door before - nice but not worth the money) and enjoy the sights of South Beach - perfect!

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TheHBs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#11 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,852 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#9 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,368 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
The Confidante
#33 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,460 reviews
City Center
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza

Property: Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza
Address: 1430 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza enjoys a premier address on Ocean Drive in the heart of the world-renowned Art Deco District of Miami Beach. Known for its local hot spots and activities, your anticipated South Beach experience will be full of sun-soaked beaches, trendy boutiques, and pulsating nightlife, and all just steps from your private front porch. Cross Ocean Drive and you'll find yourself on white sand beaches fringed by tropical palm trees and highlighted by the mesmerizing blue waters of the Atlantic Ocean. The one and two bedroom suites at the hotel reflect the historical elegance and timeless appeal of this classic motif which makes South Beach one of the most unique of all destinations. Each suite is tastefully inspired by the colors and designs of the Art Deco era and features a well-equipped kitchen with a stove top, microwave, refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee maker, toaster, and all utensils. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Hilton Hotel Miami Beach
Hilton Miami Beach
Miami Beach Hilton Hotel
Hilton Vacations Club Miami
Hilton Grand Vacations Club Miami Beach
Hilton Grand Vacations At McAlpin-Ocean Plaza Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing