We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza
Ranked #15 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lexington, KY
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous Location”
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We stayed here last week for three nights with another couple. Both couples are Hilton Grand Vacation Club owners. This is our first time at South Beach and we stayed in a two bedroom unit on the second floor. We stayed from Wed. to Sat. It was very quiet in the building and we were not bothered by any outside noise.
What a fab location across the street from the beach at the quiet end of South Beach. You could sit out on the front porches and take in the parade. Up top the hot tub was fabulous after a cool day on the golf course.
The unit itself was spotless and well appointed. The bedding was great. Our unit had one king bedroom and a queen bedroom with two bathrooms and kitchen/living area. We had breakfast in the unit and went out every evening for dinner.
There was a laundry area on the fourth floor of our building that was complimentary. I asked for a small box of laundry soap at the front desk.
The staff was very friendly and had great suggestions for dinner. Parking was an issue. We ended up parking in a public garage for $20/day that was about 2 blocks away. Not a big deal as we didn't use the car for transportation in the evenings.
The property consists of two art deco buildings with their original names on the front. You really have to look to see Hilton anywhere. We were not bothered once by any time share sales calls.
We are looking forward to returning to South Beach and to this property in the future.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KYinMAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    265
    67
    25
    9
See reviews for
317
414
30
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2011

Stayed here after a cruise for one night and wanted to be close to Lincoln Road and the beach. This hotel had all we were looking for.

We arrived earlier than check in time - by about 4 hours - and they were very accommodating about getting us into a room.

I had always wanted to stay in one of the Miami Art Deco buildings and this fit the bill. Great front porch to sit on and people watch the South Beach street scene. Or, if you want a little privacy you can catch some rays on the compact decks up top adjacent to the fitness room and whirlpool. Music is piped in to all public spaces, but they have a great playlist. Some might find it annoying, but they probably wouldn't be staying in South Beach if they did.

We had a one-bedroom suite for my wife and I and our 21 year old son. We got the bedroom and he got the sofa. Both of us were very comfortable. While we were there for only one night, the kitchen facilities in each room would make this ideal for an extended stay.

Only two small problems: we were on the first floor in the back, which backs onto an alley, so you do get some alley noise - trash pick up, etc., but that's to be expected. And the wireless internet, while free, seemed painfully slow.

I was expecting it to be a more modern building, or at least have the Hilton name more prominently displayed. But the neon sign on the roof was for the building's original name and the Hilton name was embossed on the front door, which I missed first time around the block.

They have valet parking or you can street park (if you can find a space) and save a few coins. You can feed the meter with cash or credit card for up to 8 hours at a time. Parking is free between 3 and 9 a.m. Again, this may be annoying to some, but they probably shouldn't be coming to South Beach.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2011

Rooms are nice with full kitchen and plenty of space! Walking distance to shopping, restaurants. Parking fee is pretty high.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrtravelguy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

I stayed at HGVC in South Beach over the New Year's Eve weekend with two friends in a 1 bedroom suite. This was a girls trip, so my friends did have to share the bed and I slept on the pull out couch, but there was enough space in the suite for all of our luggage and shoes, etc. The living room and bedroom were tastefully decorated in a light green/blue and dark brown wood furniture theme, and the entire kitchen was stocked with dishes, silverwear, dish towels, etc., anything you'd need in a kitchen. Even a dishwasher! The only place the suite was lacking was the view, but I understand that it is an old building and there wasn't much space for rooms. Our windows looked out into the other building next to us. It was ok though because there were two decks with comfy chairs and a hot tub to retreat to. There was also a small gym with a yoga area, elipitical machine, tvs, even disposable ear plugs for you to watch tv or listen to music.

Alex who helped with luggage and suggestions of places to go, was SO helpful. The front desk staff was wonderful also with recommendations, and told us about Lincoln shopping area which we would have not known about otherwise. The location can't be beat - right at the end of Ocean Drive and in the middle of the Art Deco area of South Beach.

I would go back in a heartbeat to this location, probably with family next time!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

It is a beautiful hotel - from the art deco exterior to the well furnished roomsinside. The room was extremly comfortable with mostly new furnishings and fittings. It is very well located for sightseeing - nd then returning to an oasis of peace in the room.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyG73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

We are Hilton Grand Vacation owners so have experienced a few of the hotels before. Having read reviews I was well aware of what to expect. The room was in worse shape than I expected, both louvre doors in the room were broken, we could have reported this but didn't really bother. Staff were fabulous and were so nice to the children, spoiling them with treats and teddies. Location is also very good, right across the road from the beach. We went over and rented an umbrella and chairs for the day. I knew there wasn't a swimming pool before we went and I think this would be the reason I stayed somewhere else next time. We really missed having a pool. I honestly think that I would be writing a different review if the staff hadn't been so amazing.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

This hotel was fantastic, couldn't have been a better location, right on the strip and directly across the street from a beautiful beach. I was not prepared for South Beach - it was crazy, very busy. It's definitely a party atmosphere and we're not party people so we were glad for the oasis of the hotel to return to! The beach was amazing across the street - right between lifeguard stations so felt safe and the water was so clear and calm. The hotel was situated perfectly for many dining options all within walking distance. Just be prepared for the valet parking costs because it's worth it. On the street parking is not an option - you'd have to be out there every couple of hours refilling the meter even if you could find a spot. Other people on here talked about the parking garages being the better option - be careful as you look at them - most the prices that were on the signed were followed with small letters saying that it repeated every 12 hours! Though we paid more for the parking than we did for our rental car, it was well worth it. They had our car within 5 minutes of our request and you didn't have to drag your stuff all the way from a parking garage.

Other recommendations in case you go to this hotel:
fly into Fort Lauderdale if it's cheaper for you - for us, it was a direct flight and cheaper than Miami - same distance driving.
for cheap rental car rates with great service, check out Sunshine Rentals - they weren't on the airport grounds but provided shuttle service and were not far at all from the airport (minutes)
Unless you are into the party scene of South Beach, get a rental car and drive to Biscayne Key and the Everglades.
Excellent service at Coopertown Airboat Rides...the ride was fun and informative.
Loved the Anhinga Trail in the Everglades State Park - beautiful walk and tons of birds and saw some baby gators and their mama
Must do - Vizcaya house and gardens

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank smb4x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#12 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,908 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#14 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,567 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#54 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#30 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,132 reviews
City Center
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#22 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza

Property: Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza
Address: 1430 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza enjoys a premier address on Ocean Drive in the heart of the world-renowned Art Deco District of Miami Beach. Known for its local hot spots and activities, your anticipated South Beach experience will be full of sun-soaked beaches, trendy boutiques, and pulsating nightlife, and all just steps from your private front porch. Cross Ocean Drive and you'll find yourself on white sand beaches fringed by tropical palm trees and highlighted by the mesmerizing blue waters of the Atlantic Ocean. The one and two bedroom suites at the hotel reflect the historical elegance and timeless appeal of this classic motif which makes South Beach one of the most unique of all destinations. Each suite is tastefully inspired by the colors and designs of the Art Deco era and features a well-equipped kitchen with a stove top, microwave, refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee maker, toaster, and all utensils. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Hilton Hotel Miami Beach
Hilton Miami Beach
Miami Beach Hilton Hotel
Hilton Grand Vacations Club Miami Beach
Hilton Vacations Club Miami
Hilton Grand Vacations At McAlpin-Ocean Plaza Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing