We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza
Ranked #20 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 February 2011

It was our first time in South Beach. We were pleasantly surprised to find HGVC right on Ocean Drive where the action is. The buildings face the ocean and good examples of art deco style. We stayed in a one bedroom unit on 4th floor facing the back street. We liked the new furniture and marble bathroom. The hotel was quiet and the staff was very curteous and helpful. We used the valet parking, $35 a night is not much of an expense since we are the HGVC owners so we stay with points. We took walks on the beach every morning, my husband used the gym on the 4th floor. He said everyone was running outside so the machines were brand new and he had a private gym experience. My son used the jacuzzi on the 4th floor, we sat at the terrace several times. There was free internet connection, coffee and tea in the lobby at all times. The only downside is there is no pool onsite, oh well, the beach is just across the street. We'll definitely come back for another winter getaway.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mindoslu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (976)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

799 - 805 of 976 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2011

This is a great hotel in a great spot in Miami Beach. We traveled with our one year old daughter and made great use of the kitchen and included play crib :-)

The only drawback is that there is no pool. Not a huge deal as the beach is across the street but sometimes you want a pool. Only other drawback was that the free wifi didn't work so well. We brought our laptop hoping to watch some streaming movies while our child slept, but that didn't happen because of the poor wireless service.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mds_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

We recently stayed here with our daughter (22) and her friend (24). They loved the night life and we loved being so close to the beach and restaurants. The staff was great but didn't tell us about the parking garage around the corner so we had to valet our car at 35.00 a day instead of the 20.00 in the garage. We didn't use the car the entire week so next time we will take a cab from the airport. Also, keep in mind that they already add gratuity to your check in the restaurants so don't add any more! YOu need to ask the front desk for beach towels and laundry soap. The 2 bedroom unit was roomy and all updated.
We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ramblinrylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We stayed here last week for three nights with another couple. Both couples are Hilton Grand Vacation Club owners. This is our first time at South Beach and we stayed in a two bedroom unit on the second floor. We stayed from Wed. to Sat. It was very quiet in the building and we were not bothered by any outside noise.
What a fab location across the street from the beach at the quiet end of South Beach. You could sit out on the front porches and take in the parade. Up top the hot tub was fabulous after a cool day on the golf course.
The unit itself was spotless and well appointed. The bedding was great. Our unit had one king bedroom and a queen bedroom with two bathrooms and kitchen/living area. We had breakfast in the unit and went out every evening for dinner.
There was a laundry area on the fourth floor of our building that was complimentary. I asked for a small box of laundry soap at the front desk.
The staff was very friendly and had great suggestions for dinner. Parking was an issue. We ended up parking in a public garage for $20/day that was about 2 blocks away. Not a big deal as we didn't use the car for transportation in the evenings.
The property consists of two art deco buildings with their original names on the front. You really have to look to see Hilton anywhere. We were not bothered once by any time share sales calls.
We are looking forward to returning to South Beach and to this property in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KYinMAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

Stayed here after a cruise for one night and wanted to be close to Lincoln Road and the beach. This hotel had all we were looking for.

We arrived earlier than check in time - by about 4 hours - and they were very accommodating about getting us into a room.

I had always wanted to stay in one of the Miami Art Deco buildings and this fit the bill. Great front porch to sit on and people watch the South Beach street scene. Or, if you want a little privacy you can catch some rays on the compact decks up top adjacent to the fitness room and whirlpool. Music is piped in to all public spaces, but they have a great playlist. Some might find it annoying, but they probably wouldn't be staying in South Beach if they did.

We had a one-bedroom suite for my wife and I and our 21 year old son. We got the bedroom and he got the sofa. Both of us were very comfortable. While we were there for only one night, the kitchen facilities in each room would make this ideal for an extended stay.

Only two small problems: we were on the first floor in the back, which backs onto an alley, so you do get some alley noise - trash pick up, etc., but that's to be expected. And the wireless internet, while free, seemed painfully slow.

I was expecting it to be a more modern building, or at least have the Hilton name more prominently displayed. But the neon sign on the roof was for the building's original name and the Hilton name was embossed on the front door, which I missed first time around the block.

They have valet parking or you can street park (if you can find a space) and save a few coins. You can feed the meter with cash or credit card for up to 8 hours at a time. Parking is free between 3 and 9 a.m. Again, this may be annoying to some, but they probably shouldn't be coming to South Beach.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

Rooms are nice with full kitchen and plenty of space! Walking distance to shopping, restaurants. Parking fee is pretty high.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrtravelguy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

I stayed at HGVC in South Beach over the New Year's Eve weekend with two friends in a 1 bedroom suite. This was a girls trip, so my friends did have to share the bed and I slept on the pull out couch, but there was enough space in the suite for all of our luggage and shoes, etc. The living room and bedroom were tastefully decorated in a light green/blue and dark brown wood furniture theme, and the entire kitchen was stocked with dishes, silverwear, dish towels, etc., anything you'd need in a kitchen. Even a dishwasher! The only place the suite was lacking was the view, but I understand that it is an old building and there wasn't much space for rooms. Our windows looked out into the other building next to us. It was ok though because there were two decks with comfy chairs and a hot tub to retreat to. There was also a small gym with a yoga area, elipitical machine, tvs, even disposable ear plugs for you to watch tv or listen to music.

Alex who helped with luggage and suggestions of places to go, was SO helpful. The front desk staff was wonderful also with recommendations, and told us about Lincoln shopping area which we would have not known about otherwise. The location can't be beat - right at the end of Ocean Drive and in the middle of the Art Deco area of South Beach.

I would go back in a heartbeat to this location, probably with family next time!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#12 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,683 reviews
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#23 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,472 reviews
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 212 in Miami Beach
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#17 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,957 reviews
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#27 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza

Address: 1430 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#17 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £339 - £552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza enjoys a premier address on Ocean Drive in the heart of the world-renowned Art Deco District of Miami Beach. Known for its local hot spots and activities, your anticipated South Beach experience will be full of sun-soaked beaches, trendy boutiques, and pulsating nightlife, and all just steps from your private front porch. Cross Ocean Drive and you'll find yourself on white sand beaches fringed by tropical palm trees and highlighted by the mesmerizing blue waters of the Atlantic Ocean. The one and two bedroom suites at the hotel reflect the historical elegance and timeless appeal of this classic motif which makes South Beach one of the most unique of all destinations. Each suite is tastefully inspired by the colors and designs of the Art Deco era and features a well-equipped kitchen with a stove top, microwave, refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee maker, toaster, and all utensils. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Hilton Hotel Miami Beach
Hilton Miami Beach
Miami Beach Hilton Hotel
Hilton Grand Vacations Club Miami Beach
Hilton Vacations Club Miami
Hilton Grand Vacations At McAlpin-Ocean Plaza Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing