We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected, but its all good.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza
Ranked #14 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 March 2011

We only had the opportunity to stay here for 1 night on our way out of town. We checked into this quaint resort and since we're HGVC owners we got a great rate for our sleep over at this hotel. After driving thru downtown traffic in Miami and South Beach we found the location here a nice retreat from an overall crazy busy area of South Beach. Who knew it was soooo busy mid-January? I guess while its snowing in the rest of the country this area is just hopping with activity in the gorgeous 80 degree perfect weather. It literally felt like leaving the winter and arriving in the Summer! (and I live in sunny SoCal)
the location could not have been more perfect directly across the street from the beach. All the hotels in this area are beautiful older artdeco hotels that have been refurbished to newer hotels and resorts. This HGVC encompasses 2 old buildings each with its own fitness center and rooftop jacuzzi I guess thats why theres no pools at either. For this particular trip we didn't care. I'm not sure if this is a problem in the summer when it really heats up there. For us, just a walk to the beach was wonderful.
Our room was a one bedroom suite with the typical living area and kitchen area and Master suite area. Although it was small I'm under the assumption given the prime area of the hotel it is not unheard of. Kinda like NYC hotels. The good thing is here you're short walk out the door to bar or club or the beach. For that it was ideal.
The staff were very helpful and although you need to valet park your car it was always a quick and easy service. The prices were fair.
I would most definitely consider this hotel if I stay in South Beach, but would have to consider the size and space and how many people I'm traveling with.
It wasn't the typical HGVC reosrt I'm used to but its all good.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tedandlisa90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (962)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

785 - 791 of 962 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2011

We came in for the Wine and Food Festival. Super location, the festival was across the street. We had a last minute change in plans where my husband couldn't go so I traveled with my friend. The hotel was perfect for our needs. I particularly liked the double entry to the bathroom - one from the bedroom and one from the sofabed area. The frig was also very handy. The staff was just super our entire visit. The asst manager Andreas was particularly helpful when I had to make some last minute changes. I was concerned it would be noisy on Ocean Drive, but it was very quiet at night. Sat on the roof or the front porch in the evening. Close to everything. Recommend the Front Porch restaurant for Mojitos. The only reason I did not give it an excellent was because there was no pool which really didn't matter to me, but it might to some.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank puremichigan028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

It was our first time in South Beach. We were pleasantly surprised to find HGVC right on Ocean Drive where the action is. The buildings face the ocean and good examples of art deco style. We stayed in a one bedroom unit on 4th floor facing the back street. We liked the new furniture and marble bathroom. The hotel was quiet and the staff was very curteous and helpful. We used the valet parking, $35 a night is not much of an expense since we are the HGVC owners so we stay with points. We took walks on the beach every morning, my husband used the gym on the 4th floor. He said everyone was running outside so the machines were brand new and he had a private gym experience. My son used the jacuzzi on the 4th floor, we sat at the terrace several times. There was free internet connection, coffee and tea in the lobby at all times. The only downside is there is no pool onsite, oh well, the beach is just across the street. We'll definitely come back for another winter getaway.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mindoslu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

This is a great hotel in a great spot in Miami Beach. We traveled with our one year old daughter and made great use of the kitchen and included play crib :-)

The only drawback is that there is no pool. Not a huge deal as the beach is across the street but sometimes you want a pool. Only other drawback was that the free wifi didn't work so well. We brought our laptop hoping to watch some streaming movies while our child slept, but that didn't happen because of the poor wireless service.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mds_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2011

We recently stayed here with our daughter (22) and her friend (24). They loved the night life and we loved being so close to the beach and restaurants. The staff was great but didn't tell us about the parking garage around the corner so we had to valet our car at 35.00 a day instead of the 20.00 in the garage. We didn't use the car the entire week so next time we will take a cab from the airport. Also, keep in mind that they already add gratuity to your check in the restaurants so don't add any more! YOu need to ask the front desk for beach towels and laundry soap. The 2 bedroom unit was roomy and all updated.
We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ramblinrylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We stayed here last week for three nights with another couple. Both couples are Hilton Grand Vacation Club owners. This is our first time at South Beach and we stayed in a two bedroom unit on the second floor. We stayed from Wed. to Sat. It was very quiet in the building and we were not bothered by any outside noise.
What a fab location across the street from the beach at the quiet end of South Beach. You could sit out on the front porches and take in the parade. Up top the hot tub was fabulous after a cool day on the golf course.
The unit itself was spotless and well appointed. The bedding was great. Our unit had one king bedroom and a queen bedroom with two bathrooms and kitchen/living area. We had breakfast in the unit and went out every evening for dinner.
There was a laundry area on the fourth floor of our building that was complimentary. I asked for a small box of laundry soap at the front desk.
The staff was very friendly and had great suggestions for dinner. Parking was an issue. We ended up parking in a public garage for $20/day that was about 2 blocks away. Not a big deal as we didn't use the car for transportation in the evenings.
The property consists of two art deco buildings with their original names on the front. You really have to look to see Hilton anywhere. We were not bothered once by any time share sales calls.
We are looking forward to returning to South Beach and to this property in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KYinMAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

Stayed here after a cruise for one night and wanted to be close to Lincoln Road and the beach. This hotel had all we were looking for.

We arrived earlier than check in time - by about 4 hours - and they were very accommodating about getting us into a room.

I had always wanted to stay in one of the Miami Art Deco buildings and this fit the bill. Great front porch to sit on and people watch the South Beach street scene. Or, if you want a little privacy you can catch some rays on the compact decks up top adjacent to the fitness room and whirlpool. Music is piped in to all public spaces, but they have a great playlist. Some might find it annoying, but they probably wouldn't be staying in South Beach if they did.

We had a one-bedroom suite for my wife and I and our 21 year old son. We got the bedroom and he got the sofa. Both of us were very comfortable. While we were there for only one night, the kitchen facilities in each room would make this ideal for an extended stay.

Only two small problems: we were on the first floor in the back, which backs onto an alley, so you do get some alley noise - trash pick up, etc., but that's to be expected. And the wireless internet, while free, seemed painfully slow.

I was expecting it to be a more modern building, or at least have the Hilton name more prominently displayed. But the neon sign on the roof was for the building's original name and the Hilton name was embossed on the front door, which I missed first time around the block.

They have valet parking or you can street park (if you can find a space) and save a few coins. You can feed the meter with cash or credit card for up to 8 hours at a time. Parking is free between 3 and 9 a.m. Again, this may be annoying to some, but they probably shouldn't be coming to South Beach.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#12 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,934 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#16 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,610 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#52 of 212 in Miami Beach
6,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#28 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,196 reviews
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#21 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza

Address: 1430 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £343 - £397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza enjoys a premier address on Ocean Drive in the heart of the world-renowned Art Deco District of Miami Beach. Known for its local hot spots and activities, your anticipated South Beach experience will be full of sun-soaked beaches, trendy boutiques, and pulsating nightlife, and all just steps from your private front porch. Cross Ocean Drive and you'll find yourself on white sand beaches fringed by tropical palm trees and highlighted by the mesmerizing blue waters of the Atlantic Ocean. The one and two bedroom suites at the hotel reflect the historical elegance and timeless appeal of this classic motif which makes South Beach one of the most unique of all destinations. Each suite is tastefully inspired by the colors and designs of the Art Deco era and features a well-equipped kitchen with a stove top, microwave, refrigerator, dishwasher, coffee maker, toaster, and all utensils. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Grand Vacations at McAlpin-Ocean Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Hilton Hotel Miami Beach
Hilton Miami Beach
Miami Beach Hilton Hotel
Hilton Vacations Club Miami
Hilton Grand Vacations Club Miami Beach
Hilton Grand Vacations At McAlpin-Ocean Plaza Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing