We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked online got a great deal”
Review of Hotel Chelsea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Chelsea
Ranked #77 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
cape town
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Booked online got a great deal”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I booked on booking.com got a great price and the rooms we all nicely done in a chic style, bathrooms were updated. Internet was fast and free. Had a free drinks hour in the evening which was all we needed to get in the mood for a night in Miami.

The staff were friendly and helpful and overall it was a good hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barracudasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Barracudasa,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return.

Thank you,

Steven Morales
Vibe Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    368
    202
    95
    131
See reviews for
117
394
98
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We booked this hotel mainly for the free shuttle. We got to the shuttle boarding area at 7:02 pm and the shuttle had already been by bc it wasn't there. We had to wait till 8. The shuttle driver didn't help with our bags and seemed more interested in talking on his phone and eating. He didn't get a tip. The hotel was not real close to Ocean Drive or Lincoln Road. It's on Washington Ave and a good little walk to most stuff. There was no computer to print our boarding pass like was promised. We attempted to call the front desk for a wake up call, but could never get through.We were awakened at 3:30 am by the people above us. It sounded like they were having a parade with all the stomping and noise and talking. We were able to get the front desk finally and eventually the noise stopped. The shower doesn't have a door and the water goes every where. The morning shuttle was good. The guy was a little late, but drove with a purpose. I wish I had more than a dollar left to tip him. The staff was friendly. Overall, I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: The floors are all wood. If you can get a room without someone staying over you, you might avoid the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marctravis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
MarcTravis,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We apologize for the inconvenience our shuttle caused you upon arrival. Rest assure this is an isolated incident. Our location is in the heart of South Beach and just minutes away from all major sites and seconds from the beach. We appreciate your business and hope to see again you in the future.

Thank you,

Steven Morales
Vibe Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

This was a cute little boutique hotel that actually made me snap pictures of the room when I first saw it. The whole place just looked good. The beds were decent too.

Now, for the bad...

The top 40's pop music they were playing in the lobby was loud enough to hear in my room 3-4 doors away. It goes on all day, and I'm not sure if they ever stop, but I finally fell asleep sometime past midnight.

When the air conditioning unit was on in the room, you could smell... something. The best I could describe it would be old, moist wood in a cave. And maybe mold? My nose and throat were going crazy, so maybe it is mold. It was not allergies because I got better walking outside to dinner, then worse after I returned. I also felt better turning off the A/C unit and ended up sweating in my sleep from the heat, the lesser of the evils.

The worse thing that prompted me to write this review was the unauthorized credit card charge. I checked my credit card online and found an unknown charge. Calling the hotel, I find that I am being charged for 2 Cokes and Red Bull from the mini-bar. Perhaps a previous guest had taken the items, but it is the hotel's responsibility to CHECK THE GORRAM THING before accepting a new guest.

Their customer service is ridiculous and infuriating. They gave me a phone number to reach a John Morenas, but his voicemail is full and he is just not picking up. Calling the parent company, South Beach Group, to get the Accounting Dept was a waste of time as well. Does anyone pick up their phones over there? Are they just hoping I will go away if they ignore me long enough? I will go away, and take as many future guests I can with me.

Stay away from Hotel Chelsea.
Stay away from South Beach Group.

Room Tip: You can hear the loud music from the bar/lobby from the first floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Los Angeles
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I recently stayed at the Chelsea for a one day girls trip and I was pleasantly surpised at how great this hotel is! Check-in was quick and pleasant. The room was huge compared to what I expected. South Beach boutique hotels don't typically have spacious rooms, but this one had a huge king bed, couch, and plenty of walking space. The rooms were beautifully decorated and had great features like a nice flat panel tv and excellent stereo system. If you want to have a good time in SoBe then this is definitely worth checking out!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank UCLAdy04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Aug 17, 2009, 11:19 PM
The hotel was decent..I'm going to leave a review tomorrow. No signs of roaches like the other reviews..it's not the classiest place but the location is great. 2 blocks from the beach so you don't get all the noise from the strip. There is also a convenience store right across the street that has everything from liquor to toothbrushes which was a really big help. Most people buy liquor there and stash it in the fridge after taking out all the hotels expensive bottles! The biggest problem was booking the room. They dropped our reservations the day before we got there with no explanation and then gave us a hard time the day we got there..so be careful.




The hotel is directly across from B.E.D. and walking distance from most of the other clubs.


The rooms are small and dark. We stayed in 209 and 207 and there was a drastic difference in the amount of light. 209 was the nicer room. The free happy hour is from 7 to 8 and it includes vodka or gin only. The hotel has some passes for the clubs but they are mostly to get in free before 12 and most clubs don't get good until around 2am. Clubs in Miami are open until 5am so the party starts late.




Good clubs: Mansion, The fifth, and I absolutely loved LIV. We went on a Sunday night and saw Kanye West, John Legend, and Fat Joe.


I heard Nikki Beach is really nice but when we got there there were picking who could go in so we went to LIV instead..good choice it was gorgeous.


All the other clubs we went to: Dream, Sobe, Mango were all packed and had good music but they were ghetto. Not very upscale. We also went to B.E.D. one night but it was already 4 am so it was empty and looked dirty..might be better early on.




Most all the hotels have a bar and music so any of those hotels is a nice way to start off the night.




Hotel Clevelander had a great pool by the bar. We ordered drinks one day and drank them on floaties in the pool.


All the restaurants on Ocean drive and pretty much the whole surrounding area are pricey and have bad service but Cafe Milano and Cj's crab shack were great!


We went to Segfredo on Espanola way and they had the best Mojitos I've ever tasted..go for the happy hour b/c they're only $6! Ask for Silvia, she was a great waitress!




The best advice I have is to try your best to plan out everything and try not to think about the money! Miami is expensive but I had a great time! There are a lot of options so do your best to pick out the classy from the raunchy...

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank arosero23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Totally enjoyed the experience. The patio is wonderful with amazing music in the evenings. Just a few mins by walk to South Beach. There are plenty of restaurants right across the street and you can find food anytime. The hotel staff are very friendly. We did a late check in. Around 1Am and the person at the front desk went the extra mile in helping us order food. This hotel also offers a complimentary drop to the airport. They have amazing options for SUV's you could hire to drive down to Key West. We took one of their SUV's and it was a real steal for the price.

HIGHLY Recommend it. The room was in immaculate condition and the mini bar is awesome.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor have amazing A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank apsleo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Our first impression of this hotel was very good as we did not expect much from a 3 star hotel. For a small, boutique style hotel, it was very clean, cozy and comfortable. All the staff we encountered were nice, friendly and courteous. We had 3 people share 1 room with 2 double beds, and this was more than enough for us. Although the room itself was a little small, the beds were comfortable.

The rest rooms were more designed for couples as there was only a small glass divider between the shower area and the toilet and sink area which made it hard for us 3 girls to share the washroom to get ready. The water for the shower had about 3 different temperatures: cold, slightly warmer, and very hot. It was sometimes hard to control, but it was still manageable. Other than this, the washroom was very clean and neat.

The A/C was definitely loud when it went on, but just sounded like loud white noise. We also noticed that our floors must have been crooked because we saw a huge slanted gap between the door and our floor. This is probably why we heard everything that went on in the hallway (even at 5 am!) We stuffed a towel by the door the second night and this seemed to work to muffle the hallway noises. Walls are pretty thin in the hotel, but we didn't experience too many unruly neighbours.

A flat screen TV was provided in our room, but was very unclear. After asking the front desk to send someone up to fix it, they tried their best and made it more clear, but was still not to our liking. They promised to have someone else fix it the next day, but no one came. I guess this wasn't too much of a big deal since there were so many things to do in South Beach that we didn't watch TV too much, but it was a little annoying that it never got fixed in the 3 nights we were there.

The front lobby bar is excellent. The servers were friendly and fast. Happy hour was from 7-8 pm everyday and although the selection of drinks was minimal during happy hour (limited to gin, vodka, and rum with any soda or juice), it was still enough to get a buzz on. Drinks during normal hours were also pretty cheap, $3 shots, $4 beers, $5 frozen drinks, $6 martinis, mojitos and margarita's. The seating inside the lobby and on the outdoor patio were relaxing and entertaining as there was a DJ every night.

Hotel location was excellent as it was in the middle of everything and a short walking distance from the beach, restaurant and shops. The beach was about a 5 minute walk from our hotel and free beach towels were provided for our use. Although restaurants on Ocean Drive were quite expensive, it wasn't hard to find great small restaurants that were on the less expensive side (11th Street Diner, La Sandwicherie, Pizza Rustica). There is also a 7/11 close to the hotel where we went to get a quick snack. There is also a kitchen that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner at Hotel Chelsea as well.

The free shuttle service from the airport to the hotel and back to the airport was great. It picked us up from the airport (2nd floor of Gate G, door 26) right on time and picked us up from the Hotel about 15 minutes after the posted time. The drive from the airport to the hotel is about 45 minutes, and you save a lot of money with this free shuttle bus. Make sure you book your shuttle bus back from the hotel to the airport the night before you leave so the driver knows to come get you at the hotel.

Overall, our experience at Hotel Chelsea was very good, and we would definitely return for another girls weekend trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sindhum114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Whitelaw Hotel
Whitelaw Hotel
#63 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shelley
Hotel Shelley
#90 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#78 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Astor
Hotel Astor
#56 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
4.5 mi away
Oceanside Hotel
Oceanside Hotel
#104 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.9 mi away
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#86 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chelsea

Property: Hotel Chelsea
Address: 944 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5016
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Chelsea in Miami Beach is a 1936 luxury Art Deco gem that sits in the center of it all on Washington Avenue. Enjoy the South Beach Miami scenery from our patio while you have drinks from the bar, or a bite to eat from our restaurant. If you want to bathe in the Miami sun, we are just 2 blocks from Ocean Drive and the sands of the beach. For all your nightlife needs, the Chelsea is a short walk up or down the street from most South Beach nightclubs. This South Beach boutique hotel has been updated with Feng Shui accents for your comfort and pleasure. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 plus tax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Hotel Miami Beach
Hotel Chelsea Miami Beach, Florida
Chelsea Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing