We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cramped”
Review of Hotel Chelsea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Chelsea
Ranked #78 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
nyc
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cramped”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed in a two double bedroom with two others. It took us over an half an hour just to check in. There were hardly any space to move around or put our stuff in our rooms. The bed was uncomfortable, one side was caved in (thinking a heavy person might have slept on that side before). They also had a vent that would blow right in my face when sleeping.

The best thing at this hotel were the bartenders. They bartenders were really sweet and friendly.

The location was good to if you want to be around the club scene.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isnugglez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Good Evening isnugglez,

We value all of our guests feedback and would like to thank you for sharing yours with us! I am sorry that it took some time for you to get checked in. Perhaps we were experiencing issues with other guests, therefore it took some time. We take our guests comments very serious and though it pains us to hear that you experience was not amazing, we see every opportunity as a chance to learn and to grow.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    368
    202
    95
    132
See reviews for
117
394
98
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This hotel is much more of what you can see online.
It is small but super cute, confortable, sweet, romantic and moderm at the same.
Me and my husband had a great stay. Staff is beyond nice and helpful, even general manager is available to make you feel welcome.
I will recomend this hotel for sure!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laitely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Hello there laitely,

There is nothing that we love to see more then a wonderful review with 5 stars!! Thank you for sharing it with us! I am extremely glad to know that you had such an amazing time while staying with us! Our staff is always working hard to provide our guests with the best product overall that they can! I see that you were able to experience that first hand! :) Please come back for another memorable time!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I never write reviews but I must say do to the bad reviews which give this cute little hotel a skeptical cognition i want to say how much we LOVED it! My girlfriends and I had a blast!

Not only is it in the heart of south beach - closed to everything (you do NOT need a car) but it also has a great friendly services.

The room we stayed was clean and comfy ( eco-friendly) - I would deft, stay here again!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaolaMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Hotel chelsea was mediocre at best but still would recommend being that the location was great. Close and walking distance to the strip and the beach. Rooms were ok, needs a little updating. Atmosphere was nice, had happy hour daily @ 7pm where drinks were free. Actually one of the nicer boutiques in that area.

Room Tip: Daily hotel charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mia9980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Hello mia9980,

We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent experience with us! I am glad that you found the location of our property to be great!!! :) We are just blocks away from the strip and from everything else you will want to do while in South Beach! I see that you were able to take advantage of our complimentary cocktail hour from 7-8PM. Perfect time to mingle around and get to know your temporary neighbors.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
princeton, nj
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The hotel is small and chic and looks up to date. The rooms were cozy and small. Bathroom was tiny but clean and chic as well. The only issue with this hotel is that the walls and ceilings are not insulated and you can hear the person next to you sneeze and people walking on the floor above. That sucked because I was woken up several times by someone's footsteps and noise from above floor. There is no pool or fitness center at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamempress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Hello there jamempress,

We value all of our guests feedback and would like to thank you for sharing yours with us! We are indeed a boutique hotel therefore our rooms are a bit smaller then your average hotel. I see that you were content with the cleanliness of the hotel as well as the decor that we have. I will definitely mention this to the General Manager so that she is aware of your feedback! Unfortunately we do not have a pool nor a fitness center at our hotel. We do offer discounted passes to one of the hottest gyms in South Beach.

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This stylish gem is 2 blocks from the beach! The rooms are comfortable and clean. I have no compliants. I would recommend to anoyone that wants to be right in the mix and within walking distance to shopping, restaurants, and the BEACH!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelanieK77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Good Evening MelanieK77,

Thank you so much for the time you took to provide us with your honest feedback! I am glad to read that you had a nice time while staying with us. I see that you were content with the cleanliness of your room, as well as how comfortable it was. We are located just blocks away from the beach, and from all the action. We hope to see you soon!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The worst hotel I ever stayed in, the room was small no locks on the inside door. The second day I was there I put the do not disturb sign on the door but house keeping kept knocking on the door , the 2 day the came in ,lucky I caught the door I was naked getting read to take a shower ,can they not see the do not disturb sign, no vending machine high price food in the room. Also there is a $100 deposit you have to pay at time of check in, the only good thing about this hotel was it by south beach and clubs. Never again will I stay there.

Room Tip: None to say
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Good Evening Tracy C,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback regarding your recent experience with us! We take our guests comments very serious and though it pains us to hear that your experience was not positive, we see every opportunity as a chance to learn and to grow. I will definitely make sure to inform the General Manager about the issue that you experienced with the housekeeper and the "Do Not Disturb" sign. It is completely unacceptable for them to not take that sign into consideration and totally ignore it. I am extremely sorry about that inconvenience! Just like every other hotel we do take a hold for incidentals- just in case that something is damaged in the room. The hold is released as soon as you check out with us. I am terribly sorry that you did not have an amazing time, we would love to make it up to you!

Katrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Whitelaw Hotel
Whitelaw Hotel
#66 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shelley
Hotel Shelley
#89 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#76 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Astor
Hotel Astor
#58 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
4.5 mi away
Oceanside Hotel
Oceanside Hotel
#103 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.9 mi away
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#85 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chelsea

Property: Hotel Chelsea
Address: 944 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5016
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Chelsea in Miami Beach is a 1936 luxury Art Deco gem that sits in the center of it all on Washington Avenue. Enjoy the South Beach Miami scenery from our patio while you have drinks from the bar, or a bite to eat from our restaurant. If you want to bathe in the Miami sun, we are just 2 blocks from Ocean Drive and the sands of the beach. For all your nightlife needs, the Chelsea is a short walk up or down the street from most South Beach nightclubs. This South Beach boutique hotel has been updated with Feng Shui accents for your comfort and pleasure. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 plus tax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Hotel Miami Beach
Hotel Chelsea Miami Beach, Florida
Chelsea Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing