We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude unprofessional staff”
Review of Hotel Chelsea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Chelsea
Ranked #94 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Be aware of this places rude and overly authoritative staff. Checked in late Tuesday night with two friends. Gentleman at the front desk looked as if he hated his job and didn't make any eye contact our entire interaction. Room was clean, as is expected in a hotel, and it was nice to have a mini bar. Upon returning from a night of heavy drinking at 4am, we turned on the stereo and began to unwind. Apparantly the music was too loud, because we received a knock on our door from the rent a cop they keep on staff, and simultaneously the front desk also called to scold us about the music. The rude gentleman at the front desk literally said "turn off the music or we are going to kick you off the property.". First off, who says that to a paying guest? Secondly, it wasn't as if he had to call multiple times, it was the first and only time he called. I of course complied and we went to bed shortly thereafter. There are so many other great hotels in this chain that I've stayed at (Catalina being the best). Its a shame this poorly run joint is bringing down their entire brand. Will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Djtizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Good Afternoon Djtizzie,

We value all of our guests feedback, and would like to thank you for the time you took to share yours. We are terribly sorry that you did not receive amazing service while staying with us! We cannot have guests playing loud music at that time of the night. If there is a guest that complained we have to inform the guest to lower the volume of the music. The way that the front desk agent said this is not acceptable. I will make sure to inform the General Manager about your feedback. She will bring it up in the next weekly staff meeting so that it never happens again.

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

661 - 667 of 1,244 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

If you want a sleek hotel and care more about the decor than the amenities, stay here. There is no coffee maker in the room and no coffee service before 11 am, which is bizarre. In addition, when I asked about taxi service to the airport, I was told the cab rate and not about the free shuttle. There is no counter space in the bathroom, the lighting is horrible, and the shower doesn't have a curtain or a door, so water gets everywhere. Only mirror is in the bathroom. I would not stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Hello Anne B,

Thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us, regarding your recent stay! I am extremely sorry to read that you did not have a 5 star time with us! I will make sure that the front desk agents are aware of the shuttle service hours. Perhaps it was a misunderstanding on the agents behalf. I will also provide the General Manager with your feedback, so that she is aware of this.

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I expected it to be the party central, since it was right on Washington and 10th. PLUS, I had the worst room in the place - first floor and right next to the bar. And what a pleasant surprise. Yes I stayed mid-week, but it was unlike most places I stay on South Beach, meaning the hotel is in good shape, the rooms are in great shape, the staff was friendly, and you get free drinks 6-7pm. I'd stay there again in a second.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor away from Washington Ave. Also, make sure you are in the bar between 6-7 for free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Good Afternoon Ben,

Thank you so much for the time you took to share your honest feedback with us! We are very glad to know that you had a nice time here! I see that you enjoyed everything that we have to offer. Perhaps the next time you stay with us you can request a room on a higher floor, towards the back of the building. They are more quiet then the ones in the front, that are close to the lobby/bar. Please come back soon!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Made a last-minute booking at this hotel with a friend and had a great time. Good rooms and great staff - fun lobby bar as well. Not far from the beach but also quiet enough for a good sleep. Thanks to Luis Rivera and team for a great stay!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Anton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Good Afternoon Anton S,

Thank you so much for your wonderful 5 star feedback! We are great to know that you were able to get a last minute room with us. We are delighted to read that you had such a great time! Please come back soon for another memorable stay! We would love to have you!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Great location. Friendly staff. Rooms were good. Would have liked facility to have breakfast provided, even continental would be nice and convenient. Miami Beach is such a fun place to visit any time of the year. This hotel is near Lincoln Road for shopping and a short walk to restaurants and the beach.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Hello there Julia l,

We would like to thank you for the time you took to share your wonderful 5 star feedback with us! We are glad to read that your had a great time! Our location is in the heart of South Beach, just blocks away from all the action that you will want to be apart of. Our staff is always providing our guests with the best service! We do not offer breakfast here but there are many great places to enjoy breakfast at around the hotel. We hope you come back soon!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Our room had art deco character which was a good experience. Bathroom was also chic with good hot water shower. Our Lamp was not working and few of the power outlets also were faulty.
Bed Mattresses was not comfortable.

South beach Miami is about clubs and ocean drive. Both of these is walking distance. Also front desk helped in giving VIP passes for clubs.

2 days is good enough to enjoy the party scene and walk around the south beach Miami.

Recommendation for travellers, it is ok to stay in Washington Av and not try to get hotels on Ocean Drive. Little bit cheaper but not far for fun.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G1uravS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

HAPPY NEW YEAR G1uravS,

Thank you for the time you took to provide us with your honest feedback, regarding your recent stay with us! We are a historic Art Deco hotel, with a touch of modern South Beach. I wish that we were aware of the lamp that was not working while you were with us. We would have definitely sent someone up to resolve that immediately! We are within walking distance of all the hottest spots in South Beach. We hope to see you soon!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This hotel is affordable, and in a good location but the service really lets this place down. Upon arrival we were greeted by a rude girl, who wasnt interested in helping us. She wasnt interested in helping us, and even charged my card for a $100.00 deposit without even informing me or asking me. I Understand you need to pay deposits, but she could have said something. The rooms were not very clean and the bathroom was questionable. The whole room had a stale airconditioner smell.
Everyday when we left the hotel and came back in, no one greeted us or cared less about us. Just really terrible service. 3 nights was far too long here, and I would not stay here again. I am a travel agent, so I will not be sending any of my clients here. It is worthwhile to pay a little bit more and go to a hotel that is worthwhile.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Good Afternoon Clare O,

We would like to thank you for sharing your honest feedback regarding your recent stay with us! I am extremely sorry to read that your stay with us was not a 5 star one! I will definitely make sure to inform the General Manager about your feedback! We do indeed take a hold for $100 for incidentals. You should have been informed of this by the front desk agent that was checking you in. We take customer service extremely serious here at Hotel Chelsea and it pains me to hear that you were not given amazing service! The next time that you have clients coming to South Beach I would love to personally make sure that their stay with us is an all-out success!!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shelley
Hotel Shelley
#83 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,612 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#72 of 214 in Miami Beach
3,414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Whitelaw Hotel
Whitelaw Hotel
#60 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#89 of 214 in Miami Beach
4,877 reviews
4.5 mi away
Oceanside Hotel
Oceanside Hotel
#114 of 214 in Miami Beach
352 reviews
5.5 mi away
Waterside Hotel South Beach
Waterside Hotel South Beach
#101 of 214 in Miami Beach
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chelsea

Address: 944 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5016
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £105 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Chelsea in Miami Beach is a 1936 luxury Art Deco gem that sits in the center of it all on Washington Avenue. Enjoy the South Beach Miami scenery from our patio while you have drinks from the bar, or a bite to eat from our restaurant. If you want to bathe in the Miami sun, we are just 2 blocks from Ocean Drive and the sands of the beach. For all your nightlife needs, the Chelsea is a short walk up or down the street from most South Beach nightclubs. This South Beach boutique hotel has been updated with Feng Shui accents for your comfort and pleasure. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 plus tax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Hotel Miami Beach
Hotel Chelsea Miami Beach, Florida
Chelsea Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing