We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent boutique hotel”
Review of Hotel Chelsea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Chelsea
Ranked #77 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great location. Rooms were small but didn't stay in room much. Nightclub right across street. Many eating places nearby. 2 blocks from beach. Daily free happy hour was great. I return back to hotel because of great location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Good Day Shanda S,

Thank you for the time you took to share your honest feedback with us! We are definitely located in a prime spot on South Beach. Everything that you will want to experience is right around the corner from us! We are indeed a boutique hotel therefore our rooms are a bit smaller, then your average hotel room. We offer a complimentary cocktail hour from 7-8PM for all of our guests. Please come back again soon! We would love to have you!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

617 - 623 of 1,204 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is in a good location -- about two big blocks from the beach and about 7 blocks from Lincoln Road. The room was very contemporary. It had a European feel to it, with a low bed and a modern décor. The highlight for us was the humungous bathtub for two. Some negatives: parking is astronomical; and I can see how it could be a disappointing visit with the wrong room or a noisy crowd.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank greglewen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Good Afternoon greglewen,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and all of our future guests! We are located in the heart of South Beach, just blocks from all the action! Parking has always been an issue here in South Beach. We offer convenient valet parking for a fee. We hope that you would stay with us again in the future, when coming to Miami!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

If you use the valet service make sure you walk around your car and check for damages before you drive away.My car was parked extreamly,unusually,close to the one in front when I collected it,so the $1000 worth of damages to the radiator,front bumper,went unnoticed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Hello there Ruth M,

We value all of our guests feedback and would like to thank you for sharing yours with us! We are terribly sorry that you had an issue with the valet company that we use. I can provide you with the contact information for them so that you can file a complaint. We advise guests always to check their cars once they have received them.

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

My friend and I recently stayed at Hotel Chelsea for a long weekend getaway. After reading reviews and looking at several hotels we chose Chelsea. Great choice! Service shuttle was easy, location was great, staff was friendly and hotel looked great. Don't forget Happy Hour every night! Thanks to our bartender Karen we made the best of our nights with her suggestions. She was great and set the tone for night! Located near Ocean Drive we were able walk to dining, shopping and most importantly the Beach. Staff was great, Hotel was cute and I plan on staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zeus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Good Afternoon Zeus G,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, regarding your recent experience here at Hotel Chelsea. We are delighted to read that you had a great time! We offer great money saving amenities, the complimentary R/T shuttle service from MIA just being one of them. We are located in the heart of South Beach just blocks away from all the hottest spots. Karen is a lovely bartender and all of our guests love her! I will make sure she is aware of your kind praise! Please come back again soon!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Where do I begin?! We were told by the receptionist that it was a "pet friendly" hotel but it's just a way for them to get more money from you by making you pay $25 per night per dog! There was no place to walk our dogs anywhere near the hotel. Our dogs made no mess inside of the hotel anywhere. HOWEVER, after I checked out and was already home from vacation I was overlooking my bank statement and there were 3 different charges from the Chelsea Hotel. I knew the one charge was for our stay (which is overpriced anyways for the tiny, dirty room and bad, non - English speaking service you get there) so I called the hotel to ask about the other charges. I was told that my dogs had peed on the bed. My dogs are very well behaved and trained, but just to be safe I made sure that my dogs had left no mess before I checked out of the hotel. I knew that what I was told was not true. After telling them that there was no mess on the bed when I left the response I got was "you can not prove that there was not a mess". They basically made up a scenario so that they could charge my card $500!
On another hand, we were there for 3 nights and our room was only cleaned once! The one time it dis get cleaned the cleaners walked straight into the room while I was still asleep? (and I even had the do not disturb sign on the door) Sand covered the floors everywhere you walked and there wasn't one employee that spoke fluent English. The front desk receptionist was very rude when it came to checking in. I highly recommend you stay at different hotel unless you want an extremely overpriced piece of crap hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ayoho23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Good Afternoon ayoho23,

We value all of our guests feedback and would like to thank you for sharing yours with us, and all of our future guests! We are a pet friendly hotel, as we allow dogs here. We only charge our guests for such incidents if they happened. If our housekeepers found pee on the bed, we have to charge the guest as we cannot use those sheets anymore. We apologize that our housekeepers walked into your room without permission. I am sure that they knocked and since you were sleeping they got no response and assumed that you were not there. I will make sure to pass on your feedback to our General Manager. We are truly sorry that your stay with us was less then enjoyable.

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The Hotel is not so bad. The rooms are normal, the bed and the bathroom are good. The room looks so so dark (dark brown the floor, the painting of the wall) and the lights are feeble.
The Hotel is not so bad. The rooms are normal, the bed and the bathroom are good. The room looks so so dark (dark brown the floor, the painting of the wall) and the lights are feeble.
My girlfriend and me were so surprised about the bad way of the staff: i asked to the receptionist a glass of hot water for a tea because my girlfriend was a little sick. After 5 minutes (at midnight) that i was waiting for it, the 2 receptionist told me: "you can go in the kitchen downstairs..there you can find a microwave". So i went there, but i was alone..alone with my microwave, without glass and water. I came back to the receptionist asking for a the water and the glass. The answer was: " wait or you can use the glass from your room". So, i took the glass in my room and i made myself the hot water in the dirty kitchen. I brought the hot glass without a tray. Nobody helps me. After that, i came back again to the reception asking for a spoon...and the receptionist took it from the drawer in the reception and the man told me that i could clean it with the towel in my room..No words! Ah, he asked me to return the spoon (at 1 AM) to him.

The position is good. A bit noise in the room from the lobby.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank filippo036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We arrived close to midnight and the gentleman who checked us in was quite nice - he was the last personable staff we encountered in our stay. While they hotel offers a free happy hour the bartenders are quite frankly the least friendly people on the planet. Totally engaged in their own world and not at all with concern with the guests - and this was the attitude we found from the staff in general. Our room was 'fine' - I think on a cleanliness scale it was under par. Luckily we were put in a room towards the back of the hotel so we were not subject to the noise from the bar, but the walls in the hotel are paper thin. We could hear everything that happened in the hallway with crystal clarity, and the people above us sounded like they were running a horse race in their room. There are some nice style elements to the hotel, but it is clear they threw it together on a budget and the execution is just not there. GREAT location - just so disappointing that they don't know how to use it. Lots of other hotels in the area, most don't advertise on hotel websites. Next time I would just go down and check out a few hotels before booking.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank td_ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Hello there td_ed,

Thank you so much for the time you took to share your honest feedback with us, and all of our future guests! I am terribly sorry to read that our bartenders did not provide you with outstanding customer service! I will make sure that the bar manager is aware of this, so that they can speak with the staff. I am delighted to read that you were content with the location of our property! We are in the heart of South Beach just blocks away from all the hot spots here.

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shelley
Hotel Shelley
#78 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,564 reviews
0.1 mi away
Whitelaw Hotel
Whitelaw Hotel
#68 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,543 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#72 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Astor
Hotel Astor
#59 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,113 reviews
0.9 mi away
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#90 of 212 in Miami Beach
4,715 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Kent Hotel
The Kent Hotel
#99 of 212 in Miami Beach
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chelsea

Address: 944 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5016
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £73 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Chelsea in Miami Beach is a 1936 luxury Art Deco gem that sits in the center of it all on Washington Avenue. Enjoy the South Beach Miami scenery from our patio while you have drinks from the bar, or a bite to eat from our restaurant. If you want to bathe in the Miami sun, we are just 2 blocks from Ocean Drive and the sands of the beach. For all your nightlife needs, the Chelsea is a short walk up or down the street from most South Beach nightclubs. This South Beach boutique hotel has been updated with Feng Shui accents for your comfort and pleasure. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 plus tax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Hotel Miami Beach
Hotel Chelsea Miami Beach, Florida
Chelsea Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing