We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel.. if You Like Cockroaches”
Review of Hotel Chelsea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Chelsea
Ranked #78 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 28 March 2010

I stayed at the Hotel Chelsea with some girlfriends for a night out in South Beach at the end of February 2010.

First impressions:
- The hotel advertises valet... but we had to find our own parking after circling a very busy street because no one was around (we were able to find a meter for a reasonable rate down the street)
- We had to wait over an hour to check in as there is only one front desk agent (which is understandable for a boutique hotel but there was one group of 15 people ahead of us, clearly they needed more staff that day!)
- Great location, 2 blocks away from the beach and close to the clubs
- Rooms were very art deco, very funky (but VERY slow free wi-fi)
- Be sure to clarify what's included in the happy hour as the bartender told us after we got our drinks
- Front desk was nice enough to give us complimentary club passes

We were still relatively happy with out choice until we went out for a late night and found a large cockroach in the shower the next morning. Front desk sent over maintenance to spray it immediately and he actually laughed when we told him that it shouldn't have been there in the first place. We were going to check out later that afternoon but there was no sympathy from front desk about the incident or even an offer to let us shower in a different room (since the chemicals were still in the shower). The manager was not on-site and I emailed after I returned home but still no response on her part.

I've worked in hotels for years and I know that this is no way to treat customers or run a hotel. I could only imagine what else we could have been sleeping in that night! Don't stay at this hotel unless you want to find out.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tafan03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,197)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Chelsea
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

822 - 828 of 1,197 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2010

My sister and I ate, shopped and dined. Chelsea was clean, accommodating as far as amenities and location. Great chic hotel!

Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
Thank CrystalR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2010

I wasn't informed about the charges for calls but very abusive the fact of charging $1 dollar per minute for calls to conecticut while the rest of hotels in the area just charge 20 cents!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YENNYCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2010

This hotel is located on Washington avenue, which is undoubtedly the best place to stay in south beach. All major attractions like the South Beach, Ocean Drive and Linchon Road are within very short walking distances. All major night clubs are situated around the hotel..the hotel offers free shuttle to and from the miami international airport, offers free drinks everyday during its cocktail hour in the evening, and also passes for some of the night clubs in the area...The hotel staff was very friendly too.. highly recommended !!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShikhirG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2010

Would not recommend, both my wife and I left with bug bites all over our bodies

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gone4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2010

This hotel is in a fantastic location, and if you are looking for a weekend of thumping tecno music and and clubbing until 2am- go for it! Unfortunately, though I do enjoy a few drinks, I was looking more for a place near the beach. The hotel is clean, and though the rooms reflect the party atmosphere, they are nice. We had some difficulties with the a/c being either too cold or too hot, but the beds are comfortable, and in our case, clean. My biggest complaint was the obnoxious tecno music that went from 9pm until 3am both Saturday and Sunday as well as hearing the upstairs neighbors clunk around upstairs until 6am. However, if you are in Miami to hit up Lincoln street, the beach, and would like to be up all night- this is the place. Affordable, clean, and fun- ideal for the college spring breaker.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelmast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

Pros -
This hotel is in a great location, within walking distance to Ocean Drive, Collins Ave, Lincoln Road. There are many shops, bus routes and an internet cafe right on the doorstep of this hotel. We loved the location.
All staff that we spoke with were very helpful and gave us any information we required and more. Helped us to arrange all our trips and tours.
Restaurant on-site, but we did not eat here so cannot review.
Free shuttle bus from airport BUT it only runs every 2 hours. We used this but had to wait 1 and a half hours for it as we had just missed one, no other problems with it apart from the timings.
Microwave and ice machine available downstairs
Great shower, lovely constant hot water.
Comfortable beds
Free bar 7-8pm
Fridge, stereo, iron and safe in room
Towels available

Cons -
Rooms and hallway have very dim lighting - making it hard to see.
No tea or coffee making facilities in the room
A fridge and basket full of food and alcohol - obviously at a highly inflated price if you consume them!, we asked for all of this to be removed BUT it wasn't
First night we were there it was very loud at night but didn't hear anything on any of the other nights probably because we were exhausted with all the sightseeing

All in all we had no problems with this hotel but we are not picky people. The hotel was great for the price. The decorating in the rooms was a bit rough around the edges but that is only a minor thing. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeHappy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shelley
Hotel Shelley
#80 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,555 reviews
0.1 mi away
Whitelaw Hotel
Whitelaw Hotel
#68 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,534 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chesterfield Hotel
Chesterfield Hotel
#72 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Astor
Hotel Astor
#60 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,100 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#93 of 210 in Miami Beach
770 reviews
0.5 mi away
El Paseo Hotel
El Paseo Hotel
#29 of 210 in Miami Beach
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chelsea

Address: 944 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5016
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £68 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Chelsea in Miami Beach is a 1936 luxury Art Deco gem that sits in the center of it all on Washington Avenue. Enjoy the South Beach Miami scenery from our patio while you have drinks from the bar, or a bite to eat from our restaurant. If you want to bathe in the Miami sun, we are just 2 blocks from Ocean Drive and the sands of the beach. For all your nightlife needs, the Chelsea is a short walk up or down the street from most South Beach nightclubs. This South Beach boutique hotel has been updated with Feng Shui accents for your comfort and pleasure. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 plus tax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Hotel Miami Beach
Hotel Chelsea Miami Beach, Florida
Chelsea Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing