We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive Collection”

The Wolfsonian - Florida International University
Ranked #13 of 118 things to do in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A museum, library, and research center that invites exploration of the persuasive power of art and design.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Impressive Collection”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Love the Wolfsonian Museum and the whole story behind how it was formed. Hats off to Mitchell Wolfson Jr. for donating his collection to Florida International University. My favorite was the art deco tiles saved from the theater in Pennsylvania that are now displayed in the lobby. Great gift shop with some of the best design and art deco books available.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank CubbyStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian R, Public Relations Manager at The Wolfsonian - Florida International University, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for visiting! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed the shop.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    183
    56
    17
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
432 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Good Display/Beautiful Building”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We read the museum had a display depicting design in Italy from years between WWI and WWII. These were interesting years in Europe so we decided to have a look. Well worth the time and fee to visit.
The museum itself is nicely laid out and is in the art deco style prominent in South Beach.
The show displayed every day household items from chairs to teapots and much grander stuff like renderings for many buildings and the layout for a world's fair that never happened because of WWII.
If you like are art and design this place is worth the hour or so it takes to wander through.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MurTheExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian R, Public Relations Manager at The Wolfsonian - Florida International University, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
We're so glad you took the time to visit and wander through the collection. We hope you'll be back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Interesting collections in a great Deco building”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

If you had all the money to collect whatever you wanted and then create a museum the Wolfsonian is what you would get. Amazing and beautiful pieces from the era between WWI and WWII. Interesting to see pieces that usually are not PC to exhibit. (Nazi and Fascist propaganda) Unique and stunning galleries.
I wish there was more info on the history of the building itself - or maybe we missed it.
Worth visiting.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank KBSilverSpring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice museum of design”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I liked the curatorial style demonstrating how history had influenced design and materials. However, as I come from London I'm afraid it couldn't match V&A which is free. You can visit the Wolfsonian on Friday nights between 6-9pm for free, but usually its around 8 dollars.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lucinda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“huge inside...nice AC to get out of heat -”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

as part of our small group art deco tour - we were allow inside for a small part to view a ' gold gilded facade ' gorgeous and some art.. must go on Fridays when it's FREE to the public...

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian R, Public Relations Manager at The Wolfsonian - Florida International University, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thanks for visiting, hope you'll come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wolfsonian - Florida International University also viewed

 

Been to The Wolfsonian - Florida International University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing