We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Palms Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$532
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$466
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$528
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$489
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$610
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$421
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fontainebleau Miami Beach(Miami Beach)
US$375
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$341
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
W South Beach(Miami Beach)
US$414
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$358
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Grand Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
US$528
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$204
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Eden Roc Miami Beach Resort(Miami Beach)
US$321
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$283
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Shore Club South Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mondrian South Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
US$257
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
SLS South Beach(Miami Beach)
US$371
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (2,909)
Filter reviews
2,909 results
Traveller rating
1,540
914
248
111
96
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,540
914
248
111
96
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouth beachpool areaocean viewbeautiful hotelchairs and umbrellascab rideoceanfront roomhotel restaurantprivate beachdirect access to the beachbeach servicelincoln roadvalet parkingbeach towelsweddingtikiarmand
Filter
Updating list...
1,674 - 1,679 of 2,909 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2011

This hotel is exactly like in the pictures! The staff throughout the hotel was amazing, and there were so many places to relax. There are multiple patios, the pool, and plenty of hammocks. I even went to the hammocks after 2 a.m. and enjoyed the breeze and the sound of the ocean. The beach is wonderful - white sand, clear water, and turquoise umbrellas. LOVED it!!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room. These have more windows (including one in the bathroom!). Makes all the difference :-)
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irena85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EBarkey, Director of Guest Experience at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2011

Dear Irena85, Thank you for your lovely comments and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our staff’s amazing services and the serenity of our hotel, pool and beach areas, as much as we do. We look forward to seeing you relax in the peaceful sway of our hammocks again soon. Sincerely, Elena Barkey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Everything was nice, (room, pool, beach).
Miami was not what i expected.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petrosthess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

stayed here for 2 nights, great experience, but visit during a time they were doing some renovations and part of our floor was closed and quite dusty. The noise did not bother me during the day, as we were not in our room for the most part of it, and they were done by the time we got back to cal it a night. The pool was nice, as was the breakfast buffet...fresh omlette and every kind of hot breakfast food you can think of. Love that we can just walk to the back and be at the beach, and waiter would come right up to you take your order and bring your food right to the beach, love it! Overall, the room was very nice, had ocean view which was nice as well. Nice and clean, nice sheets, bathrooms was nice and clean as well and complimentary bathrooms to use. Made and appt for the spa, and it was awesome...very relaxing and well worth it. Nice weekend getaway....

Room Tip: the higher the room, the better the view
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SassyGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

My first impression of this hotel from the outside and the lobby is that the website makes the hotel look a lot newer than it actually is. Hotel is situated on 30th & Collins which is north of south beach (south beach is between 1 - 23rd streets). I like the fact that is away from all the crowds and you basically get the beach to yourself if you go during the off season like September. However, the beach front has A LOT of kelp and during hurricane season a lot of jelly fish is brought to shore. Another annoying thing about this beach front property are the crows. I don't know where they come from or why they keep landing on the Palms property but they WOULD NOT stop crowing. It got so bad that people started throwing water bottles at them to shoo them away.

Cost:
We paid about $1,000 for 3 nights from Friday - Monday in September. The Palms seems to be a very popular destination for weddings as we saw about 4 weddings during our stay. The hotel charges a $14/day hotel fee which covers internet, beach towel, beach chairs and beach umbrella. The 18% gratuity is tacked on to everything your order at this resort. Then they tack on tax on top of that. The tax rate they charged us was 8.7% which is a lot higher than the 7% tax charged by the rest of the county. SO BEWARE! My girl friend and I stopped eating at the Palms after our first day when we found out about the ridiculous tax on top of gratuity but I guess most of South Beach does that.

Rooms:
Despite the ridiculous resort fees/premium you are paying, the rooms are very nice. Very clean, beds are really comfortable and it is as expected of a 4 star hotel. The Palms is dedicated to being green so you will find an interesting sink above the toilet which recycles the water you use to wash your hands to flush the toilet. Room comes with 2 comfy robes and slippers. Towels are nice and plush. Rainfall shower head is very relaxing.

Staff:
Maids are attentive, prompt and nightly turn-down service is available. The staff at this hotel is very friendly and I really appreciated the late check out (they let us stay until 2pm!).

Essenia Restaurant:
Service at the Essenia restaurant can be quite slow (and i wrote a comment about this). The breakfast buffet is $24 and to be honest the food didn't look very appetizing. However, the omelet and waffle bar is really good. Drinks are super expensive. Cocktails are $15+ plus 18% gratuity and again tax on top of that.

Aveda Spa:
Loved that there were promotions when we stayed there. We paid $115 for 80 minute massage and it was awesome. The massues was great. The oil they used was great. The massage rooms were clean and expected. No real ammenities at this spa except for a co-ed steam room and co-ed waiting room. The ladies locker room is very small with only 2 showers and 1 toilet.

Would I come back to the Palms? Maybe not, next time I come to Miami I would stay at a beach front hotel closer to 24th street. The beach is little more happening there with less kelp.

To summarize:

Good:
- friendly staff
- awesome rooms
- accommodating for late check out
- on site spa

Bad:
- far from Lincoln blvd & Ocean Drive ($10 - $15 cab ride)
- ridiculous resort fees ($14/day hotel fee, 18% gratuity, 9% tax on top of gratuity)
- lots of kelp on beach
- annoying crows that won't go away
- slow waiter service

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lululemonaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EBarkey, Guest Relations Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

Dear Lululemon,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us, regarding your recent stay at the Palms Hotel & Spa. I am delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our Aveda Spa and services and that our staff was able to accommodate your requests and make your stay truly enjoyable with their warm and personable hospitality and care. I regret that you did not find value to our hotel fee, which does include the following guest amenities; WIFI access throughout guestrooms and hotel, umbrellas and beach chairs at our pool and beach oasis, local calls, daily newspaper service and in room coffee and tea amenities. The hotel fee and all inclusions / gratuities are explained on our hotel website and directly with our guests at time of consumption by our friendly staff. We do take the cleanliness of our beach and safety of our guests very seriously at the Palms and are always working with the city to keep Miami Beach as beautiful as possible. We do hope that you will return to us for another stay, as we would love the opportunity to welcome you back again in person. Please feel free to contact me directly for any further assistance or bookings.

Sincerely,
Elena Barkey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

This hotel is so nice, private and clean. Great food and spa. Service was great and everyone was so nice. Will always go back to this hotel. The rooms can be pricey so try to get a good rate or discount but it's well worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luric21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EBarkey, Guest Relations Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

Dear Luric21,

Thank you for your lovely comments and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the Palms Hotel & Spa again and again! Please contact our In House Reservations Department for the best available rates or feel free to reach out to me directly so I may assist with your future reservations. Looking forward to your next visit!

Regards,
Elena Barkey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews