We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Palms Hotel & Spa
Ranked #34 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Palms with my wife for two nights this week. The weather wasn't great, but that wasn't the hotel's fault. From Erwin the Reservations Manager, through to all the staff in the hotel and spa, everyone was a pleasure to deal with. The room was a tad small, but the view made up for it - we stayed in an oceanfront king room on the seventh floor, with an unobstructed view of the beach and ocean. The bathrooms were a little weird - two separate rooms, one with a toilet and sink, and another across from it with a shower and sink. They also had some spots that were a little dirty, but nothing terrible.

The pool area was nice and clean, with a very attentive staff presence. The spa was also very good - we each got massages and enjoyed the entire experience there.

The negative is, of course, the constitution going on on both sides of the hotel. During the day it is impossible to avoid the noise, and it is quite noisy. In the room, itself, it isn't that bad, but you constantly hear the beeping of backing up trucks. Outside at the pool, and even on the beach near the hotel, it is very noisy.

The only negative about the hotel I would point to is they weren't very helpful with a request for late checkout. Checkout is 11AM, and they allow you to stay until Noon with no charge. After that, they basically charge $50 per hour of extra time. Maybe the hotel was booked full and they needed the room, or maybe this is standard practice. But I'd have thought they could have been a little more accommodating.

All in all, we enjoyed out time at the hotel and would go back. The price could not be beaten for what we got. Tip: email or call the hotel directly to get their best price - they offered me a price better than anything else I saw online, even than what they listed on their own website.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank naft2717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear naft2717,
Thank you for being our recent guests at The Palms Hotel & Spa and for your lovely comments regarding our attentive and outstanding team members. I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We try our best to accommodate late check-outs; however, during certain times of the year this is not always possible, but I do regret any inconvenience this might have caused you. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your massages and we look forward to welcoming you back next time that your travels bring you to Miami Beach.
Warm regards,
Alma Cue
The Palms Hotel & Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,279
    822
    214
    102
    86
See reviews for
659
1,017
73
198
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The hotel is just fine, on the beach, in Miami Beach, walking distance from South Beach, etc. Relatively fair value for money. I got assistance from the concierge to send back stuff I bought over the internet. That's all I have to say on the positive side about the hotel.
To my surprise, despite having let them know in advance that I was going to receive packages bought over the internet, I found out on checking out that the hotel charges US$ 5 per package for 'handling'. Moreover, I was also charged (no receipt was issued despite having asked for it) additional US$ 5 per piece of left-luggage per day.
To be fair again, I was informed upon inquiry that the charge for valet-parking was US$ 35 per day. Nevertheless the fact that the the extra charge for parking was more expensive than the car rental itself, supports my feeling that this hotel can be classified as anything but 'all-inclusive'. Enjoy the hotel while the use of the elevator is still free of extra charges ;-)

Room Tip: I neither used the SPA nor had breakfast so I just said 'average'
See more room tips
Green Features: About average for the towel management. A highlight: A clever toilet allow people to wash their hands right after flushing the toilet. That water, I think, refills the toilet tank to be used on the next flush.
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JR10vuelve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear JR10vuelve,
Thank you for taking the time to review The Palms Hotel & Spa. I apologize for the inconvenience and regret that you were not informed about our package handling fee. We value your feedback; without it we would not be able to address certain areas of opportunity and look towards improvement in the future. In reviewing our fees including our parking fees we have found to be competitively priced and in line with other local luxury Miami Beach and South Beach properties. As a matter of fact, our parking fee is less than most hotels in our competitive set. I wish parking was more plentiful in this area. Thank you for the opportunity to address your concerns. We do hope next time your travels bring you to Miami Beach to welcome you back and provide you with the warm hospitality and excellent service The Palms is known for!
Warm regards,
Alma Cue
The Palms Hotel & Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bensalem
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Bartender always smiling and helpful.
Quick car service at valet
Beautiful grounds
Elevator on Mezzine poor.. Took steps all week
Hospitality / maid service needs poor
Good location
Needs more entertainment

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bstraiton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I had several business meetings during October 2013 and split my guests between the Red Hotel and the Palms, each one in front of the other. As in the Red, my guests in The Palms were very well treated. I had the great luck that one of their valets, Luis, is a neighbor of some friends living nearby. He is a living encyclopedia about the hotel, not counting the wonderful treatment to my guests by him and his colleagues.

The decoration of the hotel gives it a very unique character. Security is always there, but, unless you are in this industry, you will probably not notice, is very unobtrusive while one feels very safe. Their restaurant Essentia, is very good, also its bar. Still remember one of the best Ceviche I ever ate. As in the Red Hotel, public restrooms are clean and well supplied and the staff is very unobtrusive but ready to help.

During nights, maintenance staff make the property look like new, and they are like ghosts, so silent that no one can notice unless is at 4 AM there.

This is a very competitive area with places like The Fountainbleu, Eden Rock, The Setai, The W Hotel, The Riu and The Red within walking distance, not counting the Beachwalk and the beach itself, also a mile from Millionaires Row (I stayed.there in The former Playboy Magazine Castle Beach Club, now several hotels in the same property and out of its former Five Star glory).

If you have a group, read my tip. You will avoid what happened to edecker2.

Room Tip: If you are booking a group, ALWAYS, as in ANY other hotel, contact their sales manager or group sale...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonalReagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for not only choosing The Palms Hotel & Spa to accommodate your guests but also for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your kind words in regards to our “well kept property, wonderful patio, excellent restaurant, and great valet”. Thank you as well for recognizing Luis’ excellent service. It was certainly our pleasure to host your guests and we look forward to many more future stays!
Warm regards,
Alma Cue
The Palms Hotel & Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I had the unfortunate task of arranging travel for 8 of my collegues for a conference held at this hotel last month. I was told to book all guests under one name because this person was going to be paying for all rooms on his corpoate card. Upon arrival the guests could change the reservation to their name while leaving the payment info with the corporate card. The reservation specialist managed to first book numerous rooms for the wrong nights, then didn't book 2 of the 8 rooms and luckily had extra space, and finally when the guests arrived they were told that they would have to give their credit cards in order to stay at the hotel. One of our guests was almost turned away because she did not have a credit card to provide! All of this because I was originally told that the process would be much easier if booked all under 1 name and 1 credit card. I also specifically requested that all receipts for the rooms be given to the card holder and of course none of them were and 1 month later I still can not get the hotel to send me the receipts for the rooms. This was really by far the worst experience I've ever had arranging travel for work and I would advise any company to stay as far away from this hotel as possible. It was a nightmare and embarassing for or traveling guests.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edecker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear edecker2,
I sincerely regret the inconveniences you and your colleagues have experienced and would like the opportunity to speak with you directly. We value your opinion and have taken the appropriate measures with our team to ensure this does not happen again. Please contact me at alma@thepalmshotel.com so that I may speak with you regarding this matter and hopefully we can restore your confidence in our hotel.
Sincerest regards,
Alma Cue
The Palms Hotel & Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
175 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

.........A weekend getaway favorite of mine in Miami. This is a property that I enjoy when I want to be at peace in my own city. The restaurant Essencia is very good. Chef Julie uses mostly locally sourced ingredients and has a clever, healthy menu. I love to come here to sleep, eat, lounge on the beach and poolside.........and nightlife is a very short cab ride down Collins Avenue...

Room Tip: Ocean View............
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NomadKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
It was a pleasure to have you as our guests. Thank you for taking the time to review The Palms Hotel & Spa. We appreciate your lovely comments regarding our property and look forward to your next visit.
Warm regards,
Alma Cue
The Palms Hotel & Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I went to Miami for my 28th birthday with my fiancé; so glad I picked to stay at The Palms hotel and spa. Everyone was so polite and helpful anything I ask for was done. The room was beautiful, perfect for the two of us. We were in one of the ocean view rooms on the 9th floor; just waking up to the sun rising over the ocean was amazing. I love the intimacy of the beach and pool it was never over crowed and on the beach food and drink service was ideal. We did a couple’s message and facials at the spa a little pricy but worth it, never felt more relax and alive in a long while. I loved my time in Miami but my stay at this hotel made it even better. From now on anytime I am visiting south beach I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the ocean view room, so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alma C, Manager at The Palms Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Natasha W,
Thank you for not only choosing to stay at The Palms Hotel & Spa but also for taking the time to review our hotel and share with us your Palms experience. I am elated to hear that you found our hotel to be amazing and our rooms beautiful. We appreciate your lovely comments regarding our polite and helpful staff and certainly look forward to welcoming you back next time your travels bring you to Miami Beach.
Warm regards,
Alma Cue
The Palms Hotel & Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#35 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,864 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#23 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#39 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,374 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#64 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,396 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel & Spa

Property: The Palms Hotel & Spa
Address: 3025 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-4106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palms Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oceanfront sanctuary in the heart of Miami Beach, just minutes from the South Beach entertainment district, The Palms Hotel & Spa combines refined service, laid-back sophistication and beachside serenity into a destination where wellness and environmental awareness are at the center of each guest experience. Enjoy freshly renovated lobby areas with an elegant colonial flair, a lush tropical garden oasis with secluded relaxation areas, a large swimming pool and comfortable lounges, cabanas and umbrellas at the pool and beach. Rooms offer either views of the ocean, tropical gardens or the cityscape, and feature flat-screen TVs, AVEDA toiletries, coffee makers, iPod docks and luxurious bedding. The hotel’s signature restaurant, ESSENSIA, offers local farm-to-table cuisine with unique Miami flavors on breezy covered terraces. The Lounge specializes on craft cocktails while the TIKI BAR offers casual fare and classic pool cocktails. The Palms AVEDA Spa offers a full-service salon, retail area and holistic spa treatments, delivering a highly personalized experience with rituals to awaken the senses. Inspired by the pristine environment surrounding the resort, tropical nature inspires all facets of the hotel, from the decor, to the products & services offered and its commitment to green practices. It is an independently owned and operated AAA 4-diamond rated hotel, a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts Lifestyle Collection and Florida Green Lodging certified. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Palms Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel And Spa
The Palms Hotel Miami Beach
Palms Hotel Miami Beach
Palms South Beach
The Palms South Beach
Miami The Palms
Palms Miami
The Palms Hotel & Spa Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing