We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite an Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal South Beach Hotel
Ranked #152 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quite an Experience”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Stayed one night, July 10th. Paid $80. via Groupon for the room. First, the location is excellent, just three blocks from Ocean Avenue and the Beach district. The staff behind the desk is very friendly and try very hard to make your stay pleasant. The room. Gray marble tile, very austere. Small bathroom with tiny sink area. (soaps, etc. are fine.) We stayed on the second floor and could hear every noise on the adjacent street. As mentioned in other reviews, they hand out earplugs upon check-in and it is no joke-you need them. I slept okay, my wife got 60 minutes of sleep all night. The rooms are condo-owned by individual owners. The hotel was closed for 10 +years and reopened (not sure when.) Opinion: great for young people who want to spend most of your time at the restaurants and clubs on the beach as the price and location are great. If you are looking for a first class hotel with amenities, this isn't going to be it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    97
    80
    30
    47
See reviews for
19
146
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We really enjoyed staying here, the room we had was quite cool and modern, with a basic kitchen and bathroom. Everything was clean and tidy, bed was comfortable, the air con kept us cool and it's very close to everything. Tried to stay an additional night but they were full!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeeCee09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I Traveled to South Beach for the weekend between May 10th to May 14th, and I spent about three weeks searching for accommodations for this trip. And I have to say that after all my research I couldn't find a better deal than the Royal Hotel in South beach! NOT for the type of hotel or the service nor anything special about it because the hotel has NOTHING special! as a matter fact it's a kind of old building and rooms are small but the location is just PERFECT!!!! I have stayed in nicer hotels in other places elsewhere but unfortunately if you are staying in SoBe, Everything is very expensive! and I bid other hotels might be a lot more expensive and not much better than this one, but it is amazing how well located this hotel is! it's just a block away from the beach, and right in the heart of the Art Deco District!

Royal Hotel is located in a very quite neighborhood and parking is on the street but is often easy to find a spot. I decided to park the rental car in a huge garage just across the street on 7th street, and it's very cheap!!! just $2.00 dollars per hour.
There is an excellent cafe in the corner of the building where we have very healthy breakfasts!
When I talk about PERFECT LOCATION is because it's hard to find a spot in the street to park so I decided to leave the car in the garage and walk to either Washington Ave, Collins Ave or Ocean Dr. I was amazed how close we were to the action! the best night clubs and restaurants are all within walking distance!

Stay at this hotel if you are not picky about the old carpet on the hallways, the slow elevator, or the average and small room size! but you want convenience and be able to walk to your hotel after a late diner or party or going to the beach.

RESERVE ON www.easyclicktravel.com it usually has the unbeatable prices!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on 3rd floor to avoid noice from downstairs' bar and facing Pennsylvania Ave, which is vee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank anthonyairbrush-com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

this hotel has a very nice position in the center of south beach near to the beach and all the clubs and venues. rooms are clean and well kept with new furniture.
the room has all you need,fridge, oven, iron, tv, phone and for new guests they give you two cans of coke and nuts.
we paid $130 for one night without breakfast..
it also has a jacuzzi that you can use at any hour on the 3 floor over washignton avenue

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salvo_KANGOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013 via mobile

We booked a room here through VRBO. The room and the hotel was clean and had everything we needed. All the rooms in the hotel are privately owned.

There is no parking on site but they do offer valet parking through a company for $27 dollars a day. It is open air, unsecure but our truck was fine for 3 nights. There is also the option for street parking or a parking garage a block away 6'8" height restriction.

Our room had a bit of street noise and some bass at night from the pub/club below but it didn't bother us. That's just miami beach. Probably louder on Ocean drive!

The hotel is in a great location. Easy couple of blocks to the beach, restaurants on ocean drive, shopping on Collins, clubs on Washington. Easy walk to Lincoln and Espanola way.

There is also a bus stop at the end of the block for buses to baseball stadium, bayside marina, little Havana and the airport!

The hotel is also great value compared to prices of other hotels in the area.

They also offer a continental breakfast for $5 but we ate in our room. Lots of cheap eats around too!

Safe and secure hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AN4RCHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culebra, Puerto Rico
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We booked our room through Easy Click Travel and got a good nightly rate (I was apprehensive at first because sometimes, cheap prices might get you some bad rooms).

You can clearly see that new ownership/management is getting this hotel a revamp with great light fixtures, new furniture, carpets, paint, linens, towels, etc. We were greeted very nicely by the night staff and the gentleman gave us the key to our room (331). The room has a queen size bed and a single/twin bed. Both mattresses are VERY comfortable and the duvet and pillows on the queen bed was deliciously comfortable. This room is maybe 650 sf and comes with a nice size closet, a beautifully renovated bathroom, a large microwave, a sink and counter top, cabinets, coffee maker, desk, a breakfast table with two chairs, a larger than normal mini refrigerator, drawers and a nice flat screen TV.

The air conditioner unit was excellent and very quiet. Our room faced Pennsylvania Ave, which was very quiet. We stayed here on a Monday and Tuesday and understand that there's a hip hop club facing Washington Ave, but overall, I was VERY satisfied with the hotel and the improvements.

Room Tip: If you can request rooms facing Pennsylvania Ave and try out room 331
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcos F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

The Royal gets a huge "A" for effort. The owners have turned a dump into a very nice hostel-like property. What you get is a private room and bathroom that is clean and comfortable. The rooms are small so I would not consider cramming four adults into one during spring break. The noisy a/c unit helped drown out the noise from Washington Avenue during the night and I slept great. The unit also kept the room cool despite the noise. The bed was comfortable.

If you want to come to South Beach but do not have unlimited funds, the Royal is your spot especially if you're only using the room to sleep, shower and change. In my case, this was a one-night business trip and I found the accommodation a pleasant surprise.

One little tip - the photos posted by the hotel clearly portray this property in its most favorable light.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces Pennsylvania Ave if you want quiet. Washington Ave is noisy all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mntravelers55129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Fashion Boutique Hotel
#164 of 208 in Miami Beach
238 reviews
Hotel Chelsea
#78 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,187 reviews
Waterside Hotel South Beach
#96 of 208 in Miami Beach
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lorraine Hotel
#163 of 208 in Miami Beach
128 reviews
Hotel Shelley
#85 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,530 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal South Beach Hotel

Property: Royal South Beach Hotel
Address: 763 Pennsylvania Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#103 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal South Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An newly restored ultra hip historic hotel in the heart of the Art Deco District. Rooms feature unique, futuristic furnishings. Hotel is featured in "Best Designed Hotels in North & South America." Italian marble floors, tile bathrooms, high quality down bedding, refrigerators, CD players, flat screen TV w/cable, etc. We now have kitchenettes and high speed Internet access in our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal South Beach Condo
Royal South Beach Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing